Ratings based on 1,854 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't do it.

Posted May 19, 2017
This could be such a cute spot, but the need to renovate the whole thing and bring up to modern day is evident. The architecture is fabulous but the furniture, decor, wallpaper and carpets are old and gross. The linens smelled. The lobby smelled. And there is no central A/C, just fans that half worked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Great location

Posted May 11, 2017
Great location, close to Fillmore area and multiple bus lines within 2 blocks either way to any part of the city. Very quiet, quaint Victorian hotel with modern amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from illinois

Nice hotel in nice neighborhood.

Posted May 9, 2017
We had an unfortunate instance when we checked in. We were a late arrival. There was some confusion with our room, but the clerk was very apologetic and immediately upgraded our room. We had a very nice stay. We will strongly consider staying there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 7, 2017
It's OK. Nothanks a value play. Restaurant looks nice but food was awful and expensive... very expensive. Was very upset getting charged do much for dunbar good and horrible coffee. Room was small and husband is over 6 feet tall and shower was a young 5 feet 6 inches.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2017
Overall experience was disappointing. Would not recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, historic hotel in a convenient location

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: The big rooms, comfortable beds, nice lobby, and wonderful historic feel.
We had a wonderful 2 night stay and thoroughly enjoyed the historic feel of the Hotel Majestic. We walked to the Fillmore for a show and that was very easy and convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tyler, Texas

Historic Quaint Hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Awesome boutique hotel. Just a couple of blocks from Japantown, about a mile from The Painted Ladies and close to corner market and restaurants. Our room was very nice and comfortable. A little noisy but they will offer you a quieter room if you choose. Room was a little stuffy so we just opened the windows to bring in that nice California breeze. Overall a good experience and friendly staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic charm

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Uncomfortable bed with stained carpets and lampshades. Decent size room and bathroom, tv in awkward place means it can't be seen clearly from the bed. Not very sound proof. House keeping turning up at 7pm for no reason and also ignoring do not disturb sign.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rosevilke

awesome old style hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2017
beautiful hotel and excellent food Mindy the bartender was awesome
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Raj, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are excited to read your review. Thank you so much for staying with us and writing your real reviews about your stay. We are happy to know that you liked our hotel, its cuisine and our staff as well. Our bartenders have been excited to hear your appreciation. We do hope to welcome you again ! with warm regards, Raj
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Great Victorian style hotel, friendly and helpful staff.