Featured Image

Reviews of Hotel G San Francisco

4 out of 5
Hotel G San Francisco
386 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA

COVID-19 alert: Travel requirements are changing rapidly, including need for pre-travel COVID-19 testing and quarantine on arrival.

Overall score and ratings

4.1

Very Good

Rating 5 - Excellent. 404 out of 995 reviews
5 - Excellent 41%
Rating 4 - Good. 401 out of 995 reviews
4 - Good 40%
Rating 3 - Okay. 112 out of 995 reviews
3 - Okay 11%
Rating 2 - Poor. 44 out of 995 reviews
2 - Poor 4%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 34 out of 995 reviews
1 - Terrible 3%

4.4/5

Cleanliness

4.3/5

Staff & service

3.8/5

Amenities

4.0/5

Property conditions & facilities

2/5 Poor

This property currently does not allow any visitors or guests entry after 9pm. Twice, I was not able to have a friend drop by my hotel. This bizarre restriction is in no way advertised or communicated until you arrive and see a hand printed sign on the door. No other hotels in the area seem to have this restriction. I will not stay here again.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021
Response from Hotel G on Aug 1, 2021
Hello Anonymous, We're sorry that you were inconvenience by a policy that we have in place for the safety and security of our guests and staff. All of our guest are appreciative that we only allow registered guests after hours. It makes them feel safe and adds a sense of security. Many other hotels in the area actually do the same. We appreciate your feedback and hope you find a hotel to better suit your needs.

2/5 Poor

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Staff & service, amenities
The hotel was in a the middle of the city which was great. Unfortunately the offsite parking was inconvenient and the room was not in great condition. Also, I am a Gold Member with Expedia and this hotel was marked as a VIP access hotel. I was not given any of the VIP access benefits which was a big reason why I chose this hotel. Very disappointing.
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021
Response from Hotel G on Jul 3, 2021
Hello Traveler, thanks for taking the time to share your comments and feedback. We apologize that we were unable to upgrade your room. The upgrades given are based upon availability. We do hope you were able to enjoy the bottle of wine you received, as an Expedia Elite VIP, at check out. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel G in the future!

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021
Response from Hotel G on Jun 29, 2021
Hello Traveler, thanks for the awesome review!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Great hotel in a fantastic location! We were upgraded when we were arrived and staff were lovely and friendly! Highly recommend
Stayed 4 nights in Mar 2020
Response from sfo on Mar 29, 2020
Hello Traveler, thanks so much to taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to welcoming you again on a future visit to Union Square!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Repeat Stay
This was the second time that we have stayed at the Hotel G. We frequently visit San Francisco and have found that the Hotel G is a great location for most of that things that we want to do. The hotel is a little funky but in a good way. The room is spacious and has one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in for a hotel. I made this statement at my last review and stand by this.Good shower pressure, which says a lot. Staff is friendly but not invasive. There is no restaurant on site but lots of good restaurants within walking distance. Great overall location. Short walk to Union Square and the Curran Theater.
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2020
Response from sfo on Mar 29, 2020
Hi Jenn, thanks so much to taking a moment to share the details of your stay! We appreciate the feedback and comments. Please join us again on a future visit to Union Square!

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Comfy charming cool
This is a no frills hotel for sure. But the room was nice, bed was comfy and did I mention ROBES?? Would stay here again for sure.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Would stay again
Great hotel close to everything.
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Awesome!!!
This was our second time staying at Hotel G. The staff is awesome and the rooms are great. We found ourselves so impressed with the fixtures in the bathroom we discussed how we can do the same thing in our home.😊. A big thank you for making this second stay even better than the first.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020
Response from sfo on Mar 29, 2020
Hello Morgan, thanks so much for taking a moment to share the details of your stay. We appreciate the comments and look forward to seeing you on your 3rd visit to Hotel G!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Good location, clean, fun and good amenities. Highly recommend.
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2020

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2020

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, room comfort
Clean affordable boutique!
Good location and value. Creeky wood floors and dated decor left this way on purpose for character. Creaky floors, yet fresh smell. Linnens were clean, valet was fair. Clean bathrooms with good toiletries but hot water tookacouple of minutes to engage at rush hour in the eve. Boxed water. Earplugs provided if the street noise bothers you. Cute robes. That said its comfy, bed is warm, centrally located, and easily half the cost of next door. Would stay here again if i desired something in this price range. One block off union square. Good location.. low 4☆ out of 5☆
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020

1/5 Terrible

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Disliked: Staff & service
The customer service by Maria is very bad! Insist on charging me when I request to change for 2 bedder (Downgrade of room). Very rude to guest as a front desk agent! GM/HM might wanna look into that... Customer service is always the priority for tourism industry.
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2020
Response from sfo on Mar 29, 2020
Hi Jacky, your feedback and comments will be taken into consideration for future training. As a reminder, our room rates can change according to the number of guests in each room. The square footage of a room with 2 beds is smaller than some of our rooms with 1 king bed. That was the original design of our 120 year old building. We're glad that we could change your reservation to the 2 bedded room upon arrival. Please join us again on your next visit to San Francisco!

