Ratings based on 1,210 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Beautiful boutique hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Hotel G is a great boutique hotel. Hotel and rooms are all renovated but maintaining the character of the building. Location is perfect, close to restaurants, bars and shopping. Staff was friendly and accommodating. King size bed was so comfortable, slept like a baby. Would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from windsor ontario canada

Comfortable close to everything safe

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Minutes away from fine food tours shopping..loved the staff rooms bed comfortable..great experience..would definitely come again..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice hotel. Central location

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Staff was friendly and helpful. Beds were very comfortable and the room were quiet
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Great hotel in a great location. Well designed rooms and good service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel but my only concern

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: bed sheets, cleanliness and location.
Cons: more drawer space
Location: central location, easy to uber to other areas such as Mission & Castro
was the noise, I,e, echoing from the hallway & loud air conditioner.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location, location, location

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Needs to get rid of the wooden floor.
Perfect location, 30 seconds walking from Union Square. Unfortunately we were given a room on the third floor with wooded floor. Very noisy, the floor was creaking like crazy making lots of noise and we could hear people next door all night long. We were told that the other 9 floors above us don't have a wooden floor...lucky us I suppose! Also the hotel is next door to a blues club and various diners open all night and does not have double glazed windows so expect lots of noise from the street all night long...that explains why you find a ear plugs next to your bed! Cleaners forgot the replace the toilet soap 3 days in a raw and we had to beg for some from the reception.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: The hotel was quaint. Bed was incredibly comfortable and everything was very clean. I had a specific request that was accommodate within minutes.
Cons: Could use a bigger area for stuff in the bathroom and another little shelf in the shower area.
Location: Within walking distance to cable car, Pier 1, Nob Hill, lots of shopping and eating.
We enjoyed our stay. All of the hotel employees were kind, thoughtful and extremely helpful. They had all of the answers to our questions and never seemed annoyed at the # of questions or the potentially repetitive or obvious nature of them. As novices to the hotel and the city their knowledge and desire to share made our experience that much more enjoyable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Great location close to all of in San Francisco

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Comfortable rooms and being right in the heart of S.F.
Cons: Refinishing the floors in hallways and lobby.
Location: A block from Union Square and the Powell Street cable car, you can easily get anywhere in S.F from here.
Hotel G is recently renovated and a nice blend of old and new that is a hallmark of San Francisco to me. Close to great food, shopping and the Powell Street cable car. I have already booked to stay there again in November.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Character gem at Union Square

Posted Sep 20, 2017
We absolutely loved Hotel G. It has been totally restored and every effort has been made to keep that vintage feel intact. You walk out the front door and Union Square is there. All the eateries and sights await. We would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Posted Sep 12, 2017
A nice, inexpensive hotel (for the area) with nice character and features.