Ratings based on 2,004 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 日本

立地がよく過不足のないサービス

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: 立地が非常に良い。
Cons: 部屋の使い方がよくわからなかったので、説明書があると良い。
Location:
BARTの駅が近くて空港からのアクセスが良い。 路面電車の停留所も近いので、市内の移動には苦労しない。 すぐ近くのユニオンスクウェアからは観光バスも多数出ている。 サンフランシスコ観光の拠点として非常に便利な位置にある。 日本人向けには、JCB等の各社海外ツアーデスクがある日航ホテルへも徒歩圏内。 おそらく大抵の日本人は過剰サービスと感じているであろうベルボーイやドアマンなどがいないのが良い。 客室では無料WiFiほか、ドライヤーや水、コーヒーメーカーなど、あると助かるものは揃っている。 建物は古く、客室も広いわけではないが、それが気にならない人であればとても良いホテル。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tokyo, Japan

立地は非常に便利

Posted Aug 21, 2016
ホテルの立地は非常に便利でした。 親子4人で泊ったのですが、4人だと荷物を拡げる場所含めてかなり狭いかと。 昔ながらのブティックホテルなので、雰囲気は出てますが、建物も大分古いので、最新のホテルを求めている人にはあまりお勧めではありません。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Geweldige ervaring

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Location: Middenin het centrum, dus voor Shopaholics perfect.
In het centrum gelegen, gerenoveerd boutiquehotel. Als uitvalsbasis uitstekend geschikt om San Francisco te beleven.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Great buzzy location but otherwise disappointing

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Location so close to Union Square.
Cons: Supply of teabags in each room, a bar fridge, and supply of a small quantity of milk to be able to make tea or coffee in the mornings.
Location: Really good location for shopping, tourist buses which leave from Union Square, and also really convenient for the cable car.
Rooms are small and really not terribly well equipped - no bar fridge, no kettle (just a coffee maker), and no TEABAGS!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2016 by Tyler L, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our location and proximity to union square. I will share the feedback about wanting team service in the rooms with our team. We hope to see you again in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Find a different hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2016
The room was ridiculously small, the bathroom was so small it was a joke, and the bed was like a roll up 4" mattress on an Ikea frame. Really awful. Staff was ok but not great. The only positive was the location. Do yourself a favor and find a different hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2016 by Tyler L., Hotel Management
Thank you for the comments on your recent stay. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our location however I apologize if the rest of your visit was less than excellent. We appreciate you taking the time to review us.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The "urban" room is misleading in all sense

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Nice staff, even if nothing was done to improve my disappointment, it did feel I am not the first who feels that way
Cons: clearly display how the urban room looks like, or even close them for guest...
Location: excellent
The "urban" room is misleading in all sense: small room, old, with a window facing a wall. It was a total disappointment from what I did saw on the website. The location is superb, so it's really too bad the room experience is that bad!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2016 by Tyler L., Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing this with us. We are pleased you found our location excellent and staff nice. I am sorry however if you were unsatisfied with your room. I will review this feedback with the team to help us improve in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tiny but nice

Posted Aug 1, 2016
A good central location but beware this part of SF is expensive. You can walk to the harvest, take the cable car or get the tram. Literally a 2 minute walk from BART so only $8.95 to get to / from the airport. So overall pricey but good location
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

I loved the style and location

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Got our booking wrong and didn't have the right room but did discount it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Our 1st Anniversary

Posted Jul 27, 2016
We were warmly welcomed and it just got better. Harvey and Ruben made our stay so much more enjoyable than we anticipated! Harvey was very accommodating and generous being that it was our 1year anniversary. Ruben, who recommended great places to eat and was extremely kind and hospitable made both my husband and I feel right at home, like family! We loved our Sleep and Soak Room, and sleep and soak we did. The room was cozy, sexy and romantic, perfect for celebrating our first year of marriage! The easy access to trolly carts and buses made our daily adventures in San Francisco a breeze. We didn't take advantage of the night life scene, but if that's your cup of tea Harvey would gladly recommend all the Hotspots! To sum it up we loved our stay at Hotel Union Square! -(the love birds in room 623)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SFO

Awesome Hotel.... Awesome Staff...

Posted Jul 20, 2016
I just relocated to San Francisco and spent my first night in the city at The Hotel Union Square. I enjoyed the hotel so much I extended my stay for a week. The hotel offers many superlatives but I was most impressed with "the staff" as they were friendly and went out of their way to assist me with everything from directions to recommending future living accommodations. I would also give high marks to the hotel's free evening wine hour and gym access. Kudos and many thanks to the staff for making my first week and stay in San Francisco a pleasant one!