Ratings based on 1,871 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2017
Overall experience was disappointing. Would not recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, historic hotel in a convenient location

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: The big rooms, comfortable beds, nice lobby, and wonderful historic feel.
We had a wonderful 2 night stay and thoroughly enjoyed the historic feel of the Hotel Majestic. We walked to the Fillmore for a show and that was very easy and convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tyler, Texas

Historic Quaint Hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Awesome boutique hotel. Just a couple of blocks from Japantown, about a mile from The Painted Ladies and close to corner market and restaurants. Our room was very nice and comfortable. A little noisy but they will offer you a quieter room if you choose. Room was a little stuffy so we just opened the windows to bring in that nice California breeze. Overall a good experience and friendly staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic charm

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Uncomfortable bed with stained carpets and lampshades. Decent size room and bathroom, tv in awkward place means it can't be seen clearly from the bed. Not very sound proof. House keeping turning up at 7pm for no reason and also ignoring do not disturb sign.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rosevilke

awesome old style hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2017
beautiful hotel and excellent food Mindy the bartender was awesome
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Raj, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are excited to read your review. Thank you so much for staying with us and writing your real reviews about your stay. We are happy to know that you liked our hotel, its cuisine and our staff as well. Our bartenders have been excited to hear your appreciation. We do hope to welcome you again ! with warm regards, Raj
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient to Japantown

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
No air conditioning and the front desk was unfriendly. Perfect walking distance from Japantown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by A Shiwakoti, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for staying with us and finding your time to write your reviews about your stay. Apologies for your bad experience while dealing with our front desk. We are working hard to make our valued guests' stay memorable. We assure you that you will not experience this type of situation next time. We hope that you would definitely give us another opportunity to serve you again !! with kind regards, Raj
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Great Victorian style hotel, friendly and helpful staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Majestic but not for everyone

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed 2 nights on the 2nd floor. very quite place, the best place around would be Japan Town. Kinda far to union square, no where near the BART station. this hotel is really OLD and like the name suggest, MAJESTIC. If you don mind the HIGH bed and lightly dimmed rooms, then the room would be good for you. Receptionist was friendly and approachable. She also recommended tour packages, and also offered to the booked them for us. However, if you are a light sleeper, then this hotel would not be recommenced. Walls are thin, so you will hear the footsteps, knocking of stuff throughout the sleep.
5 out of 5
by Brian

Spring break

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
Planned a spring break vacation with my family, the Majestic was a great place to stay. Great location
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels