Ratings based on 1,485 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Facing the noisy street is noisy

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Was on the side facing the street on the 5th floor. There is an AC unit in the window an no seal to the outside due to a 1 inch gap between window panes. The result was lots of noise from the street which still had plenty of honking and cars / trucks driving by at midnight. I didn't see any other reviews about noise, so many this is just to be expected in San Fransisco, but I did think that this room was particularly bad at blocking sound, I was traveling for business so that is really all I wanted from my stay hence the 2 star review, other things were ok, but it just didn't matter.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Very nice location but smelling of room is a little bit strange.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Very pleasant place to stay! Hotel Rex is located near several lovely restaurants (including the Library Bar downstairs), a few theatres, and just down the street from the trolley line which provides pier access.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: Incredibly friendly staff, nice room, comfortable bed
Cons: Change the soaps, shampoo and conditioner to scent free. They smell terrible.
It was great. No I am not going to write a bit more and please dont try to force me to, otherwise Ill delete this whole thing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in downtown

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Very pleasant ễprience. Nice and clean hotel. Convenient location to shopping in downtown and China town
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Bookish boutique hotel

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Free welcome drinks and live music/shows-what more can I say?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 7, 2017
I was charged $150 without warning above the quoted rate for this hotel. Be warned.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

go for it!

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Charming old city hotel. Quirky in a nice way. Responsive staff, great value, outstanding bar/happy hour.
5 out of 5
by Loretta

Our anniversary trip

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Hotels
Loved the room we had and the library bar is so nice!
4 out of 5
by Kathy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels