Ratings based on 1,586 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great hotel, perfect location!

Posted Nov 18, 2017
After missing our flight, hotel Rex was so accommodating! Enjoyed our short stay, loved the Library Bar, & walked out the door into beautiful San Francisco Union Square!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Unique boutique hotel. Great staff. A little run down, but charming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short but nice

Posted Nov 5, 2017
The thing that ruins the the good portion of the stay is when you get your bill and see all the unexpected charges that have been added. HATED it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC

Stepping back in time (but all you need!)

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Pros: I love the library room for relaxing with coffee or wine, depending on the time of day. The front desk staff is great! it's an ideal location, too.
Location: Shops, galleries, restaurants, parks, cable cars....so many choices within easy walking distance!
This was a return trip, so was looking forward to it!The staff is welcoming and efficient and always helpful. My room was a lovely, comfortable space with everything I needed...plus items I never used, but was glad to see (flashlight, iron and board, luggage rack, etc.) The decor is classy and fun and full of charm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great hotel. Central to shopping and food.

Posted Oct 24, 2017
The staff is so nice and friendly. This is our third time staying there and its our go to hotel in San Fran. I love the wine bar happy hour. I met some great people from Canada and shared all the city's best.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by LINDSAY

Shabby and not Chic

Posted Oct 23, 2017 on Hotels
Definitely on the shabby side. After staying for four days at the Marrriot for business, my partner and I wanted to extend our stay and San Fran and chose this hotel based on location and photos. The room was so slanted that the wardrobe doors on one side slammed shut and on the other stayed open. I put my phone on the bedside table and it kept sliding. We thought it was funny and cute but the bathroom put us over the edge. It was just old and dirty. We can deal with shabby but old and dirty in the bathroom is a deal breaker. I would not stay here again.
4 out of 5
by timothy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 22, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Small rooms with poor climate control. Noisy. Hotel partners with nearby gym and they had run out of discount passes but told me to go anyway and the gym would honor it. The gym did not because it was the hotel's fault.
1 out of 5
by Kandyce

Nasty filthy hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2017 on Hotels
The room was filthy. Dust and dirt, stained carpet and what appeared to be bugs or animal droppings behind the dingy drapes. I made 3 attempts to contact the manager, to no avail.This was more of a 1 star motel.