Ratings based on 1,466 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b

Super bowl weekend

Posted Feb 10, 2016
This is like staying at your friends grandmas house everything was nice is just old from the claw foot tubs to grandmas bed its A little weird reminds me of something in New York or A little weird reminds me of something in New York Or Amsterdam A throwback would be a nice thing to say but the location is great
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cottage Grove, OR

Quaint, older hotel

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: Really appreciated the architecture and design/construction details. A narrow hallway leads to a window. This hall could be part of the adjacent room
Cons: The bathrooms need to be remodeled to provide more comfort. The headboard needs to fastened to the bed frame or wall.
Location: I stayed only one night and did not do anything within walking distance of the hotel.
This hotel is a somewhat well maintained, older property. When I booked the room I had the impression it would be larger than it turned out to be. The claw foot tub is cute but results in an uncomfortable shower experience (curtain sticks to occupant). There is no air conditioning in the room and perhaps it is not needed in San Francisco. The staff is courteous, professional and accommodating. I had breakfast in the hotel restaurant. It was very good but not excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from louisiana

Nice hotel staff moves slow though

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Great hotel for the price. Vallet parking is 35 a night though. The room was nice but no air conditioner fan only.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2016 by Suraj, Hotel Management
Dear Brian, Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel Majestic. We hope you had a wonderful time staying with us. We apologize for any inconvenience that might have caused to you regarding air conditioner. But yes, fans are provided. We look forward to serving you better again. Regards, Suraj
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Prague, Czech Republic

Really nice, unique hotel

Posted Jan 28, 2016
I had a really nice and comfortable stay at this hotel. I pretty much live my life staying in hotels and this one was definitely one of my favorite ones. I appreciated the uniqueness and the old feel of this place. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room I stayed in was VERY clean, comfortable and well put and kept together. From the very first moment I walked into this beautiful place I felt like I was transported into a different time. I didn't feel like I was just staying in another hotel. This hotel has a personal, unique feel and it has a way of making you feel like you are at home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2016 by Suraj, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, It brings much joy to see the perfect review you have given to us. We feel extremely pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay with us and our hotel's uniqueness was able to smite you. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to San Francisco. Regards, Suraj
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything, central location

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Was what I expected from reading other reviews. Nothing more, nothing less. Clean and friendly
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2016 by Suraj, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, We are really glad to know that our hotel was able to meet up your expectations. Your positive review truly means a lot to us, after all guests' satisfaction is what we strive for. We look forward to welcoming you again in near future. Regards, Suraj
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice historical hotel near downtown

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Very friendly staff and peaceful setting. I'm not sure what I liked more, the decor or the ambiance? But anyways, its not super fancy but it gets the job done for a reasonable price. Also a short walk away from many bars and entertainment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2016 by NS, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the Majestic. We really appreciate the time you have taken to do the reviews and rate us perfectly really means a lot to us. We are indeed, located right in the heart of the city. It has always been our top priorities to make all our guest feel welcomed and comfortable through out the stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.Looking forward to see you again. Thank You NS
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Home away from home

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: The location, the rooms, the bed, the linens, the room ammenities (not very many places still provide shower caps!) Love the free wifi
Cons: The showers are a bit sparse
Location: The Catholic Cathedral (and the 38 Geary bus) are within walking distance. Not much else to do nearby but Hayes Valley is near
The Hotel Majestic is the perfect place for us. The Junior Suites are very comfortable (their single rooms are really only suitable for an overnight) and the restaurant breakfast is reasonable and tasty. Sunday Brunch was also very good. The location is just far enough from the downtown hustle but only a $7.00 or so Uber ride away. Perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2016 by Suraj, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Majestic. We feel pleased to know that you liked almost every aspect of our hotel, from the room to breakfast to our hotel's location. We are sorry if you found the shower a bit sparse. We hope you shall consider us again on your next visit. Best Wishes, Suraj
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Elegant historic hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2016
This hotel survived the 1906 post earthquake firestorm by being on the other side of the dynamited firebreak. Good planning! It maintains its Victorian charm. The rooms are nicely decorated and the public rooms are elegant, in particular, the dining room. Staff was helpful with storing bags after an early arrival. The hotel is on a couple of bus routes so access to downtown is convenient Neighborhood is quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2016 by Suraj, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel Majestic and sharing a review of your stay. We are pleased to know that you found our staffs helpful and the hotel's charm was able to smite you. We hope you had a great time with us. Looking forward to welcome you again in near future. Regards, Suraj
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Our stay here was great. Will stays again next time we're in San Fransisco
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2016 by NS, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the Majestic. We really do appreciate the time you have taken to do the reviews and rate us perfectly. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel. Hoping to see you again in the future. Thank You NS
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very old and needs some updating

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Pros: Staff was great
Cons: Tub/shower was hard to get in and out. Curtain kept blowing in on you!
Location: Right next to tenderloin district. Many homeless in the area dirty area
Shower was terrible. Located right outside a bad area of town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2015 by Suraj, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your valuable comments. Staffs are definitely the best part of our property. Glad you liked their service. Regarding the bathtub, we have basically two kinds; one is claw-foot and the other one is regular tub. I believe your room had a claw-foot tub which is slightly difficult to get in. However, we always offer alternatives if guest reports their problem to the Front Desk. We always intend to make our guest satisfied. We feel sorry to hear about the inconvenience caused to you. And also it seems that you are mistaken about our neighborhood. We are located in Lower pacific heights, not Tenderloin. We hope you shall consider us again on your next visit. Looking forward to welcome you. Regards, Suraj