Ratings based on 1,812 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Nice hotel. Location is central in the city but not near any specific highlights without a cab or looking long walk (not complaining), we enjoyed the walks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from h

Posted Feb 8, 2017
We enjoyed the history of this hotel. Location is great to get to many places around the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good for vacation; not for business

Posted Feb 6, 2017
This is a nice, clean, quiet hotel very close to downtown if you're looking for claw foot tubs, character, and good breakfast. If you are a business traveler, this is not the hotel for you. The business center is minimal. The biggest issue though is power. The only plugs in the room were in the bathroom. Not ideal for charging electronics before heading back to the airport or doing work in the main living area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Bragg, CA

Majestic

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Location: Easy walk to Japantown, parking and shuttle to California Pacific Medical Center.
We have stayed here a number of times and were delighted with the room and staff. After being less than pleased on our previous stay, we contacted the manager who not only upgraded our room but was most courteous and gracious. We are already booked for another stay at Hotel Majestic and plan on another in 3 months.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Good Location

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Creepy 4th floor
Location: Perfect location, in the middle of all the fun. There is Japan Town only a 6 min walk away.
Pros: -Great Location, almost in the middle of everything and close to bus stops -Free coffee in the morning -Friendly staff Cons: -Hotel is haunted on the 4th floor and I got that floor (asked to switch floors later on and staff allowed it) -Not modern (looks Victorian)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Best Victorian Hotel

Posted Jan 30, 2017
My favorite hotel on the world!!! And I have traveled a lot. The hotel is not the newest, but it is in the Victorian district and the junior suite ( free upgrade!!) comes with a canopy bed, and a comfortable couch open to full length windows!!! Perfect place for a princess to spend a weekend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Great historic atmosphere. Excellent food. Room lacked adequate outlets and a desk.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place .. can do with a touch of renovation

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Not a bad place Staff are friendly Amenities need updating
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Bragg, CA

Hotel management resolved everything

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Staff, cozy bar, old world charm.
Cons: Granted, The Hotel Majestic could use a little TLC, but that's part of its charm. You don't find canopy beds just anywhere.
Location: Walking distance to Japantown and close to Union Square. We were taking the shuttle for CPMC at Hotel Kabuki and that is just a couple of blocks away
We have stayed at the Hotel Majestic a number of times...that should tell you how much we like it. This time, however, our room was very disappointing AND expensive. There was a bankers' convention in town so it was pricey everywhere. We contacted the management about how really poor our room was and were treated with the highest regard and courtesy. Not only did he provide us with a gift certificate and complimentary breakfast, he assured us of room upgrades on future reservations. We'll be back...not just for the perks, but for the service, courtesy and the charm of one of San Francisco's oldest operating hotels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

It was so nice but so classic

Posted Jan 5, 2017
It is small room very small but it was good offer if you want to stay there and save some money so clean and and that all about it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2017 by Raj, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing our hotel and writing reviews on your stay. We are excited about your positive comments. Guests' satisfaction is our ultimate goal. We look forward to welcoming you again ! warm regards, Raj