Ratings based on 1,408 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Room was very clean, good location, staff was nice, there's a nice cafe across street perfect for breakfast, good experience in general.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Average hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Short walk to Union Square. Hotels Area itself felt a little unsafe with many homeless people. Reasonably priced however compared to many other hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Great San Francisco Hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: Almost every staff member we encountered was wonderful. Our favorite was Sam. He was awesome. Always willing to help and make a recommendation.
Cons: The hotel needs valet service desperately. Street parking can be tricky and parking garages fill up quickly. Don't arrive after 10pm with a car.
Location: The location was good. Centrally located. Felt comfortable walking around with my children. However, it is a big city, still be aware of your environ.
If you are staying in San Francisco, consider Hotel Vertigo. It is not the most lavish hotel, but it does the trick. I was worried about the comments that the neighborhood was sketchy, but that was not the case at all. Once I was at the hotel, I don't know why people made those comments. My only thought is that they are not used to staying/living in a big city. The rooms are adequate. You will not feel like you are staying at the Ritz. However, the rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. I saw many in previous reviews complaining that the hotel did not have a/c. However, San Francisco stays pretty cool in the summer because of the water. At night, the temperatures drop into the 50s/60s. It is rare for there to be a heatwave. You should be fine with the no a/c. We stayed on the 5th floor and never turned our fan on. When we opened our windows, we woke up cold. The best part of this hotel is the staff. They were wonderful in assisting me and my family. I want to give a special shout to Sam. He gave the best recommendations for places to eat. For the price, you cannot beat the hotel. It is centrally located. We were able to walk to Japantown and then to Chinatown. Union Square is just steps away. It is a short cab ride to Fisherman's Wharf and the Mission District. My only complaint would be that the hotel bring back valet parking. If you have a car, it could be a pain trying to find worry-free parking. Overall, stay at Hotel Vertigo. Nice on the budget and convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2017
The hotel is really clean and very close to union square! The receptionist Sebastian was great and very kind! I totally recommend this to anybody that wants to have I pleasant stay in San Francisco!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Expérience San Francisco at The Vertigo Hotel !

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: The Vertigo has a warm feeling to it, and it's nice to get back at night after spending the day out and about. No AC, but it cools down at night.
Cons: The staff is nice, but quite discreet. One has to ask for stuff, because they don't offer or propose anything. Also, no food available in the hotel.
Spent 5 days at the hotel. Well located, close to Union Square, but not too much. This part of the city (Sutter and Leavenworth) seems more authentic, less touristy. It's also away from the homeless ghetto (Tenderloin), although they are everywhere in the city. Took the bus, metro, street cars everywhere, one can hop on any of them inches away from the hotel. Enjoyed the quirkiness of the hotel, the old and obsolete elevator, which fits very well in all this experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Nice little hotel in pretty good location. One of many in SF. Wonderful location for us because my son lives right next door!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and facilities

Posted Jul 3, 2017
We had 4 nights here. Location was great for Union Square, Restaurants and everywhere we need to go. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Funky building and lobby and the room was very clean and quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Nice hotel in downtown

Posted Jun 15, 2017
Great staff who are very kind and well informed.rooms was great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Convienent hotel in the heart of SF

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Centrally located for not a lot of money.
Cons: Rooms are poorly ventilated. Windows only open a quarter of an inch which makes for a very stuffy room.
Location: Walking distance to Polk St. and many other restaurants and bars. Union Square is also very nearby.
I always stay in this hotel when I go to SF because it's very easy to get around the city from here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

clean hotel but bad area rude car garage

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
I would never return