Ratings based on 758 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Cute Hotel, but loud

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Was on 7th floor and heard so much street noise. I am used to city noise as well (I live in New York). If you don't mind that, it is a cute and convenient hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Three nights at the end of our holiday around CA

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Amazing! Fab design, great use of space. Good quality furniture. Lovely comfy bed. Nice toiletries! Bathroom let it done only slightly as not so considered in design. Corridors noisy. Staff brilliant Excellant location!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice rooms, friendly staff, lobby needs work

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Nice room and spacious bathroom
Cons: Front desk & lobby could be improved
Had a great experience, clean & big room, nice bathroom. Lobby & front desk area too small and could use some sprucing up. Overall, good hotel and would recommend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Ne vous laissez pas démonter par l'allure du plancher en arrivant,c'est voulu,l'architecte désirait garder le plancher original lors des rénovations,mais tout le reste est réussi,beau et propre
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Authentic Cool

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Cons: The 1 lift for the 12 storey building was slow and broken. But was being fixed. Parking in SF is ££££!!! Advance warning would be appreciated.
Location: Right on the corner of union sq. Was handy for all the neighbourhoods we wanted to check out, by open top bus, tram by foot and cab.
Cool, Spacious, Authentic, Apartment-Style base for exploring the city and relaxing in afterwards. High ceiling rooms with a basic and comfortable vibe. Really loved the retained elements of the period building - it gave our stay good, memorable character. The staff were attentive and friendly and efficient. The bed was comfy, the shower good, the breakfast excellent. Would stay there again and definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Silverdale, WA

Nice mid-range hotel in heart of Union Square

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Great location, 1 block from the trolly line. Decor was cute - nice but not over the top. Friendly staff.
Cons: Nothing, really. Rooms are small, but since it was just my husband and I, it was fine.
Location: Lots of dining and shopping within a couple blocks. Easy access to public transportation.
We were looking for something centrally located in San Francisco, making it easier to see all the sites while having plenty of options for dining and shopping. Hotel G fit the bill perfectly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from McKellar Ontario

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Location: Location was great,close to cable cars, Chinatown ,& plenty of dining facilities
Definitely not your cookie cutter hotel-it is a boutique hotel. Very clean,comfortable,and welcoming. A wonderful job in renovations and keeping some things from a100 years ago. We really enjoyed the 3 night stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth Australia

Funky little hotel in excellent position

Posted Jul 9, 2016
This is a real cool boutique style hotel, old historic building, renovated really tastefully modern and stylish. Rooms are small but perfect for an inner city stay. Easy access to most places. Staff were friendly and helpful too. I fully recommend Hotel G.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Hotel G - 7/1-7/5/16

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: Cozy beds, hotel staff, location, cleanliness, cool hotel decor (boutique/modern/rustic blend)
Location: BART terminal a few blocks away, trendy shopping right outside your door, restaurants all over, Chinatown 5-10 minutes away, Cable Car
Super cool staff. Attentive; they made you feel valued as a guest. Primo location. 1 block away from union square, 3 blocks from the BART station. For a tourist, this is a great central point for such a walkable city as San Fran. You're a few minutes from a lot of cool stuff, or at least access points. Hotel is right in the middle of the shopper's row, 5-10 minute walk from Chinatown; I could go on about the location. Amenities were pretty nice. If you're looking for an uber-spacious place, then move on to the Ritz-Carlton. The rooms are cozy and comfortable. The hallways/elevators had a rustic feel to them, which, in my mind, let me know this building has some history behind it. All-wood floors, so if you don't like creaky floors then be advised. All-in-all, the rooms were clean, cozy, and great for an on-the-go tourist. When you needed to come in from your long day of walking & spending money, your room awaits for some TV watching, and winding down. The only "con" I could bring up about this place is that 1/2 elevators was out of service for the last 2 days of the trip, so taking it to the 7th floor took a bit longer than you'd want to hope; even then, it wasn't a big deal for me...take the stairs and problem solved! Take-aways: Very cool room layouts; workout room small, but effective use of space (chic); clean; comfy beds; in-room fridge; nice sized TV; accessible to everything; super friendly staff
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Work day stay

Posted Jul 5, 2016
I was only at Hotel G for 1night, however I found the Hotel staff to be very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean, cool and quite.