Ratings based on 2,671 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for short trip

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Easy access to all types of transit, shopping,dining
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love the Stratford.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Brilliant staff. Excellent location. Always appreciate the breakfast. Will return next year!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from SYDNEY AUSTRALIA

Nice hotel , close to Union Square and all tourist

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Close to Union Square and very easy to catch transport for Tours.
Cons: I have not yet received my refund of US $100. --waiting for Credit in my account.
Location: Good location
Good experience. Staff helpful. Breakfast was good. Central location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old musty but Great Location

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Plus Great location, Downside room small, old musty smell, walls dirty looking. Most of staff really nice, but the lady setting up the coffee and cereal breakfast you could tell that she hated her job
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Location, location, location

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything
Location: Near Union Square.
Location is the only positive about the Stratford Hotel in San Francisco. When was the last time you saw "toilet" listed as one of the amenities? There is no air conditioning, no coffee maker, no mini-fridge, no heat control and plastic cups are at the sink, which is in the room itself and not in the bathroom. The double bed in my room took up 75% of the floor space. The "complimentary" breakfast is a joke, unless you want to experience a 4 star hotel from the 50s. Paper cups are used for coffee, tea and juice. There is dry cereal and milk, bread for toasting and mini-muffins that were the same every day. Yes, the bed and pillows were clean and comfortable and the reading light over the bed was well-positioned. Think of this hotel as a very expensive backpackers hostel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't judge a hotel by the sign.

Posted Mar 31, 2017
When we went we wanted a unique building in the heart of the financial district but the hotel Stratford did not live up to the website. The location is the only thing we enjoyed as the room was tiny, really hot and devoid of any old school flavour. Will not stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moscow, Russia

Nice hotel for a ggod price.

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Location, quality of service for the price.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Right in the city center, so all you can imagine is in a walking distance.
Excellent hotel for this price. Has a simple breakfast included in price. Rooms are smaller, but enough for two guests to stay without any issues. And the location is excellent - just 10 meters away from the Union Square and 200 meters away from the subway station, so right in a very center of SF. I would definately recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay

Posted Mar 24, 2017
The hotel Stratford is located in a good location. On arrival, hotel staff gave a warm welcome, very helpful in giving information. The room was fine. their was some mould at the top of one of the bedroom wall but the room itself was clean and bed was very comfortable. Breakfast is basic but plentiful mostly muffins, toast, fruit, cereals, tea& coffee which was enough for me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Small, slightly quirky with an international clientele.
Cons: The breakfast is pretty sparse and lacks protein.
Location: Great location! Walk out the front door and jump on the cable car. A wide array of great restaurants nearby.
Nice hotel, with small, tidy rooms. Great location. Underwhelming but adequate breakfast offering.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tiny room. Inattentive staff.

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Tiny room. Petite shower. Crappy breakfast. Inattentive staff. But, decent price for SF and no bed bugs.