Ratings based on 2,790 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Great location for walking to theaters, opera and shopping... good restaurant on-site!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by Irmarie Berdecia, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our restaurant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

The hotel is located very close to everything

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Overall the hotel is close to all the stores and everything but the hotel did not meet my expectations the room was very cold, it didn't have a fridge, the bathroom was so bad the water pressure from the shower was terrible water was barely coming out I almost thought they had cut the water from the hotel. The hotel doesn't offer free water or room service they have a room with a vending machine... staff was pretty nice and helpful so that made our stay a little better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2017 by Irmarie Berdecia, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback. We do offer refrigerators upon request. We do have a restaurant as well as a bar on site that offers a wonderful menu. I do apologize for the inconveniences you encountered. I will advise our maintenance staff right away.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: I can't think of any.
Cons: I'd suggest tear it down and build a new one. Or maybe change the staff running it.
Location: It's located in an area described as "very dangerous" by the cops nearby. You can find plenty of homeless people and enjoy their begging and cursing.
Valet parking staff was very rude. He basically tells me to unload now or back out immediately. I was considering using valet parking, but he told me during the new year weekend, it will be impossible to retrieve the car. When I asked for other parking options, he told me there are plenty around, which is not helpful. I'm sure there are plenty other job opportunities as well, and he should go find another one. (sarcasm) The room has TV but the hotel doesn't have any HDMI cable I can borrow. Neither do they have microwave ovens. The reception desk staff always look like I'm being annoying just standing there in front of him, or he simply hates everyone. The room carpet is quite filthy. I can find peanuts or other unidentifiable rubbish all around the room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017
I stayed here a couple years ago with my husband and had an amazing experience so this time around, I booked the place with my girlfriends. When we arrived, the front desk was rude to everyone. When we got to our room, there were fruit flies flying inside the room. The room smelled kind of muggy and overall the room was dusty. The bed made squeaky sounds. When we called to check out, the front desk put us on hold and then told us to call back in 20mins because she was the only one working. Definitely would not recommend and will not be staying here anymore.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from orange county

Paid for a stay that I didn't even make it to

Posted Jan 9, 2017
I will never be using Expedia services nor be booking a stay at this hotel ever again. Due to weather, emergency situation I had to cancel my reservation... I expected to pay a deposit if anything, I ended paying the whole price of stay and I wasn't even there... The hotel nor Expedia was able to offer me anything else, like changing my dates or some kind of credit they just took my money and I am "valued customer"... really disappointed and won't ever be using this service again... all customers beware
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brentwood, ca

Hotel for attending wedding

Posted Jan 8, 2017
I loved it, great location, great price, facilities were good, service allowed us to get the entire wedding party on one floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by Irmarie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Location: Very good location for transportation and access to city cernter.
At 3rd day of my staying, a guard of the hotel asked me to show my room key card to identify mr. Usually staffs are expected to recognize guest after check in, but the guard couldn't recognize guest even on 3rd day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by Irmarie, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback. We apologize for the miscommunication you encountered. I will speak with our guards directly to ensure each guest feels welcome. We work hard in making our guests happy!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good people

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Cons: Took awhile for hot water to shower. Did not want to waste water.
Have stayed here twice and both times we have been very happy with the experience. Hotel is older but well kept with character. Everyone, including bell people, management, cleaning staff and security were very friendly. We were close to shopping and restaurants. Starbucks just off the lobby. Took time to walk a few miles to civic center area and Union Square. We will stay again!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Springs

Don't you want two beds?

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Location is central for transit, and low cost. Hotel is elegantly old but room seems dated. Check in was awkward as desk clerk kept asking my gay partner and I twice if we wanted separate beds. We had booked One bed. Also, desk clerk didn't code room key accurately, with us being shut out the middle of our stay. Loud construction next door going on started at 5:30 am.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Great value for the price

Posted Dec 31, 2016
I was really worried to stay there after reading some of the reviews but since I paid already and the room was non refundable I decided to take my chances. And u m so glad I did. The hotel is beautiful and very charming, yes it's a little outdated but for the price you pay it a great find. It's clean and the people are very nice. Some of the reviews stated that it's in a shady area because there are homeless around so I was picturing some dark scary small street - nothing like that! It's right on market! Yes there are homeless people but I mean it's SF what else do people expect?! I would definitely stay again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2017 by Irmarie Berdecia, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to seeing you again soon!