Ratings based on 3,768 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Japantown

Posted Sep 19, 2017
First thing I noticed when we arrived at our room was a KCup machine. The problem with the KCup machine was there's no place to plug it in. I guess I could have carried the K cup machine from the counter and then set it on the floor and used it there. But that seemed a bit awkward! Of course you're thinking to yourself: "Why not just set it on the nightstand?" To that I will say: Please give me a little credit, all options were considered. At this point, it should be needless to say, the K cup machine was useless though the thought was generous. When we arrived and were initially checking-in Hotel management did provide a complimentary bottle of wine in-which I gladly accepted but still that doesn't make-up for teasing me with coffee and tea. In retrospect; the complimentary wine seems more like a buffer for future issues to be encountered. Nonetheless I would like to mention: Hotel management should consider; instead of cramming a Television, on a desk, where it doesn't belong: either loss the TV completely or find a better spot to stick-it. Better yet: try remodeling the whole room. The up side was the shower/tub/towels/bath robe was nice, though all things considered I still would rate Hotel Kabuki no better than a decent Motel 6.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Humboldt

Fun Hotel, complimentary wine!

Posted Sep 18, 2017
We've enjoyed this hotel before and had a great time again. Staff super friendly and accommodating. Still in the renovation stages so there is construction going on. Room was very clean and comfortable. Happy hour with complementary cocktails and a free bottle of wine for the room was a pleasant surprise. Will definitely stay again after the renovations are complete to check out the new Kabuki!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Very simple but very neat. Staff are nice.

Posted Sep 15, 2017
We stayed in this hotel for one night. The room is clean and very neat. And very quite. It reflects the tradition and culture of Japanese. Our only disappointment was breakfast. We were expecting a Japanese breakfast not continental breakfast. Breakfast is so expensive. My overall assessment of the hotel was wonderful. The staff were friendly and courteous. I highly recommend this hotel for vacationeers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very fast service

Posted Sep 13, 2017
this was a great experience i usually do a late check in and hotels take a while to help me, not here they were very fast and helpful. and after my long flight i was greeted with a red wine bottle how great is that
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Very comfortable centrally located Hotel in Japantown. I enjoyed it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, Arizona

Posted Sep 6, 2017
The room I stay is big, Japan style. The bath tub is big and has water stir machine. Hotel Kabuki is in Japan-town. The hotel is in remodeling stage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good hotel in Japantown

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Clean, friendly, central location in the city, next to shopping center, near breakfast restaurants, water and coffee in lobby, nice shower, good bed.
Cons: Would have liked comp room slippers and bottled water. Bathroom layout strange, but not a problem.
Location: Good central location next to Japantown shopping complex. Walking distance from two top rated breakfast restaurants -- Brenda's Soul Food and Sweet Ma
Clean with basic three star amenities. Just a minor issue with a plug losing power. I just switched to the other plug on the outlet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Very Nice Hotel in Japantown

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Walking distance to plenty of restaurants. Beautiful room, comfortable bed. Front desk very accommodating. Only complaint, room thermostat not working properly. Maintenance came right away but temperature never cooled to 60 degrees when programmed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Pleasant Hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Convenient to where I needed to be.
Cons: Get a working business center.
For the time I spent at the hotel the stay was comfortable. I was touring the city most of the time there. I was disappointed that there was not a business center available. I had to use the staff computer at the check-in desk to find what I needed on the website.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san Francisco

Posted Sep 4, 2017
It was so cozy and peaceful the area is nice great location not such a busy street which I liked very much.i was looking at other hotels and there was many homeless people out side but not in this one.the only down side was that the garden was closed due to construction I really wanted to see it.