Ratings based on 6,196 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 22, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Kathleen from San Jose

Great stay at Hotel Whitcomb for SF Salsa Festival

Posted Feb 22, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed just one night during the SF Salsa Rueda Festival which is run at the hotel. I asked for as quiet a room as possible, given that a dance festival was going on. They gave me room 532. It was quiet, it was clean, the WIFI worked great, the bed was very comfortable. I also got a discount price from hotels.com. Great experience all around. Would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Aimee

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 22, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kathleen R. from Yolo

Recommend this hotel

Posted Feb 22, 2015 on Hotels
The staff were amazing and very helpful. I've stayed here before and was happy to stay again. Neighborhood a little sketchy at night but I'm in for the night anyway. Wouldn't recommend walking around outside at night but taxi or uber ok. Daytime is ok.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Susan from new york

great hotel. no complaints

Posted Feb 22, 2015 on Hotels
Good hotel. Was a little worried based on other reviews but hotel is great for the money: clean comfortable room. No complaints. Its not a brand new Midwestern hotel built last week. But its great condition for a historic building. Staff were helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TM

Bad Hotel, Is not what you expect

Posted Feb 22, 2015
The staff is very bad, they seem that don't care about your stay and they are not interested in making you feel good at the hotel. They are not kind and a little rude. The worst thing of all is that you have to pay almost $40 per night for the parking lot. With that money you can go and look for a better hotel with parking lot included in the same area or better. What kind of hotel doesn't include the parking lot as part of the rate for you stay?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Neat Hotel at a Great Price

Posted Feb 22, 2015
As others have noted, the Hotel Whitcomb is in the old City Hall building. The lobby is very elaborate and the restaurant is nice. There is a Starbucks connected. Upstairs, the hallways are cavernous and dark. The rooms are simple, clean, and decent. The staff was friendly and courteous; the manager called and offered me breakfast on the house, simply because I gave my check-in experience good marks on Expedia. It is located on Market Street near the new City Hall building--I had a great view of the dome from my window--which is a major thoroughfare in San Francisco with readily available transportation. The BART station is literally right out front the hotel. You can be at the Moscone Center in 1 stop or the Embarcadero in two. Walking two blocks orthogonal to Market Street will put you in a pretty ghetto place though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Amit from CA

No wifi

Posted Feb 21, 2015 on Hotels
The wifi doesn't work. They claim there is a signal but it's low. However, I was never able to use it in any productive way.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This is not a 3 star hotel. Room is substandart.

Posted Feb 21, 2015
This is not a 3 star hotel. Room is substandart. Very small. Showers terrible
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Hotel is decent, rooms are cramped, nothing special.