Ratings based on 1,497 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted May 21, 2017
Good value for the money. The bar is a go to destination. Next trip it's the Rex for sure
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Posted May 15, 2017
Excellent location, very nice staff and comfortable clean room and bathroom. Stone's throw from union square and easily accessible from market Street and public transport links.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfectly located in downtown San Francisco.

Posted May 10, 2017
I real home away from home! The staff was so accommodating!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location, relaxing bar & great staff

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Perfect location, great staff & relaxing lounge - breakfast in am & drinks, dinner in pm - wonderful atmosphere & very close to trolley stop, Walgreens etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fernley, NV

Comfort in a Busy City

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: location, décor, cleanliness, accommodations, friendly service, helpful,
Cons: electrical outlets
Location: variety of great restaurants, within walking distance of the best shopping in the city, also, access to public transportation is within close distance
The hotel was what I expected and little more. Great location near a variety of restaurants. Within walking distance of one of the best shopping areas in the city. The hotel is close to over 100 years old but the accommodations were great. Great décor, great price, clean room yet has all the current technologies that one needs to conduct day to day activities, as needed. I would recommend this hotel and I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Close to everything

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, lobby bar, quiet room
Cons: Internet
Location: Close to nearly everything
Just took a quick overnight trip to the City. Hotel is close to BART and plenty of good restaraunts nearby. The rooms are clean and quaint. They are small but that is common for the boutique hotels. Fresh coffee in the am. Only complaint is that the business office internet didn't work. The staff was helpful in assisting me with travel documents needed though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Up the hill

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: location & price, happy hour (only did it one day), internet service
Location: Close enough to convention center and other meeting hotels for big convention, cable car, BART station down the hill, shopping, lots of restaurants
Great bartender, front desk helpful, room too warm (no A/C, street too noisy to open window), found big puddle of water on top of closed toilet seat, good internet, tattered curtains, suited me just fine, would stay again at the price I got.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not great but not bad.

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Hotel is in a great location. Nothing fancy but it's is clean and serviceable. Staff were wonderful. Towels were clean but could stand to be replaced and updated. It would not be my first choice of a place to stay but I would certainly stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Old world Charm

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Lovely old hotel with Matisse theme, very nicely maintained. Staff are wonderful and friendly, rooms spacious and quiet (at least the ones on the back facing a small garden). Very convenient to Union Square and upscale shopping venues/restaurants. Price was reasonable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond VA

Nice hotel in Union Square area

Posted Mar 29, 2017
This is a nice older budget hotel with some luxury touches. The staff is helpful, and the public areas are very nice. I had a very nice breakfast.