Ratings based on 1,890 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The hotel is sort of old, has its own character. It was clean and tidy. Just wished it had an air conditioning in every room. It was a bit too hot at night without air conditioning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, UK

Helpful staff but hotel a bit out of the way

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: New carpets and a bit of paint
Location: Little bit out of the way but not a huge problem if you like walking or use your own car/public buses/taxis/Uber.
We found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful . Our Junior Suite was spacious and had a fridge which was very useful. The hotel is a bit dated and could do with a lick of paint but we found it to be comfortable and clean. Our main issue was the fact that we like to walk everywhere when we are on holiday and this hotel is a bit off the beaten track so we were averaging 9 miles of walking every day which was tiring.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San diego

Love the majestic

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The sraff was amazing and the building was beautiful. I will always stay here when I visit San Francisco. Will Recommend to friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old but still "majestic"

Posted Aug 12, 2017
The hotel has done a great job of preserving its history while meeting current expectations for comfort. The four-poster bed--with canopy!--had a comfortable mattress and nice bedding. The bathroom fixtures were all in good order and hot water was plentiful. The wardrobe and dresser had doors and drawers that sometimes stuck, but they did the job. Front-desk staff was accommodating and helpful. I would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2017 by Hotel Majestic, Hotel Management
Hello Guest, Thank You for staying with us. We really appreciate that. Thank You Hotel Majestic
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lancashire

Historical building with character

Posted Aug 11, 2017
The staff were wonderful. We arrived as the restaurant was closing and they encouraged us to place an order then delivered the lovely food to our room. This level of service continued. The hotel is beautiful and Victorian in character but needs a facelift. We were on the top floor and our room was lovely but just too warm. and there was the noise of machinery on the roof. There was a Fan but no A/C. The wifi was intermittent at best. Hotel is in a nice neighbourhood but did involve travel to the tourist spots. 20 min walk to Union Square; 30 plus to Fisherman's Wharfe and San Fran is VERY hilly. Public transport good but as there were 4 of us we used Uber, which is great in San Fran (there are over 8000 Uber drivers) so never waited longer than 5 mins, even for Uber X for our airport transfers. Overall good value in a city where accommodation can be very expensive and some nieghborhoods a bit dodgy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Old elegance in great location

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Pros: Character, charm, location, price
Location: Safe neighborhood, equidistant to all major sites in San Francisco, close to expressway
I found reviews were 50/50 on this hotel so we took a chance. Usually we stay at traditional chain hotels (ex. Ramada, Hilton, Extended Stay, etc.). This is a fun hotel! Yes, as some reviews say, there is a slight smell reminiscent of Grandma's house but it is all part of the experience. You forget the smell once surrounded by the clawfoot tub, canopy bed, 12" baseboard and old, original woodtrim. The staircase that has stairs that slant to the left are part of the charm, as well as the drawings of monkeys in the elevator that could be straight out of an old children's book. We found the room, bedding and bathroom, to be extremely clean. The entryway to the hotel is beautiful, employees are courteous, it never took more than 3 or 4 minutes for the staff to retrieve our vehicle and the location is great. Can't wait to visit again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Welcoming and charming

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Overall my partner and I had a great experience at this hotel. Staff were extremely friendly, the hotel is old style but the good kind of old! The room itself was a bit small, but we managed since it was only for two nights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Great hotel, staff, and location. No central AC or heat but rooms come with fan and heater. Was there in July and did not need either. Great location for public transit (or walking most places - 25 mins to union square) and being outside of union square means that it is quiet. It's in a safe neighbourhood. Perfect for price. Rooms were spacious and came with a mini fridge. Hotel staff was nice, polite, friendly, and helpful. Safeway is a 10 min walk away. Rooms were very nice. Overall great experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2017 by Neelam, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for your wonderful and honest feedback and a five-star rating! We appreciate it very much. Our staff across all departments are very welcoming and highly accommodating to guests' needs. We highly commend our entire staff for making your stay exceptional. You are always welcome! Please book direct and ask for loyalty discount next time, and a free upgrade to suite (if available). Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope you have a great year ahead!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ky

GREAT HOTEL

Posted Jul 18, 2017
I loved the atmosphere and furnishings. Very elegant!! The entire staff were wonderful and so helpful. We had a suite and I felt like I was in the Queen's quarters. Restaurant was very good and the bartender very friendly. Beautiful decorations. I hope to return there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel. Good location.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Amazing staff and location!!
Cons: I felt our bed was old and worn out.
Location: Easy walk to tons of restaurants and shopping and neat neighborhoods for site seeing (such as Fillmore street and Japan town)
I love the architecture and design of this 100+ year old hotel. The staff was very friendly and gave out excellent advice on what to see and do in the area. The breakfast was great at the hotel restaurant (only meal we ate there). Walking distance in all directions to all sorts of things to see and do. We walked to Union Square, Fillmore Street, and Japan Town,