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Not good.
We did not stay. Hotel rundown, musty and very seedy looking inside. We checked out 15 minutes after we arrived. I requested.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 5 nights in Feb 2020

3/5 Okay

Liked: Staff & service
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2020

4/5 Good

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Disliked: Amenities
Like the design elements. All the furnishings and soap, etc. are very nice. The walls could be better sound-proofed between rooms...
Stayed 4 nights in Feb 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Noisy yet hip
While I loved the decor consisting of many vintage mid century furniture, huge mirror and polished concrete floor, the hotel rooms lack noise insulation, which made my stay super noisy and hard to fall asleep. The staff was very nice and it is centrally located.
Stayed 5 nights in Nov 2019

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Rustic boutique charm. Close to everything downtown. Rooms were clean but a little stark for me although by design I feel this was purposely done. Rooms were very quiet. I couldn't here any niegahbours or outside noises.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
We liked the clean, simple design. Everything we needed was provided. Loved that the room had a bathtub!
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020

3/5 Okay

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, room comfort
Clean and comfortable
Hotel was clean and comfortable. Front desk staff were OK, not super attentive or friendly. It’s an older hotel with character.
Stayed 4 nights in Feb 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Hotel Stay
Hotel overall was great.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
.................................................................................
Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2020

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
Fair. Not so great value for money. Rooms are ok comfortable, quite small, cheaply decorated. It doesn’t deliver on the ‘design hotel’ hype it promises on socials and webzines. Staff was kind and helpful fixing my reservation mistake. Location is good.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 5 nights in Jan 2020

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, room comfort
Feel it was pretty average given the cost. Room was creaky and felt dark, there weren’t many lights in the room. They could have done with a few extra nice touches. It was pricey for what it was and I think your money would be better spent elsewhere.
Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2020

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2020

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2020

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Wonderful front desk staff, Gabe, who offered me an upgrade on a nice high, quiet floor. Love Hotel G
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2020

1/5 Terrible

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities, room comfort
I didn't sleep the whole night because of the toilet kept alone for any reason we don't wanna call the front desk in the middle of the night to fix or transfer us to other room since we're just staying for a night, pillows are terrible we ended up having a neck pain the next day. Elevator is small and old. It is a good location, convenient to any place you want to go in city center, clean and remodel room, front desk staff are nice and friendly.
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2020

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Wonderful, attentive staff. Beautiful room with a cozy bed!
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2020

4/5 Good

Liked: Staff & service
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2020

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Disappointing
Unfortunately we were quite disappointed with our stay at this hotel as we had high hopes for it. The bed was really uncomfortable, so much so we asked to change room, to a room which was only marginally better. The restaurant and cafe that were advertised when we booked had closed so there was nowhere to have breakfast. The lobby was very tired and could do with some updating and the parking is expensive. All in all not a terrible experience but very disappointing.
Stayed 4 nights in Dec 2019

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Loud construction noises and shouting in the middle of the night, as well as a bathroom with a broken light. They refused to refund my second night when I asked to cancel my reservation after an unpleasant first night.
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2020
Response from sfo on Jan 13, 2020
Hello Traveler, thanks for taking the time to share your comments and feedback. Again, we apologize for any disturbances from a neighboring business, which were out of our control. However, our records indicate that for your second night we upgraded your room to a larger bed type as well as two room categories for the inconvenience. We hope to see you again on a future visit to San Francisco.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2019

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, room comfort
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
One Serious Problem
The room was small but fine, the bed comfortable, the temperature in the room was perfect, location was great, but… We had no hot water! And because we didn’t book directly through the hotel we aren’t sure if we will get any discount. How is the hotel let off the hook for something this inconvenient simply because they choose to book their gigs through a third-party?
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2020

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
The Expedia photographs of this property were exaggerated. The rooms looked larger and furniture newer. The lobby was shabby. Staff was very nice.
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2020

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I was unable to check in I got denied entrance at the lobby duty been in the a.m. I am asking for a refund with claims
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2020
Response from sfo on Jan 4, 2020
Hello Traveler, we'd like to assist you further but are unable to help with incomplete details. Please contact us at: info@hotelgsf.com and provide your Reservation information (including guest name) and the Date of Arrival. Best Regards, Hotel G

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Damn great time!
Beautiful suite! Amazing decor and ambience and excellent amenities and shower! Loved it and can’t wait to return👍👍
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2019

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Wonderful stay!!! Staff friendly and helpful...great vibes. The view was fantastic. Valet parking is so worth it to have a stress free vacation.
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2019

3/5 Okay

Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
Under renovation not prewired. Dining room closed. Lights went on and off all night long the first night and the TV didn't work.
Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2019

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Convenient location to access anywhere of San Francisco!
Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2019

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Outstanding
Very comfortable setup. Customer service was efficient and prompt. The location is perfect. Great experience
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2019

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
It was good for a one night stay.
Stayed 1 night in Dec 2019

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
Its location, a block from Union Square, is ideal. Its rooms have been nicely renovated, but it’s floors are a bit creaky. I would have give it a 5 except there were no free outlets, so I had to unplug a light and radio in order to plug in chargers.
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2019

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Nice boutique hotel in heart of town
The location was very convenient. The studio room was very spacious and mattress was very good with correct firmness. Only complaint is the very tiny bathroom that was not in proportion to room size.
Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2019