Ratings based on 6,205 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel near the Bill Graham Civiv Center

Posted Feb 13, 2016
I booked this hotel because it was only a 5 minute walk to my event at the Bill Graham Civic Center. Easy check in & very friendly staff! Excellent room and comfy bed! Will definitely recommend to anyone staying in the city !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What a night at the Whitcomb

Posted Feb 13, 2016
This was a classy hotel I would totally recommend it to anyone I know. The room was big as was the bathroom and the closet. The only negative thing I could say about the hotel was the service was slow. But that is ok when everything else was great. Friendly staff!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

More Hostel then Hotel.

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Pros: Nothing at all.
Cons: See above :)
Location: It is fairly central but i'd be wary of walking to far in some directions at night. Not the fault of the hotel but downtown SF is pretty risky.
Not in a great part of town. Although it's on Market street it's at the very rough end at the top of the Mission district. The hotel seems to trade on it's heritage, and by that I mean it's stuck in the 1940's decor-wise. As other reviewers have commented, it's very dark, oppressively so. I didn't use the restaurant, couldn't wait to get out of the place, to be honest. The room itself was very basic, the heating system (not sure it had A/C, maybe just an evaporator) was at least 30 years old and made a terrible racket when turned on but nothing like as loud as the extractor fan in the toilet. The other guests were extremely loud, it sounded as though they were playing soccer in the hallway at night and frequently shouted to each other through the open doors of their rooms. As per the title of the review, it felt like a hostel rather then a hotel. I did have a laugh at the note in the room, "what one thing we could do to make your stay more enjoyable", uh, tear the place down?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C.

Clean hotel by shopping

Posted Feb 10, 2016
The hotel itself is very old but that's because it's been around forever, very clean regardless of age showing. Valet was quick, check in was fast as well, check out was a little slow but that was fine. I have to say this place was fine but my only complaints are that parking ended up being $43 dollars. So you think you're paying less for the hotel but calculate that, plus the room tax and you're paying easily 65 dollars more a night. The bed was not comfortable, and the toilet was on a pedestal which was weird but again, that's part of the charm of the building I suppose. I was fine with my stay and it was quiet but I won't be back unless I have no other option. Staff was fine, hotel was fine, just not worth the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver Broncos

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Right off the BART Civic center stop. Close walking to Civic Center and Union Square. Taxi's were the best option. The hotel itself was fun, historic, and beautiful in an old, charming way. It is far from new, but we enjoyed the hotel BECAUSE of that. It is right off Market and the street was pretty dirty and has a lot of people sleeping on the sidewalks around this area. The hotel was great but the surrounding area outside was intense at times. Starbucks was attached, Sam's diner across the street was delish and there's a bar in the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 11, 2016 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review. we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We look forward in welcoming you again at the Hotel Whitcomb.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old hotel

Posted Feb 6, 2016
An old hotel that is not being up kept very well. The room was small, it had a window but an air conditioner sat in it and was sealed to the window via packing and duct tape. There is a desk with a newer chair that doesn't fit into the older desk so one can't quite walk around the bed. The first night I had a neighbor that liked the tv loud and watched late into the night beginning again early in the morning. The second night it was the sound of trucks backing up all night from behind the building - either the trucks were dumping something or something was being dumped into the trucks. Something loud, like recycling. The bed was comfortable and the staff was as helpful as they could be with limited resources.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

Choose a different hotel

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Rooms
Location: Nothing bums hangout ..kinda scared
Old air conditional ..old rooms ....bums hangout ...Resturant cummy and expensive ...far away from anything ..kinda a dangerous area ...parking a joke for price ...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I checked in and out within 20 minutes.

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Pros: Dated, dirty, and disgusting!
Cons: Major renovations and soap/water.
I did not stay long enough to have an experience beyond my initial disgust.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, California

Historic hotel

Posted Feb 2, 2016
I was having my bathroom remodeled and the management company put me up in the hotel for seven nights while they completed the work. Hotel Whitcomb is a nice historic hotel. No room service. Not in a great part of the city. Great access to public transportation. Walls are very thin. Room was large for San Francisco standards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Nice Place with lots to do. Very convenient to shopping. Did not like there was no coffee maker or refrigerator in my room. Would stay again. Not a fan of this making me write a book.