Ratings based on 332 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mickey from ISRAEL

Great Hotel, close to the beach, very nice stuff.

Posted Jun 18, 2013
Really enjoyed. after long week in San Jose the Vitale was good place to finish a working week.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from San Francisco, CA, USA

A very pleasant stay in SF.

Posted Oct 9, 2012
My stay was a very pleasant one; the room was excellent, the service very good, & the hotel itself was quite modern.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mrpushrod from San Francisco, CA, USA

Excellant

Posted Aug 1, 2012
Pros: Linens, cleanliness and condition
Absolutely immaculate and attention to every detail. They even called to make sure the room was ok after we checked in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jay from Denver, CO

As expected of Vitale

Posted Jul 24, 2012
Pros: view and close to public transit. Shampoo and soaps were one of the best I have ever used during a hotel stay.
Cons: dull decor and lighting in the welcome area, which least matters with your stay
Location: great!
Everything as expected of a 4 star hotel. Best things is the location, in close proximity to excellent restaurants, public transportation and not a mention the view of the bay bridge. I got what I paid for in the heart of SF bay area. Make sure you get a room with a view of sea and/or bridge. The other side has only buildings. The hotel has terrace, spa, gym and restaurant. This is not a B&B so no microwave in the room. I recommend for anyone who would like to stay in the heart of downtown. Excellent quality of toilet and bathroom supplies.
4 out of 5
by Jimmy from Orange County, CA

Sweet short Escape :)

Posted Jun 6, 2012
Pros: Location and cleanliness.
Cons: Nothing really :)
Location: OUTSTANDING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Got a great deal through Expedia booking and was placed in a corner room with many windows...great view looking at bay.....hotel very very clean and great service. Recommend highly...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jenn from Billings, Mt, USA

Great Hotel!

Posted May 21, 2012
We were running all day so I can only review on the room and none of the resturaunts or other amenities of this hotel. The rooms are beautiful, clean and VERY comfortable. Staff was very friendly and quick.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Melisa from Austin, TX

Great location

Posted Mar 18, 2012
Pros: Comfort and location
Cons: Nothing really
Location: Excellent!
Excellent location! Loved the access to all the shops at the Ferry Terminal and restaurants. Staff was so helpful and nice. Amazing place, will definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeremy from Newcastle Upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK

Luxury feel without the stuffiness.

Posted Jan 4, 2012
Great location. Close enough to get to the usual tourist attractions without any issue, yet away from the noise of Union Square and Fisherman's Wharf. Don't worry there are plenty of bar and restaurant options nearby including the fantastic Ferrymarket Building. If you like good food this is really is a breath of fresh air. Hotel is not at all cold and the small scale certainly lends to a more personal touch; this was evident throughout our week stay. Nice touches included chocs and weather updates left each day and NY party favours and some energy drink to nurse the obligatory hangover. Concierge was always willing to help and his knowledge and opinion did not disappoint. The house bar was very comfy and the measures were certainly generous. The incumbent Americano restaurant has good reviews but we just never got round to trying this one. There are just too many options to choose from. Room quality was excellent. Great bed and wonderful shower; not forgetting the Fresh toiletries. Go for the waterfront view if you can its well worth it! The view of the Ferrymarket Building and The Bay Bridge was a great wake up vista. My regret is not trying the spa; again ran out of time and secondly not bringing my running gear. Its a great city for it and you will see plenty of regular folk working up a sweat. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Fabulous Hotel

Posted Nov 30, 2011
Great hotel. The staff was wonderful and helpful (especially the concierge) the room is lovely, the bed one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. I had a wonderful partial view of the bay bridge. The location was great, across the street from the Ferry Market Building with its wonderful shops and restaurants (we had breakfast in a different place every day) Don't miss the Farmer's Market on Sat. And if you can, try their spa, it's wonderful..This is my hotel in SF from now on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Perfection!!!

Posted Nov 28, 2011
I can't say enough about this hotel!!! The location is great because you have easy access to everything San Francisco, without having to deal with the high "touristy" areas every night. There are street cars that run right next to hotel which can bring you directly to either Fisherman's Wharf, or the Mission District. The cable cars start 1 block away. The Ferry Building is directly across the street, which you can easily get to Sausalito and Vallejo (which is what we did to get to Napa). The hotel staff was extremely courteous and ALWAYS helpful. The conceirges seemed to go out of their way to get even the simplest request for information quickly and accurately. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable (I would highly recommend spending the extra $$$ for the Superior Waterfront View because the view of the Bay and the Bay Bridge is incredible any time of the day, during any weather). I have never written an online recommendation before, but I am so glad to do so now!!!