Ratings based on 875 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamburg.

Gutes Hotel um die Stadt zu erkunden

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Lage des Hotels, Betten waren sehr bequem, Zimmer sauber und schön eingerichtet.
Cons: Freundlichkeit des Service und funktionierende Schlüsselkarten.
Location: Union Square, Nähe BART, von da aus ist die gesamte Bay Area schnell zu erkunden, nahe Bus und cable car.
Zimmer sind groß und sauber. Charmante Einrichtung des Zimmers, das Bett war sehr bequem. Das Hotel liegt nahe Union Square (touristische Gegend, sehr viele Obdachlose und Drogenabhängige auf den Straßen, wie in diesem Bereich der Stadt üblich) und daher ist mit Lärm von den Straße zu rechnen, der unabhängig von der Lage der Zimmer zu hören ist. Service der Hotelangestellten eher durchschnittlich und teilweise auch nicht besonders freundlich. Wir mussten jeden Tag die Schlüsselkarte für das Zimmer erneuern. Grund dafür war nicht nachvollziehbar. Die Reinigung des Zimmers war aber sehr gut. Fazit: you get what you pay for. Cooles Design des Hotels, saubere Zimmer mit bequemen Betten. Service mittelmäßig.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, Or

Hotel G is for Gray

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Location was great. An easy walk to Union Square.
The hotel was built in 1908 and must of been beautiful. The "designer" is now into the all things gray trend. (It was gloomy and depressing) The bathroom was nice and the bed was good. The desk and chair looked liked something from goodwill. The staff were great and really helped make up for the depressing decor.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overrated - did not meet expectations

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Bathroom was small, valet takes 40mins (the front desk tells you up front though), hotel looks a bit beat up overall.
Location was great but quality of hotel was disappointing and much better options nearby for money. Would highly recommend looking eslewhere. Bathroom was small, valet incredibly slow, front desk obviously disinterested in anyone checking in.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Friendly staff, comfortable bed

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Location: close to union square, shopping, eateries
It is our first time in San Francisco and we arrived earlier than the check in time (around 12pm) and our room was ready ahead of time so we are allowed to check in early. When we get to the room, it was nice and bright and clean but unfortunately the door was facing the stairwell which was slightly bad fengshui for us, being of Chinese background. The receptionist then promptly gave us another room, but the second room was a lot darker than the first room so we decided to take the first room anyway. Despite us being picky travellers, he is still very friendly and accommodating! Thank you!! Other than that everything was very comfortable and clean. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept on. Obviously it is not a 5 star hotel but for the price it deserves a 5 star rating. Perfect for first time travellers who wants a comfortable and nice hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Great place to stay. Would recommend it for others.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel with Great staff

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Staff, room comfort
Cons: Reduce cost of room for Sept and fall period
Location: Great location, short walk to Cable Cars, Muni and Subway. Great Food all nearby..Perfect Location
Very positive from check-in to check-out with great staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel at the center of the city

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: Could use a little bit more cool air from the A/C and perhaps brighter warm lights from the lamp fixtures.
It was a good experience overall. The room I had was a corner room, which meant more natural light. It was very close to Union Square, which meant it was close to all the shops you would ever need.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from singapore

near union sq

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: The location was ideal being near the shops, restaurants, theatre and Power St station. The beds were extremely comfortable.
we were disappointed to be able to hear our neighbour cough cos the walls were thin and there was an interconnecting door between the rooms. The wooden floors also added to the disturbance from late night guests.The bath fittings could have been of better quality so that the hot water can be adjusted better.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Helsinki


Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: location was ok
Cons: sound isolation, decor
Right next to Union square, so it has a nice location. That comes with the down side of noise from the street which is very audible. Also there is a night club somewhere in the same building with the bass thumping throughout Sat night atleast. Also some rooms have a door to the next room with gap under it, which lets you tune into the conversations next door along with any and all other activities. If you like to sleep your night in peace, this is NOT your hotel. I wasn't a fan of the "derelict" decor either.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

San Francisco nights. And days.

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Excellent location (anyone can find the G-spot after all...), great older-style room (ie high ceilings, windows you can open). Close to everything - well, Union Sq/Powell St/Market St so public transport to get anywhere in SF, and there's a lot to get to. We loved it. Special mention to JR at reception!