Ratings based on 1,971 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SFO

Awesome Hotel.... Awesome Staff...

Posted Jul 20, 2016
I just relocated to San Francisco and spent my first night in the city at The Hotel Union Square. I enjoyed the hotel so much I extended my stay for a week. The hotel offers many superlatives but I was most impressed with "the staff" as they were friendly and went out of their way to assist me with everything from directions to recommending future living accommodations. I would also give high marks to the hotel's free evening wine hour and gym access. Kudos and many thanks to the staff for making my first week and stay in San Francisco a pleasant one!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Chintzy hotel - terrible place to stay!

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Who cares? It's a terrible place to stay.
The room door would not lock from inside as it was a fire escape with the stairs outside the window. Room 328. The only room left was an inside room, no window. It was really an awful chintzy hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Left hotwl

Posted Jul 15, 2016
I went to the room they assigned me- the room's deadbolt on the door was broken. So I went down to the front desk to let them know and request a different room- they already knew about the broken door lock and was either hoping I didn't notice or didn't care! Upon my frustration and complaining, they switched my room. This second room had dirty sheet and shower. So after this I was so appalled that I just told them to cancel my reservation and I was leaving. I found a Marriott next door and stayed there. This hotel is such a rip off.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice, nothing mind blowing.

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Nothing was terrible, but nothing was incredibly amazing either. The window looked out onto a wall in a tiny area with other walls and windows; can't call it a courtyard because it was too small and can't be accessed. Gave the room a dark claustrophobic feel. But otherwise it was adequate, quite nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Very helpful and knowledgeable staff. Answered all of the questions we had.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, bad conditions

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Good location, rooms too small, not what You see in the pictures on the internet, there is no restaurant in the hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Hotel was in the perfect location to be able to walk around and explore the city. Very clean and nice hotel. Will stay here again
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego.

Room was no larger than a closet!

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Pros: The lemon water they offered at the front door, that is about it
Cons: The price!
Location: That was the only benefit, close to Union Square.
Room no larger than a closet, uncomfortably small, no clock radio, only one side lamp, noisy (I could hear TV noise from next room. Getting to room was difficult, had to climb extra set of stairs, dark hallways and no privacy. Way overpriced! I would not stay there again or ever recommend it to anyone!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

only location is good

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: service
location is good, but room not the value that i paid, i book deluxe single room, but they provide the horrible room to me, the room with smells, small, dark, face to back alley,and the washroom handle was broken, you went to toilet was difficult. when i asked for change, they just said no room and i need to do it at next day morning time, next day morning i had go out so early for friend gathering and want to change at afternoon, but they said only can change in morning. It's a bad experience for me.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SLO, CA

Near all the Union Square Shopping

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Great proximity to the Retail District around Union Square and only 2 blocks from the Powell Metro. We had a great time shopping and museum going all within walking distance of the hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The gave us a free upgrade to the Penthouse Suite; great views from the 6th floor! Hotel is older but tastefully remodeled.