Ratings based on 1,267 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a good value

Posted Jul 21, 2016
A number of people describe this hotel as quaint and charming, while a few call it dark and somewhat dingy. We were more in the latter camp. Our room was OK, but nothing special. A/C involved a window unit that was blasting a bit too much when on. The bathroom was about what I'd expect in an $80-100 hotel, small and somewhat rundown with very basic tub and shower. The bed was fine and the furnishings were adequate, but the room felt a bit small. The hotel offers a free glass of wine from 5-6 PM. That's a nice idea, but we had to wait 10 minutes for the bartender to show up. Then the wine was of such poor quality that it wasn't even drinkable. They serve Sycamore Lane wine as their house wine at $8 a glass. Retail prices on this wine are ~$5 a bottle (I looked it up), and I'm sure they pay substantially less in volume. So that's a pretty nice profit margin on the house wine (outside of the free hour). Overall, this did not feel like a good value at $350/night. Unfortunately, I think this says as much about the hotel scene in San Francisco as this particular hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2016
The hotel was really close to Union square, convenient for shopping and getting on the cable car. Hotel staff on the whole were friendly, some more helpful than others.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spectacular boutique hotel in San Francisco!

Posted Jul 15, 2016
If you are looking for a boutique hotel, central and with all amenities and comfort, this is your best choice. At a walking distance from Union square, you can easily hit the best restaurants and main tourist attractions on foot! The staff at the hotel is simply delightful, rooms are very clean and quiet! This is simply the best hotel I have stayed at in San Francisco!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santiago, Chile

Great location, very nice rooms and friendly staff

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: Beds, staff, location
Cons: Microwave
We really enjoyed the experience, staff was friendly, we stayed with 2 kids and found everything perfect. We would recommend the hotel for everyone.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dayton, OH

A quaint boutique hotel!

Posted Jul 14, 2016
We loved staying at Hotel Rex. The staff were friendly and helpful. The complementary glass of wine was excellent as well as the ambience of the bar. The rooms were small but comfortable and nicely decorated. The hotel location was in a good neighborhood and we felt comfortable walking to places and it was right up the road from Boba Guys which we loved!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Quirky fun hotel in great location close to Union

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: Fun staff, bar ambiance.
Cons: The cook didn't show up for breakfast on a couple of occasions so we had to go out to eat. On the days we did eat it, the food and service were good.
Location: Union Square shopping, close to BART station, easy to get cabs
A last minute problem with another accommodation booking led us to the Hotel Rex as it was close by. The desk staff were very helpful and allowed us to see a room before deciding. We loved the Library Bar which would have been better had it not been a holiday weekend so there was no live entertainment.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Hotel Rex

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Our excellent stay here started with the staff. They were courteous and very helpful. The room was clean, comfortable and had all we needed for our visit. The location is very convenient to attractions and transportation. They also helped arrange shuttle service to the airport.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel for Staying in the Theater District.

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: Location, room cleaniness.
Location: Walk to theater, dining, and shopping.
Discovered the Rex Hotel word of mouth and stayed there for the first time this week. What a delightful place! First, and foremost, the hotel is in the theater district on Sutter Street. It is a two block walk to theaters and blues clubs (such as Biscuits and Blues). Union Square, a short, thee block walk, takes you nice multiple places to dine. The Muni bus that goes to both Fishermen's Wharf AND ATT Park goes right by the front door of the hotel. The Rex is our new go-to place to stay in San Francisco.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from グアム

モダンアート感覚の素敵なホテル

Posted Jul 3, 2016
こじんまりとしたモダンなアート感覚のホテルでした。フロントの対応もフレンドリーで、下のレストランのパンケーキやワッフルは最高に美味しいです。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Nice, older hotel, close to all the action

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Great older hotel with charm. Clean condition and friendly staff. Located pretty close to Union Square. Happy hour at the hotel "Library Bar" with free wine was a nice add!