Ratings based on 3,802 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Inexpensive (comparing to the rest)

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: They added a bottle of wine... but they had no single bottle of water in the room.
Cons: renovate, hire more staff (valet attendant doubles or triples for errand boy to deliver wine
They charged me $0.30 for keeping the plastic key-card as a souvenir!? Common Kabuki!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno, CA

Great location in Japantown

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Renovation to be over, hot water to arrive in the shower a bit sooner.
Location: You are in the heart of Japan town next to a major mall that is Japan themed; scores of Japanese restaurants to choose from
Hotel is currently undergoing extensive renovation and the restaurant was closed. However, just stepping out the door puts you in the middle of easily 30-40 restaurants in a one block radius. There are some minor inconveniences because the access to the parking lot is temporarily closed. Restaurant may be opening soon; was very good in the past
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Good hotel. Nice staff. Cool room. Comfortable, clean and great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Usually a Great Place

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Stayed once before. Disappointed this trip because I had no idea that it was undergoing renovations. There wasn't any info on the Expedia site or the Hotel. The new room we originally booked was much smaller than expected & they had taken the doors off to the bathroom area creating little to no privacy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from carmel valley ca

mostly a good experience

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: location in relationship to our itinerary and the cheap (relatively speaking) parking.
Cons: a mount in the shower for the hand held shower wand so it can be turned on and used as a regular shower head.
Location: japantown itself is worth a few hours to walk about. you can walk or take public transportation to anywhere in the city.
the hotel parking is perfect. you can self park, save a lot of $ and take the elevator from the garage to the hotel. the shower is less than ideal. a huge shower stall but most of the space is wasted. the hand shower wand is only useable when you are holding it. the bracket to hold the wand only works with the water flowing toward the wall. once I turned on the rainfall showerhead I couldn't get the more powerful handheld wand to turn back on. hard to wash out shampoo with the gentle rainfall lastly, I understand the giving a credit card for incidentals but I was actually charged $50, not just a hold. I have never had this happen to me before. waiting for it to be refunded soon .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Interesting hotel in a enjoyable area.

Posted Sep 29, 2017
The stay was great aside from several faulty amenities. The toilet did not flush and had to be adjusted. The shower water temperature was not easily adjustable. For both complaints, a staff member came in to temporarily repair the issue. I understand they are going through renovations, but being put in a pre-renovated room ruined the experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable hotel under renovation

Posted Sep 28, 2017
I stayed here because all the major hotels near Union Sq were exhorbitant for my dates. The hotel is dated, in an odd neighborhood with little to offer. Despite that, the price was right and staff tried to make the best of it. I would stay here again if I had to.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

7am construction noise INSIDE ON A SATURDAY?!?

Posted Sep 24, 2017
7am construction noise INSIDE ON A SATURDAY?!? Who wants to hear hammering at 7am on a Saturday morning when you're staying at a "nice" hotel? I brought it up when I was checking out, they just oh "they're trying to meet a deadline" I just think construction should start maybe at 10am. Everything else was just ok the room was clean. The area is fine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Japantown

Posted Sep 19, 2017
First thing I noticed when we arrived at our room was a KCup machine. The problem with the KCup machine was there's no place to plug it in. I guess I could have carried the K cup machine from the counter and then set it on the floor and used it there. But that seemed a bit awkward! Of course you're thinking to yourself: "Why not just set it on the nightstand?" To that I will say: Please give me a little credit, all options were considered. At this point, it should be needless to say, the K cup machine was useless though the thought was generous. When we arrived and were initially checking-in Hotel management did provide a complimentary bottle of wine in-which I gladly accepted but still that doesn't make-up for teasing me with coffee and tea. In retrospect; the complimentary wine seems more like a buffer for future issues to be encountered. Nonetheless I would like to mention: Hotel management should consider; instead of cramming a Television, on a desk, where it doesn't belong: either loss the TV completely or find a better spot to stick-it. Better yet: try remodeling the whole room. The up side was the shower/tub/towels/bath robe was nice, though all things considered I still would rate Hotel Kabuki no better than a decent Motel 6.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Humboldt

Fun Hotel, complimentary wine!

Posted Sep 18, 2017
We've enjoyed this hotel before and had a great time again. Staff super friendly and accommodating. Still in the renovation stages so there is construction going on. Room was very clean and comfortable. Happy hour with complementary cocktails and a free bottle of wine for the room was a pleasant surprise. Will definitely stay again after the renovations are complete to check out the new Kabuki!