Ratings based on 2,344 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel room far to small and dark.

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Staff were helpful and friendly daily wine reception was good, room size and amenities let it down.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Super Impressed

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Location, the whole look of the hotel, the staff.
Location: Close to everything. Walking distance to the BART, shopping centres are right at your door, looks of interesting places to dine.
This hotel was by far one of the most interesting places I've stayed at. The location was absolutely fantastic. It was right by all the shopping centres, close to the BART station, you could easily walk to almost everything by foot. The look of the hotel was very pleasing. It's an older hotel and it embraces that quality, but everything inside also has his modern look. It's a mix of old meets new, and that works very well for the look of the whole place. The room I stayed in was an economy room, it was small but cute, and everything functioned well. The staff was friendly and efficient with their jobs. Hotel Union Square was a fantastic place to stay. If I'm every in San Francisco again I'll definitely be booking through them :-)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Mediocrity at its best

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Reasonably located.
Cons: Cleanliness, air conditioning, staff.
Location: Very close to Powell Station and the cable cars.
The hotel is super convenient to get to by transit, its only a short walk from Powell Station. If you need to drop off or pickup with a rental car however, it can be pretty annoying because you can't drive or park on the stretch of Powell in front of the hotel. This isn't the hotels fault, but the concierge was rude to my girlfriend who was waiting for me with all our luggage in the lobby while I went to pickup a rental car. I can only imagine that he was trying to be helpful but we had no way off communicating at the time so she stayed put, and was essentially being told to leave. (I ended up parking out front illegally and dashing in really quick to find her visibly upset-- thankfully not at me). She wasn't the only recipient of his attitude either. Another guest got the brunt end of his tone when they were asking for directions. Everything about this hotel feels shady right down to checkin where the "resort fee" is near silently charged to your credit card. The guy behind reception didn't even have the courtesy of describing it himself when asked, he just pointed to a sign which indicated it covered WiFi and a lame gym. The lobby looks descent but is deceptive, the rooms are smaller than usual (and I'm familiar with SF), and generally things feel dirty starting with the currency conversion window that dominates the entrance. Not sure if its affiliated to the hotel, but its definitely sharing the building and adds a certain tackiness to your stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Tyler L, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. I am very sorry to hear your experience was less than excellent. I am surprised by the comments regarding our staff since we are known for our friendliness and will address this review with my team. I apologize and wish that your stay would have been more enjoyable. Thank you again for letting us know.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Great stay, easy access to everything!

Posted Jul 9, 2017
We stayed two nights, and it exceeded our expectations. The room was beautiful and very clean, and the hotel staff was professional, helpful, and personable. We parked our car in the closest garage and walked, trolleyed, and ferried everywhere we wanted to go--very convenient! It was great to be able to step out the door and join the city. We really liked the wine hour in the evenings (5-6) and the fresh coffee in the mornings. We will definitely stay at Hotel Union Square again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rooms are to small

Posted May 31, 2017
When checking in, the front desk staff was very rude and sarcastic and unhelpful. We asked to be moved to a bigger room with two beds, and he's response was "it's too late, you should've done this earlier" done know if I would stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stickton, CA

Very load

Posted May 30, 2017
The walls are very thin. I was able to hear people talking in the next room. Keep me up all night. Rooms are very small. Park is very small and elevator is also small and slow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Surprisingly nice hotel hidden away on Powell St

Posted May 29, 2017
This was a great location to launch into other activities around the Powell and Market St. area with connections to the rest of San Francisco. Would absolutely stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2017
No ventilation in a tiny room so hot and stuffy. I felt like I can uodates breathe.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017 by Tyler L, Hotel Management
Thank you for the comments, we are sorry you did not enjoy your room and will review this feedback with our team to help us improve. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know
3 out of 5
by William

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by kimberley

Hotel is great, area a little sketchy

Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely little character hotel! Great location for shopping and restaurants but a lot of homeless in this area and we found the city itself quite dirty/smelly. Ignoring the outside, the hotel was clean and had a nice, free, happy hour in the lobby, but no bar. Friendly staff and comfy beds. Very close to all shops and tons of restaurants, it was so convenient so would stay here again. The convenience fee was annoying, especially considering the gym was at another hotel!