Ratings based on 3,697 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First time in Japantown

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: The friendly staff and the free drinks/coffee at the lobby.
Cons: The only downside I had was noisy neighbors. Its not really the staff/hotel's fault, but it was very frightening and confusing for my friend and I.
Location: It was very convenient being located next to the Japantown mall because we could eat and head back to our hotel to drop off things we bought.
The place was very clean and the staff was very friendly. The rooms were nice and the bathroom was very beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Location in Japan Town!

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: The front desk person was not that nice and I don't know because I reserve the room through the Expedia... Worst view and dirty housekeeping
Location: It's perfect location in Japan town and everything is within walking distance, nice restaurant and shopping mall..
It was perfect location in Japan town and the hotel was very nice. The valet parking staff was very nice and friendly. I only have a problem on the Room Cleanliness. I booked this hotel through the Expedia and checked in. Everything was perfect, but it was handicapped unit and the smell of bed sheet and pillow were bad bad and really bothered me while I was sleeping and there was a balcony, but you cannot see anything but the top of roof :( Otherwise, I will stay here again on my next visit, but I will ask them for better view and clean room next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay in Japantown

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Cons: Confusing room numbering and elevator signs in the 2 buildings.
Affordable hotel with a Japanese ambiance within a few minutes ride from Downtown SF. They have an awesome gym. Room was comfortable and clean as well.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ny

Would NOT recommend

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Room dated, tiny, stained carpets. Not worth the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Japantown Gem

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Even with the recent renovations, I highly recommend this hotel. From our arrival, the hotel staff was very accommodating and welcoming. Our rooms very chic and the house keeping staff kept the rooms very clean. Another plus was the newly renovated gym with higher end equipment. The hotel is centrally located within SF and a 10min Uber ride to Union Square or the Marina. For all you foodie lovers, you're surrounded by some many great restaurants especially for you ramen heads. Two thumbs up!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Great room in a convenient location

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: renovated room
Cons: bar lounge, hallways that are not renovated
I stayed with for two nights at the Kabuki. In the past, I had stayed at the hotel, perhaps 4 years ago, and I did not enjoy the hotel, it was a bit old and the rooms were dinghy. However, I was thrilled to find I was lucky to get a renovated room (the hotel is being renovated), and it was perfect. The room was fresh, comfortable, clean and updated. I would definitely stay here again and I can highly recommend the hotel room only if it is an renovated room (the lounge/lobby/conference room area is nothing to boast about, but perhaps they have plans). The location was great for me, in Japantown and a quick walk to the shops and restaurants on Fillmore.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Nice hotel. Clean bedroom and bathroom. It is 10 minutes in car from union square and pier 39
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2017
decent hotel, renovations prevent this from being a great hotel still
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los Angeles

Stay at Kabuli hotel San francisco , Japan town.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Surrounding area
Cons: A lot
The rooms are functional, good for a short visit stay. we asked the front office to change our room as it faced a building wall. After lot of haggling we were able to get a room on 5th floor facing the city street. the room next to us had a party going and the people in the next room had nearly 6-8 people drinking, loud music and generally were very loud. I had to call the front office around 1:00am, then 1:45am and they did not do any thing about it , the party got louder. At 3:00 am I had to threaten the front office that I will call the police if they don't act and stop the noise as my wife and I had to get up early in the morning . Finally security was called to shut down the noise. The hotel management never apologized or mentioned a courtesy sorry for the trouble last night. Hotel staff hospitality I will give 1 star. Rooms cleanliness and amenities : 3 star - bathroom water clogging issue. Over all Quality for price : 3 stars Service : 2 stars
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No air conditioner at night

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Hotel turns off their air conditioner at 6 pm I found out when I called to complain about room ac. Front desk told me they are "eco friendly" and if I my room is too hot I should open the sliding window. Now, remember the hotel is located in a busy main street in San Francisco so when you open the window you also let in all the noise from the outside traffic. I couldnt sleep until around midnight when the noise from outside started to subside. I called maybe around 9 or 10 to ask again if they can turn on the ac because noise outside is too loud and its hard to sleep. I was told that they cant do that and its hotel policy to turn it off at night. I'm not coming back to this hotel ever again.