Ratings based on 1,435 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in downtown

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Very pleasant ễprience. Nice and clean hotel. Convenient location to shopping in downtown and China town
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Bookish boutique hotel

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Free welcome drinks and live music/shows-what more can I say?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 7, 2017
I was charged $150 without warning above the quoted rate for this hotel. Be warned.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

go for it!

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Charming old city hotel. Quirky in a nice way. Responsive staff, great value, outstanding bar/happy hour.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Ynez, CA

Easy walk to Union Square

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: I liked the location. The original artwork on all the walls was so interesting, The room was spacious and clean. The bed was very comfortable.
Location: The location is near Union Square, so all that shopping was available. We also had a great dinner at a nearby upscale Mexican restaurant.
My daughter and I had a getaway shopping weekend just after Christmas. We stayed at the Rex Hotel, where they were very gracious and upgraded us to a suite! We had a very pleasant welcome drink in the cozy library, where many other guests were gathered. It is such a wonderful room and not ostentatious at all, but just friendly and upbeat. We also had breakfast in the same library, and it was delicious and well priced. We can't wait to schedule another getaway!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great comfort and location!!

Posted Jan 2, 2017
We had a relaxing getaway at hotel Rex! They served a complimentary wine and their hotel staff always greeted us with a smile. Our room was comfortable and clean! The location was great if you want to be near union square. I would highly recommend! We only had one hiccup when there was a "scheduled" fire alarm testing but guests weren't informed until after it went off. They still provided an apology letter with procedures in case of a real emergency, which we really appreciated. You should check this place out if you're in union square!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin,TX

Perfect location!

Posted Dec 29, 2016
My family & I had a great stay in San Francisco & Hotel Rex was a great place to call home during our trip! The staff was excellent & the decor was lovely, especially if your a lover of books! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a gem in city! Thanks Hotel Rex!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central hotel

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Great ambience, great staff. Desk staff and cleaners were both really pleasant and helpful
Cons: Provide/serve breakfast on the weekends
Located very centrally and is a good base. We stayed on level 5 in one of the back rooms with only a small window and felt a little dark, but it wouldn't stop us staying there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sonoma, CA

Nice hotel, poor management

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: The literary mode/vibe.
Cons: Management
Location: Easy walking distance to lots of good eateries and to Union Square.
I enjoyed the hotel and really liked the Library Bar. It was a nice set up. The rooms were nice. You can only do so much with a 100 yr old building. My vehicle got a major scratch on it while parked with the hotels parking service. When I brought it up to the desk, he politely said the parking service is separate from the hotel, but gave me the number of the hotel manager. I made two calls to the manager to talk about the issue, and received no call back. I received no calls back from the parking service either, but that's why we have insurance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel within walking distance of Square.

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Great location at a good price. Perfect for weekend in the City.