Ratings based on 1,360 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central California

Nice hotel close to Union Square.

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Ambience. Friendliness of staff. Location
Cons: Bed was not real comfortable.
Location: Near many nice stores and restaurants in the Union Square area. Also not far from North Beach.
Great experience. Very pleasant and friendly staff. Very nice decorations in lobby and room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Brittney, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Hotel Triton. We are thrilled to hear our staff was friendly and that you enjoyed our central location. We're exited to share an upcoming renovation, which will likely include some improvements to the comfort in the rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best, Brittney Hemela Media and Marketing Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Ana, CA

Frisco Get away!

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Nice hotel, convenient location, close by the BART and entrance to china town, arrived early and was able to check in!!! which was awesome!! Rooms are rather small, perfect for 2 people, 4 people you will be pushing it...small bathroom...Awesome neighborhood to walk around at night!!! bars are a bit pricy because of location... Need to hit up the Irish Bank around the corner! very cool spot to chill!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Brittney, Hotel Management
Lionel! Thank you for this lovely review of your stay with us at Hotel Triton. We're so happy to hear we were able to accommodate an early checkin and that you loved our location - Irish Bank is a super fun hangout for visitors and locals alike. We look forward to welcoming you back to San Francisco again! Best, Brittney Hemela Media and Marketing Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Frisco Get away

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Location, Staff, free coffee, ice machine!
Cons: Better room fridge....at least some that actually keep things cold!
Nice hotel, convenient location of the BART, entrance to China Town, awesome area to walk around at night with no issues, bars in area are a bit pricy compared to other bars but understandably because of the neighborhood, excellent staff, rooms are ok, small room but perfect for 2 people, 4 pushing it a bit, small bathrooms......room fridge was not cooling.....they do have ice machines which was awesome!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Brittney, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Hotel Triton. We are happy to hear you loved out central location and that our staff was friendly. We will share your feedback with our engineering team regarding the temperature of the fridge. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best, Brittney Hemela Media and Marketing Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from victoria, bc

Ecclectic, boutique hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Great location, helpful staff, cool decor. Streets can be a bit loud. No coffee/tea in room but offered in lobby in the morning. Best thing is definitely the location (across the street from Dragon Gates) and the fun atmosphere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Brittney, Hotel Management
Hi Kate! Thank you for this lovely review of your stay with us at Hotel Triton. We know there is a little more bustle when staying in the city, we hope you were able to enjoy restful sleep. We are so happy you enjoyed being in the heart of San Francisco. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best, Brittney Hemela Media and Marketing Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2017
No refrigerator to use no coffee machine Location was great But overpriced
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Nicole Huebner, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. Our minibar functions as a mini fridge and we also offer complimentary coffee makers for guest rooms. Did you inquire with the front desk? We would have been happy to assist with your requests!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly, funky and very clean

Posted Jun 2, 2017
It was clean and very friendly. Lovely funky decor. Great location next to Chinatown and Downtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by Brittney, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at Hotel Triton! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Best, Brittney Hemela Media and Marketing Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bookers Beware

Posted May 22, 2017
Made the mistake of booking a suite for the first night of our Honeymoon. Arrived on time for check in and room was not ready. After 20 minutes, we were finally allowed to check into a room that smelled completely of mildew. I am not too picky of a person, but the smell was utterly nauseating after 5 minutes. Thanks to an attentive front desk, we were able to change to a smaller room which did not smell but was very small (certainly not what I booked). Nearly a week later and I have NOT been reimbursed for the room downgrade as promised. The hotel needs to get this smell problem fixed and it seemed it was a known and common issue. The location is good but is hardly made up for dated condition.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by Brittney, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing, please know that our management team takes guest feedback very seriously. We're surprised to hear about the smell but happy our team jumped into action to attempt to provide a remedy. Please note we just had a change in ownership and therefore management and our team is working hard to fix some issues that were pre-existing. This message is being forwarded to individuals who may be able to assist in recovery. Best, Brittney Hemela Media and Marketing Managers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Nice place

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: The overall look and feel of the place
Cons: Just the A/C unit I mentioned
Location: In San Francisco, it's impossible to navigate using phrases like "near the Starbucks" since they're literally on every corner. So there's that.
Super friendly staff, hotel has lots of character. Rooms are not the typical "modern hotel" type of room, they're more basic. Window A/C unit kept turning on and off, and I wasn't able to get the window open. Bed was comfortable, a bit on the hard side.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Brittney, Hotel Management
Kelly, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Hotel Triton! We are thrilled you enjoyed our boutique charm, however we're excited to share we will be revealing an updated look a little later this year. This should help take care of some things mentioned in your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Best, Brittney Hemela Marketing Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ORCAS ISLAND WA

GREAT PLACE TO STAY CLOSE TO EVERITHING

Posted Apr 29, 2017
WE APPRECIATED THE COOL LAID BACK AMBIANCE OF THIS JEWEL RIGHT NEXT TO CHINATOWN, GREAT SHOPS PUBS AND RESTAURANTS. ALSO WALKING DISTANCE TO THE EMBARCADERO (WATERFRONT)
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by Brittney, Hotel Management
H+M! Thank you for this lovely review of your recent stay at Hotel Triton! We are thrilled to hear you liked our boutique laid back style and our central location! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Best, Brittney Hemela Marketing Manager
1 out of 5
by Moses

Horrible/thiefs

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
Worst hotel ever. I have stayed in better hotels in third world countries. First of all the room is outdated carpet is really dirty. We spilled a water bottle and used a towel to dry it and the towel was black with dirt. Beds were very uncomfortable bathroom was dirty. Management is the worst. And to top it off I was charged 250 deep clean fee for a little water that spilled in the carpet plus damage to sheets that I have no idea how u could damage sheets by sleeping on them total 457 fee for damages that was not true. If i could give a negative rating on them I will, a bunch of thieves is what they are trying to make more money since their business is slow. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017
Moses, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are so surprised with your experience and are working to find out what actually happened to properly address the situation at hand. Please know that we recently changed ownership and management, and our new staff is working hard to recover any information for our valued guests. Best, Brittney Hemela Marketing Manager