Ratings based on 1,076 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great staff and fabulous location!

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: Everything! Location, staff!
Cons: Nothing!
Location: It's perfect to see downtown SF and do all the typical touristy stuff (pier 39, fisherman's wharf, castro)
The room was very clean, well kept. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. This is my new go to hotel in SF!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Great hotel with friendly and accommodating staff

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: The staff.
Location: The location is great given that it's a block away from Union Square. Restaurants, shops, and points of interests are within walking distance.
The hotel decor was modern yet rustic and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Being placed on a lower floor on a Saturday night, we found the street down below to be quite loud during the wee morning hours (cars honking, people yelling, people playing drums). The following day, we have requested to be moved up to a higher floor and the staff was kind enough to accommodate our request, with no hassle at all. As we have booked to return to the hotel the following weekend, our room was also upgraded. This extra mile taken by the front desk staff sold me and I would definitely recommend the hotel to those coming into town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2017
Nice bed, very comfy. Big clean bathroom, huge TV and good views from the top floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In the middle of everything

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Fast housekeeping
Cons: beds were very hard, ice only on the first floor was kind of a bummer.
Location: If you are a shopper, you're right in the higher end shopping area. If not a shopper, it was super easy to get everywhere else.
This hotel was located in the middle of everything we wanted to see on our honeymoon. Just a block away we were able to catch a bus or a trolley to take us where we wanted. Housekeeping was fast and efficient, we got new towels every day, we appreciated that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2017
Great place to stay of you're not looking for a big chain hotel. Very friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from NYC

Close to Moscone Convention Center

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: Boutique nature
Cons: Beds
Location: Convention Center
Boutique hotel a half-mile from the convention center. Lots of restaurants for every wallet nearby. The room was small (but then, I was by myself), but very nicely restored, with quirky touches. The bed was not very comfortable. Early morning street noises could be a problem for the light sleeper. Nice bathroom, for sure. Very functional exercise room. Had a slight issue with check-in, as the "expedia reservation was not pushed to the hotel registration system", but the front desk guy fixed it in no time. Would stay here again. May not be a great option for families, as the rooms are quite small, and there are "lots" of homeless people around the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel G is a good pick in Union Square

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: The staff at Hotel G is very friendly and helpful if you need to change your reservations.
Cons: Hotel G needs to step up its room and premises maintenance. For example, my shower head was detached from the wall. Public areas could use a touchup.
Location: If you are planning to take buses around SF, you must have the exact fare. Neither Hotel G or the restaurant that adjoins it will give you change.
Hotel G is a good pick for those who are seeking access to cable cars, BART, and the Moscone Convention Center. All of which are within walking distance along with upscale shops and eateries.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by SR, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for recognizing the staff! You made their day. We will tend to the shower head!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous!

Posted May 1, 2017
Excellent hotel.. mentioned we were on our honeymoon and was upgraded to a huge king suite. Awesome location. Hotel was so quirky and cool.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by SR, Hotel Management
You're fabulous! Thank you! Hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location, clean/nice rooms, a little noisey.

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Windows and noise levels in the rooms
Location: minutes walk to union square and shopping
Overall for the price when compared to other hotels in the area this was a very good hotel. Rooms are nice and clean, location is a very short walk (under 2 mins) to Union square and all high end shopping (usually a sign of a nice area). Staff is very pleasant and helpful. Although the hotel is an older building they have done a nice job to use the old and make it look new/nice, in a hip sort of way. Only complaint would be the windows. They don't close/seal properly allowing air and lots of noise to flow through. We faced the street and come early morning you could hear every little thing going on out there, so if you like to sleep in this wouldn't be easy. Overall we enjoyed our stay, but if they could fix the windows this would be the best valued hotel in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by SR, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback. Much appreciated. We will work on those windows!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stylish modern rooms

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Friendly staff and good location. Has trendy minimalist vibe, so might not be for everyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by SR, Hotel Management
Thanks for being a fan of the design aesthetic!