Ratings based on 3,545 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Great hotel, lots of stuff to do nearby

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Pros: Easy parking in Japantown garage, which felt safe and clean, nice rooms and friendly staff.
Cons: The shoji screens to cover the windows are nice and authentic but provide no light control.
Location: Close to Japantown center for shopping & eating, lots of restaurants and bars nearby.
We stayed at the hotel because we were seeing a show at a nearby music venue. Lots of shopping, restaurants and nightlife nearby. Easy to start a walking tour of San Francisco from here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Great place, close to everything!

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Clean, friendly staff, cool decor, good atmosphere, lots of great restaurants close by
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel being renovated;

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: complete the renovation
Location: great restaurant, close to bus lines with ease of travel
Due to renovation, the lobby is gone, the elevators work on and off, the maid service was iffy, the breakfast was very expensive for being held in a conference room as the restaurant is gone. Still everyone was charming and friendly plus always eager to be helpful. I would certainly stay there again, but I would wait until the renovation is completed. The area around the hotel is so desirable with great restaurants and easy transportation that we would enjoy bering there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nothing is good about this hotel.

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Facility and service
Location: By Japantown
The hotel is located at Japan Town. The hotel is currently under renovation because it's outdated. Our room is very small with 2 double beds and very dark. The bathroom sink clogged and night stand lamp does not work but no one came to fix the problems.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Careless management, slovenly maintenance

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Really, nothing at all other than the proximity to several parking garages.
Cons: Management should be far more scrupulous, with, at the least, rooms being inspected prior to a guest's occupancy.
Location: The hotel sits in the center of Japantown, with ethnic shops and restaurants nearby.
This hotel its currently being renovated, but that does not excuse the condition of my room. The television did not function at all. Worse, upon entering the room, I found heaps of hand towels at the foot of the sliding glass door to the balcony. They were drenched, as was the carpet beneath. Yes, it had rained hard the day before, but could not the towels have been removed and the carpet dried?
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing is good about this hotel

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Hotel facilities and service
Location: In the center of Japan Town.
The hotel is located at Japan Town. The hotel is currently under renovation because it's outdated. Our room is very small with 2 double beds and very dark. The bathroom sink clogged and night stand lamp does not work but no one came to fix the problems.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philo, CA

Nice location in outdated facility

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: Location, and staff was nice
Cons: Update room
Room had stains in carpet, shower was hard to use, bed was sinking in center, TV outdated
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Welcoming and Friendly!

Posted Jan 1, 2017
My stay at the Kabuki Hotel was a very pleasant one. The room was very comfortable and clean. The staff were very welcoming and was always willing to answer any questions I had whether through phone calls, texting, or face-to-face. The hotel itself was right next to the japantown malls and a Safeway store which was a big plus for me! I hope to stay again soon and I am super excited to see the new renovations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NorCal

Japantown Hotel

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: The rooms could use a refurb
Location: So many good restaurants, where to start?
Older hotel with large rooms in the center of the Japanese/Korean area. Cheap parking garage next door and dozens of Japanese/Korean restaurants and shops within a block or two. Rooms are larger but older though very clean. Nice exercise facilities. Great staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Japantown

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Easy parking, close to Japantown, nice view from room of City, nice people, great rate, clean room, quiet. Best value for $118 bucks in City.