Ratings based on 1,466 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hi tech experience

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Stayed at Hotel Vertigo because of location. Hotel very new, and rooms extremely high-tech - - room controls on tablet didn't all work, but it was a nice touch that you can read the NYtimes and other papers on the tablet (although when we asked about print newspapers, none of the staff told us about the tablet!). Rooms are very modern and nice sized and hotel close to shopping & easy to get around. Staff friendly & very helpful. Definitely would stay on another trip to Pasadena.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2017
When checking out, the staff will inform you after the fact about the “urban tax” they are required to charge... weird, the Marriott down the street only charges what they tell you upfront the costs will be. For a hotel to charge a fee with no advance notice is a really scummy thing to do, I would recommend staying in a chain hotel, where you won’t be hit with hidden “fee fees”
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

A hotel with character...

Posted Dec 14, 2017
Pros: Great atmosphere and staff.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Westfield shopping mall, restaurants, bars, etc. The Blackcat jazz bar is in walking distance to the hotel.
I was searching the web for an affordable hotel with character to stay at while in San Francisco for business. I came across the Vertigo. Based on the photos and previous reviews I decided to stay there for 5 nights. I was not disappointed. The hotel certainly had character and staff were very friendly. The bedroom was fantastic. In addition the hotel was centrally located to downtown San Francisco and walking distance to restaurants, shopping mall, bars, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, New York

Baroque-Surrealistic hotel with charm

Posted Dec 6, 2017
I loved this hotel, I had a pleasant stay. Rooms were quiet, the interior design was nice (a bit baroque, and a bit surrealistic). My seven year old thought the desk area and horse lamps were neat. I would recommend this hotel, and I’d stay again in the future!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Television was broken. The hotel heater did not work. Our bathroom was clogged.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON. CANADA

24 hours in SF

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: The room was clean and comfortable for our quick stay in SF.
Cons: The customer service could be improved. We asked for directions to Grant St. and the hotel staff did not know which way to direct us.
Location: We walked to Chinatown - AA Bakery, Golden Gate Bakery to look for the best egg tarts and Japantown to dine at marufuku ramen.
We only spent 24 hours in SF and stayed at Hotel Vertigo. The hotel was perfect for our short getaway. It was conveniently located since we could walk to Chinatown to look for the best egg tarts, China Live for a delicious lunch, and Japantown to dine at marufuku ramen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Hotel Vertigo - Nice Hotel for the Price

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: The front desk staff was very nice and extremely helpful.
Cons: The hotel should offer a continental breakfast at a minimum.
Hotel Vertigo was a nice hotel for the price and the length of our stay (we were there for 2 nights). The hotel was clean, the front desk staff was excellent in providing suggestions in local places to go see and eat at. The room was a bit on the small side but it was fine for the purposes we needed it for as we were out and about most of the time. The gym was very small with just 3 machines (and 1 was broken). Overall, a very good experience and we liked the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Simi Valley, CA

Great San Francisco Location

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Convenient and easy walk to great shopping, dining, Nob Hill, Union Square and Chinatown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great clean hotel in perfect location

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Cons: nope!
Location: great location!!
hotel vertigo was perfect for our needs in San Fran. Easy to get around, clean, friendly staff! I couldn't have been happier with our choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Our room had an air conditioner which was really needed the week we stayed. One the first night we got our room compted because it was a new air conditioner and there were issues. Management was very good at keeping us aware of what they were trying to do to fix it. I would definitely stay here again!