Ratings based on 1,657 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2017
The pictures of the hotel do not match what it really looks like very disappointed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from palo alto

Hell

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: THE VENTILATION SYSTEM
It was sufocating. there seem to be a serious ventilation problem in the room i stay in. be very careful!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Bare bones hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2017
The room had a bed, but that was about the extent of the amenities offered. The TV had 24 channels and hadn't been replaced since about 2007. The bathroom had no ventilation - it looked like I was hot boxing the room anytime I took a shower. There wasn't any AC, and the walls are paper thin - I could hear people fighting in the streets from the third floor, which happened more often than I was comfortable with. I asked to extend my stay when I first checked in after my business trip had been extended, and they forgot to make a note of it - thank god. I checked out and found myself much happier at the Argonaut Hotel for pennies more a night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nevada

Not the best for families

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Not the best opción if you are traveling with kids, neighborhood it doesn’t feel safe. We were expecting sonething better but I guess al hotels en San Francis are very expensive so to pay $200 for one night is not enough to get you a good place...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SLC, Ut.

Not a 3-Star Hotel

Posted Nov 15, 2017
This is more like a 2-Star hotel. It is absolutely not even remotely close to a 3-Star hotel. It is old and outdated. It is loud, the walls are thin and has an unclean appearance. I was highly disappointed when I arrived. Not a pleasant stay. Don’t let the rating fool you like it did me!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Market Street but don't wander too far

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Location: Market St is a half block away and active but if you go a block the wrong direction you will not be in a family safe neighborhood.
The hotel staff was excellent, useful and courteous. However there is no in hotel restaurant or room service nor any mini fridge in the room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Hotel was very expensive for what it was. Not well maintained. Did not have a gym as advertised.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Glad I ignored the negative reviews!

Posted Oct 20, 2017
I was a bit hesitant to book this hotel based on a number of negative reviews. However I glad I've decided to give it a try. I had nothing but very positive experience. I especially want to praise the friendly hotel staff from the concierge to the room cleaners. They go out of their way to make you feel welcomed and cared for. Granted, the neighborhood is a bit sketchy, but I never had any troubles with the street folks. I will definitely return to this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good in a pinch

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: The bed was comfortable; the shower had excellent water pressure.
Cons: The hotel had a restaurant that was supposed to be open for breakfast, but it wasn't the two days that we were there.
Location: We spent a day at Golden Gate Park and went to a movie in a near-bye mall. The movie theater had recliner seats which were very comfortable.
We were travelling to Cabo and were diverted to San Francisco because of tropical storm Lidia. We needed to find a place to stay for two nights and decided that downtown would be best. The Metropolis was the least expensive at $208 US per night. It is in the tenderloin district, and as others have written we did see the grittier side of life; however, we were never harassed by any of the street people and didn't find the gutters any dirtier than other major cities we've visited. Unfortunately for everyone, San Francisco was having a heat-wave and the Metropolis does not have air-conditioning. Our room on the 10th floor was tiny, with just enough room for the bed and old wooded side table that served as a desk. There were no drawers for clothes. The staff were excellent, even though they were all very hot, too. They found us a small fan to put in the room that helped a bit. I would give the staff 5/5. I just can't give the hotel that score.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from india

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Very noisy and outside noise was very audible in the room.