Ratings based on 2,303 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 日本

立地条件抜群!

Posted Jun 4, 2015
この価格でこの設備なら充分です。とにかく 立地が良くて便利! ヨセミテ1泊旅行を間に挟んだので 一度チェクアウトして 再びインするスケジュールにしましたが、荷物を預かってくれました。
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Decently priced for the area.

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: price
Cons: The simplest fix would be to get some softer pillows.
Location: Lots of fast food and some other restaurants nearby. Lots of homeless around and a lot of security and city police too. I didn't stay out after dark.
The hotel is old and the floors are very creaky. I loved the ceiling fan and the window unit AC. The bed was very uncomfortable and the provided pillows were rocks. The continental breakfast was pretty simple with pastries, oatmeal, juice and if you got there early enough some fruit. Wi-fi wasn't bad. I picked this hotel based on price and free Wi-Fi + continental breakfast. You get what you pay for and this was a decent middle ground hotel that had what I was looking for without expensive glam. If I was bringing my wife I wouldn't have picked this hotel, but I was alone on a business trip and I'm a pretty functional person so it was fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Olga from Vladivostok

Last minute choice in SF

Posted Jun 1, 2015 on Hotels
It was a last minute choice, but we are glad we have made the right one. Great location and quite pleasant neighborhood for SF downtown
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Badsha

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 31, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well priced in a good area

Posted May 31, 2015
Pros: Staff, cleanliness
Cons: Breakfast area too small
Location: Excellent location to visit the city
Good value in a desirable section of city. Priced fairly for its facility's condition.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

did not get the room I paid for

Posted May 30, 2015 on Hotels
Reserved a king-sized room and ended up with two doubles in a very narrow room. They are in the middle of renovations and only have 8 king rooms total. Watch out!
2 out of 5
by alina m.

One night stay

Posted May 28, 2015 on HotelClub
The room was clean and tight but extremely small! It felt a bit claustrophobic. We couldn't open the window to get fresh air during our sleep. The bathroom was good and equipped with everything we needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Randy B.

Great value for San Fran

Posted May 27, 2015 on Orbitz
Overall the hotel is really nice for the price. The room was a bit small but clean. The bathroom was updated and clean. The view was OK. Morning breakfast was pretty typical for this type hotel - pastries, bagels, coffee, juice, fruit, etc. The location was probably the best thing - very close to Powell St cable car, Union Square BART, Market St. MUNI. The staff were great - always nice and courteous. We easily walked to China Town, Yerba Buena, Moscone, Nob Hill, and much more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ralph from Manhattan Beach

Good Value & Location But Mixed Review

Posted May 26, 2015 on Hotels
This is a budget hotel in a great location. I would not stay here for business travel, but for personal travel, to save money, it was OK. There were some rough spots. The front desk staff was incredibly good when there were two of them working. They were friendly, efficient, and had really good suggestions. When I checked out however I was in a rush and there was only one person working the front desk, with guests ahead of me in line, which left me with a bad impression. Valet parking was tricky. They only have one parking spot in front of the hotel, so that makes it hard to check in, unload, and load. They warned us that it takes 30 minutes to get your car back from the lot, which forces you to get everyone ready and to plan in advance, but then half the time my car showed up in 10 minutes and I had to get my family to hurry up and come down before they were ready. The bathrooms are tight and the shower is very tight. There also is no full length mirror in the room which drove my wife nuts. The carpets are a little worn. For breakfast juice, bread, bagels, and instant hot cereal are provided. The computers in the business center did not work, but the hotel staff printed out our flight boarding passes on their computer. The location is very good, a short walk to the BART, Union Square, and Chinatown. There were a lot of good restaurants and shopping in the immediate area. The hotel was popular with young foreign tourists.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Deceptive Pictures

Posted May 26, 2015 on Hotels
Though the staff was attentive and friendly, I'm leaving a negative review due to the deceptive marketing this hotel uses. Many if not most of the pictures used by Hotels.com for this booking are artist rendering pictures for a planned upcoming remodel of the hotel at some point in the future. Other pictures are highly photoshopped. Either way, they do not reflect the current state of the hotel. They're simply trying to trick people into thinking the hotel is luxurious and modern when it is really neither of those things. This is a solid and well-run 2 star hotel, and there's nothing wrong with that, but it certainly is not a 3 star, and certainly should not be masquerading as such nor charging the price of a 3 star hotel. I'll be submitting a complaint to Hotels.com customer service as well so that other people are not deceived by this location.