Ratings based on 1,907 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good staff outdated facilities

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: staff
Cons: all the rest...
Staff was really nice and helpful but the hotel itself very old and outdated. It's ok to have an old style but at least need to make windows and floors a bit more acoustic, there was a lot of noise and the elements at the room were very old as well. Price very high as anything around SF. location was ok.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Shoe Box

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Our stay at Hotel Majestic was very disappointing. The building itself is a nice Edwardian construction. But our experience didn't reach our expectations. We just arrived there and my husband left me with the luggage in front of the main entrance. I do have an injured arm and couldn't take the luggage up to where the reception is. There were a few staff members on the entrance and no one offered their assistance. We were given the smallest room in the entire building (we checked that in the fire strategy plan drawing) and we nicely asked for a slightly bigger room, taking into account that it was our HoneyMoon and we were going to stay there for four nights. The staff said there were not any other room available. The only option they gave to us was upgrading our room to a suite by paying an additional $50 per day. We checked afterwards on internet if there were available rooms of the same category to book for those days and there were. The room was that small that there was no room left to leave our luggage open. We tried to lay it (closed) on top of a stool, but consequently there was only 20cm left between it and our bed. There was a tiny window facing north, 1 meter away to the next building wall, which means no daylight at all. It was dark the whole time. The bathroom door was not properly hanged so it couldn't be closed. There was indeed a lack of privacy in case you needed it. We are both very easy going and it very easy to please us; they just didn't do it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Elegant Hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2017
"Room Comfort" would have been a 5 but we were there for the first time San Francisco ever hit 106 degrees and there was no A/C. This is a very old hotel being one of the few buildings surviving the 1906 earthquake and fire but it is very elegant. We had great breakfast at a reasonable (for San Francisco) price. Staff was great. Great place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Old properety very well maintained

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: friendliness
Cons: bathroom could use vanity
Location: nothing quite nearby, except for Gear bus 2 blocks away.
Clean room and very helpful staff. Good restaurant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Location: Far away from Union Square. We were led to believe that it was only a couple of blocks away from Union Square.
The room had no air-conditioning, no microwave, no outlet for the coffee maker, the bed was extremely hard to try and sleep on. I would never choose this hotel again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The hotel is sort of old, has its own character. It was clean and tidy. Just wished it had an air conditioning in every room. It was a bit too hot at night without air conditioning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, UK

Helpful staff but hotel a bit out of the way

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: New carpets and a bit of paint
Location: Little bit out of the way but not a huge problem if you like walking or use your own car/public buses/taxis/Uber.
We found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful . Our Junior Suite was spacious and had a fridge which was very useful. The hotel is a bit dated and could do with a lick of paint but we found it to be comfortable and clean. Our main issue was the fact that we like to walk everywhere when we are on holiday and this hotel is a bit off the beaten track so we were averaging 9 miles of walking every day which was tiring.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San diego

Love the majestic

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The sraff was amazing and the building was beautiful. I will always stay here when I visit San Francisco. Will Recommend to friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old but still "majestic"

Posted Aug 12, 2017
The hotel has done a great job of preserving its history while meeting current expectations for comfort. The four-poster bed--with canopy!--had a comfortable mattress and nice bedding. The bathroom fixtures were all in good order and hot water was plentiful. The wardrobe and dresser had doors and drawers that sometimes stuck, but they did the job. Front-desk staff was accommodating and helpful. I would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2017 by Hotel Majestic, Hotel Management
Hello Guest, Thank You for staying with us. We really appreciate that. Thank You Hotel Majestic
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lancashire

Historical building with character

Posted Aug 11, 2017
The staff were wonderful. We arrived as the restaurant was closing and they encouraged us to place an order then delivered the lovely food to our room. This level of service continued. The hotel is beautiful and Victorian in character but needs a facelift. We were on the top floor and our room was lovely but just too warm. and there was the noise of machinery on the roof. There was a Fan but no A/C. The wifi was intermittent at best. Hotel is in a nice neighbourhood but did involve travel to the tourist spots. 20 min walk to Union Square; 30 plus to Fisherman's Wharfe and San Fran is VERY hilly. Public transport good but as there were 4 of us we used Uber, which is great in San Fran (there are over 8000 Uber drivers) so never waited longer than 5 mins, even for Uber X for our airport transfers. Overall good value in a city where accommodation can be very expensive and some nieghborhoods a bit dodgy.