Ratings based on 7,335 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Staff

Posted Feb 16, 2016
Pros: Great location, restaurant and a Starbucks in the lobby.
The manager of the hotel Mr. Ahmed was wonderful. Greeted us daily and asked about our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay and our staff worked very hard to provide an excellent service and it is nice to hear about it when we did a good job. We look forward in welcoming you again at the Hotel Whitcomb.
5 out of 5
by Corey's home away from home from San Francisco Ca

5star hotel

Posted Feb 15, 2016 on Hotels
great loved it
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your recent review. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us. We strive our best to give the best possible service and it is great to hear an excellent feedback from you. We are looking forward for the opportunity to be of service to you again.
1 out of 5
by Ryan from san jose

bad hotel

Posted Feb 15, 2016 on Hotels
Room was old and dirty. Extremely small. I was very gross and we didnt end up even staying the night. On top of all that they over charged us and wont correct it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know about your recent experience at the Hotel Whitcomb. I apologize if our service did not meet your expectations and appreciate you taking time to share your concerns. Sincerely, Hotel Manager
2 out of 5
by Sasha

Posted Feb 14, 2016 on Hotels
Wifi was terrible, the front desk clerk was rude that morning of checking out. Overall a 2 out of 5 for that stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Our goal is to provide an exemplary level of customer service. Base on the feedback you provided we did not meet our goal. We take all feedback seriously and are working with our team to provide satisfactory customer service.
2 out of 5
by Blanca

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 14, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Jaskaran from Sacramento

Never going back to whitcomb

Posted Feb 14, 2016 on Hotels
Horrible hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know about your recent experience at the Hotel Whitcomb. We apologize if our service did not meet your expectations and appreciate you taking time to share your concerns. Sincerely, Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel near the Bill Graham Civiv Center

Posted Feb 13, 2016
I booked this hotel because it was only a 5 minute walk to my event at the Bill Graham Civic Center. Easy check in & very friendly staff! Excellent room and comfy bed! Will definitely recommend to anyone staying in the city !
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your recent review. We are please to know that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us. We strive our best to give the possible service to our guest and it is great to hear an excellent feedback from you. We are looking forward for the opportunity to be of service to you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What a night at the Whitcomb

Posted Feb 13, 2016
This was a classy hotel I would totally recommend it to anyone I know. The room was big as was the bathroom and the closet. The only negative thing I could say about the hotel was the service was slow. But that is ok when everything else was great. Friendly staff!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review. We are glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay. Our staff works very hard to provide excellent service and it is nice to hear about it when we did a good job. We look forward in welcoming you again at the Hotel Whitcomb.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, AU

Decent accommodation in Mission District

Posted Feb 12, 2016 on Wotif
Great location, clean and tidy room, not very big but sufficient for a couple of nights stay. The only annoying thing was the noisy air conditioning unit, which looked and sounded like something from the eighties. Other than that, a clear recommendation from me!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

More Hostel then Hotel.

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Pros: Nothing at all.
Cons: See above :)
Location: It is fairly central but i'd be wary of walking to far in some directions at night. Not the fault of the hotel but downtown SF is pretty risky.
Not in a great part of town. Although it's on Market street it's at the very rough end at the top of the Mission district. The hotel seems to trade on it's heritage, and by that I mean it's stuck in the 1940's decor-wise. As other reviewers have commented, it's very dark, oppressively so. I didn't use the restaurant, couldn't wait to get out of the place, to be honest. The room itself was very basic, the heating system (not sure it had A/C, maybe just an evaporator) was at least 30 years old and made a terrible racket when turned on but nothing like as loud as the extractor fan in the toilet. The other guests were extremely loud, it sounded as though they were playing soccer in the hallway at night and frequently shouted to each other through the open doors of their rooms. As per the title of the review, it felt like a hostel rather then a hotel. I did have a laugh at the note in the room, "what one thing we could do to make your stay more enjoyable", uh, tear the place down?