Ratings based on 1,641 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2016
the condition is terrible the hotel is very old the food is delicious
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reno, NV

Beautiful, Historic Hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: The atmosphere, the employees.
Cons: Beds need to be softer.
Location: Japantown, Union Square
What an excellent hotel! When we arrived, the lady at the front desk was very sweet, as well as the valet driver. The hotel was very clean, and has a lot of cool history to it. We ordered room service for breakfast. Again, the staff was very kind. The pancakes came a little burnt, but it still tasted pretty good. Can't wait to stay here again in the future. My only quibble is that the bed was pretty hard.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from salinas ca

very peaceful and comfortable

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: rustic and quaint
Cons: air and heat
Location: good for dinning and getting around downtown
good location for city transit.good location for down town
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Maybe at one time but not anymore

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: Free internet
Cons: Cleanliness, condition of the bathrooms, lock down the room safes, more lighting in rooms
Location: A mile to the east is Union Square and Chinatown.
Seemed a little seedy, not what it looked like in the photos. Bar was OK, neighborhood sort of quiet but out of the way. Dingy rooms. Stoic and unwelcoming staff down to a person. Definitely a budget hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place, wonderful staff

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Loved it! Our first time in San Francisco...we will stay here again. The place is amazing for those who love architecture and history and charm. The Staff was wonderful and kind and answered all of our questions and helped us really see the city.... Thank you!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Historic hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: Appreciated its history, and period style of a bygone age.
Cons: Clothing storage could be greater. Smokers should be discouraged at hotel front steps.
Location: Convenient to public transport, away from the noise of downtown, in a quiet residential area. The restaurants of Japantown conveniently nearby.
Pleasant contrast to modern hotels, full of atmosphere, and a reminder of early San Francisco
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from madrid

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: el sabor a viejo
Cons: poner alzadores en todas las habitaciones para subir a la cama, que está muy alta. quitar la moqueta, huele un poco a rancio
es un hotel que debio ser esplendido en su momento pero que ahora esta viejo...lo que no quita para que fuese agradable .....
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Nice boutique hotel

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Pros: It's location and friendly staff
Cons: Leaking shower head, noisy wardrobe doors
Location: Walking downtown via Sutter street was good, rental car location was a few blocks away
We expect old buildings in San Francisco, and that's what we got however the theme of this hotel lived up to its name. Surprisingly, it's smelled pleasant, clean. The bed was comfortable but wondering if the height can be a safety concern. The wardrobe doors makes a creaky noise which prevented us from using. Love the complimentary toiletries and the staff were friendly and helpful. Our shower head was leaking and hopefully they will fix it soon. The complimentary coffee at the lobby was good, loved it. Overall, we will consider coming back next time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Hotel muy viejo

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Muy viejo, huele horrible, se ve que desde su apertura no le hicieron renovación, la puerta del baño no servía, habitaciones muy pequeñas. Malo
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 11, 2016
This hotel is in a great location. The main issue I had was the lack of cleanliness. Our room actually smelled bad, stains all over the carpet, the bathroom was really gross, stains on the wallpaper and pink mold. The hotel has so much potential being that it was built in the early 1900's and the outside facade is beautiful. The mattress was unusually hard ( extra super firm? ).