Ratings based on 1,497 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2015
The hotel rooms look nothing like the photos online. The rooms are very small and some do not have air conditioning and it was a very warm in our room. We were moved to a room with air conditioning which was a little better. The rooms had a dorm type of feel. They were very small.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Smaller rooms.

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Rooms on the smaller side and could use cleaning that is more thorough. But bedding was clean, and room was generally clean. Cool older building. Business center not functioning well. Could have more staff. Staff was very friendly, concierge was great. Wine and music in lobby was great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los angeles

NOT AS DESCRIBED

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: - Free high speed WIFI
Cons: Pictures on the website. Upload a pic of how the 2 double beds room really looks like.
Location: In the middle of Union Square. Very close to all the retail stores.
- Keys are not working well. (changed all the keys once but still same) - 2 double beds room looks totally different from the pictures on the website. - No slippers. - Only sugar and creamers. No coffee in the room at the 1st day (got it 2nd day of stay) - Phone doesn't work at all. (charging forever) - Very noisy outside. No soundproof. - No "DO NOT DISTURB" sign. - Smells bad in the room. - There is NO "Complimentary use of Fitness Center". NO fitness at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Friendly staff, small but clean room. Good location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

vintage

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: the Vibe ... the decor, local musician Sat night, great concierge advice, wine tasting in lobby, lots of shops next door, money exchange,
Cons: see above
Location: it's right on the trolley stop ... use your imagination!
A great vintage hotel with a touch of hip, located downtown, Of course the rooms are a bit small, but the high ceilings with a fan are a nice trade off. I understand it's an old building, which is why I really like it, but they really need to install a system of air exchange to bring fresh air quality into the rooms ... there's got to be a way to make this work! Perhaps to install special room air conditioners with a minimum % fresh air setting, or alternatively, single room air exchangers which operate independently. Hotel Union Square could upgrade the rooms one at a time. The staff was awesome and the amenities were great! A great price for a great old hotel in a great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Excellent location, nice decor, tiny rooms

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: My room was actually very comfortable despite the size. The location was great too.
Cons: Better lighting in the red hallways on the 4th floor, and showers that don't totally lose water pressure anytime someone in another room flushes.
Location: Super close to Union Square and Market Street, so there's a ton of shopping and places to eat. You're also right across from an awesome Walgreens.
Hotel Union Square is perfectly located for visitors to San Francisco at Powell and Ellis Streets. I was in SF on business and was only about ~18 minutes walking from the Financial District. The hotel lobby was nicely designed and very welcoming after a long and late flight. The room itself was very small, with the bed taking up most of the floor space, but it was still quite comfortable. My room had both a powerful AC and a fan, so the temperature was perfect. The bathroom was also very small, but got the job done. My room faced the back of the hotel, so it was very quiet (even on Friday and Saturday nights).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Great place to call home base in San Fran

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Pros: Most everything
Cons: Airconditioner in rooms other than bedroom
Location: Union Square; retail stores; restaurants and you an 'Lyft' anywhere.
The Hotel Union Square had great rating. When we arrived early, I was worried as it looked quite urban. Lobby however was lovely. When we got our room they had upgraded with out our request to their presidential suite. OMG it was wonderful. My sons had a regular room and it was also nice but our accommodations were extraordinary. Living room, kitchenette, office, large bathroom and large bedroom. In addition we had a very large patio with furniture to sit out and see the city. I cannot say how great it was. Also very central to our plans.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Lake Tahoe, CA

Great Location, and comfy rooms.

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: Modern, updated decor.
Would definitely stay here again, love the wine reception complimentary.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Stay for the location, not the hotel itself

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Cons: location, location, location
Location: The hotel is right on the path of the cable cars and a block from Union Square/BART station. You can't beat that.
I would only recommend this hotel if you are not picky and intend on only staying in the hotel to sleep a few hours. Location is pretty much prime for a tourist in town for a few days. Unfortunately, we got a few very warm days and the lack of air conditioning made sleeping very uncomfortable and because of the busy street below, opening a window was very noisy. If you are looking for high end, this is not for you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2015 by Domitille, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comment, I am sorry that you suffered from the heat while staying with us. It is true that some of our rooms do not have Air Conditioning and I understand that it might be an inconvenience. I hope that you nevertheless had a good stay in San Francisco. Best regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sevilla

El hotel esta muy bien situado

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Las Habitación es muy pequeña, sin aire acondicionado, el parking es mas caro si te hospedas en el hotel que para los que no, el parking es muy caro, me ha parecido carísimo todo el hotel para los servicios que ofrece