Ratings based on 342 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lviv, Ukraine

Nice hotel with beautiful view to Bay bridge

Posted Apr 1, 2017
The hotel rooms are a bit smaller then expected but all the rest is perfect - the view to the bridge from the restaurant, the restaurant itself and overall service. Location is great, close the trams and piers.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rooms with no natural light

Posted Mar 17, 2017
My room had only a tiny window looking out on an airshaft, so had essentially no natural light. The shaft is brightly lit at night, which is strange. Besides this, everything was great, but I wouldn't stay here again because of the cave-like room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ACNJ

Solid location

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Great location in financial district, small room. Room was hot and cold, TV mounted to high. Bed comfortable, room spotless
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by Ramon Serrano, Hotel Management
Dear LJDS, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about our hotel. I am delighted to know that you thought so highly of our location and that you felt that housekeeping had looked after you room well; we take great pride in our team and they in their work. I am sorry to know, though, that you felt that the TV was mounted too high; given the confines of an older building, we did have to get creative to be able to provide all of the amenities that you would expect in a modern hotel, but we felt mounting them high would give a great viewing angle from bed, so we hope that you enjoyed that aspect of it. Thank you again and we hope to have you back with us soon. Best regards, Ramon Serrano General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Right by the water. Had a small view of bridge and Bay. Very Romantic and cozy. Staff was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by Ramon Serrano, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay. I am glad that you enjoyed the accommodation and the views; we are very fortunate to be in this location! I am delighted to know that you felt looked-after by our team, as they take great pride in being able to offer exceptional service. Thank you again and we very much look forward to your return visit. Best regards, Ramon Serrano General Manager
5 out of 5
by Eric

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cute and cozy hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
Awesome hotel with friendly staff
4 out of 5
by Jerry

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Embarcadero location

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: location
Location: Our focus was Boulevard Restaurant, one of our favorites. The Ferry Building and Famer's Market are a short walk.
Griffon has the feel of a classic European hotel. While size is not emphasized, quality is. The hotel is beautifully appointed, the staff is friendly and efficient, and the location is ideal if you plan to spend time near the Embarcadero in San Francisco.
5 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too expensive

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Nice hotel, in a good location for running along the waterfront and for getting to the Moscone Centre.
Cons: The Hotel rooms a looking a bit tired and in need of some updating. For the price, I felt that this was exceptionally poor value for money.
Location: Good running.
Given the price, I was very disappointed. The hotel is looking a bit tired and out of date - especially the rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2016 by Ramon Serrano, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your thoughts. I am glad that you found our location convenient and our surroundings enjoyable. It sounds, though, like you may have come during a high demand time, although you would have found that our rates were still competitive given the activities in the city. I would be happy to look into any specific issues that you may have encountered with the accommodation itself; please feel free to contact me at the hotel at your convenience. Thank you and I look forward to speaking with you soon and hopefully welcoming you back in the future. Best regards, Ramon Serrano General Manager