Ratings based on 7,436 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bay area

Great location

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Central location, decent price, decent rooms, fun historic feel
Cons: A continental breakfast would've been great (we brought Starbucks back up from the one off the lobby), and the mattress could've been a little softer
Location: It's very near the theater district and a BART/MUNI station, so anything on Market Street and you could also get to the Mission or AT&T Park easily
I was staying the night in the city after attending a Giants game, and this hotel was perfect. It's steps from the Civic Center BART/MUNI station entrance, so traveling to and from the game was very easy, and the price/quality of the hotel was just what I wanted; far nicer than an average motel without getting into expensive luxury hotel range. It's an old hotel with a classic feeling, including a beautiful lobby, and the rooms were decent size and good quality.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NorCal

Bursting my bubble with needles

Posted Apr 25, 2017
I usually travel super cheap, but decided for my visit to San Francisco I would splurge on a nicer room at a nicer hotel. This was a recommended hotel. Upon arrival the building blocked out our cell phone service and it's own wifi was seemingly on the fritz. The morning was rough for me at 8am the maid began continuously knocking on my door for a good 3 minutes before I got up. I forgot the do not disturb but still, 8am is pretty early. Awake now, the only coffee available seems to be the 30 minute star bucks line. I get my coffee and I head to the street for a smoke. Numerous homeless have camped out here, but that is fine despite one man pouring his coffee on me and having to bum out a few smokes, but one man comes up to me and starts yelling madly and says he is going to snap my neck. It's early and I back towards the entrance to the hotel and the security guard comes out and yells at me for smoking near the entrance. Nothing like being hit from all sides, I go upstairs to pick up my room and leave, this country girl is done with the city. As I pick up of course behind the bed are some heroine needles. I have never written a bad review before but honestly I am a single mom who wanted a nice night out in the city and Hotel Whitcomb def. burst my little dream bubble. Se la vie, I suppose.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Price was good and mostly fair for what I got. I think the furniture, particularly the bed, is due or an upgrade. Wasn't the most comfortable night of sleep I have ever had. Staff was professional, hotel was clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Beautiful historic building

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: I would highly recommend this hotel. The staff were very helpful for anything that we needed, the hotel was quiet and clean and the showers were amaz
Cons: If you could get flatter pillows that would be great. You get lots of pillows but they were all really thick. I just rolled up a blanket instead.
Location: It was a conveniently located near City Hall and the Theatre if you are interested in that.
This hotel was beautiful and it was a good location to catch the BART to and from the Airport. The hotel is located in an area where you will see some homeless people but pretty much all of SF is like that so please do not let that deter you from checking out this beautiful building. It is also very close to City Hall/Civic Centre which is a stop for our Hop on/Hop off Tour Bus Company with City Sightseeing Tours which made things very convenient. The "Local Diner" located across the street and a couple of doors down from Sam's Diner was absolutely amazing. The place is not fancy at all but the staff was extremely friendly and the food was delicious and fast service. We ate there for the rest of the week!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2017
The stay wasn't bad.. Just the parking very rude staff
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't stay here

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: completely new management
We were on the second floor, immediately underneath us was a Mezzanine level where a wedding was taking place. At 7:30pm I called the front desk and asked to be move because of the loud music and the pot smoke streaming into our room. I was told they were booked and couldn't move us but that the music would stop 'soon', I asked how soon and the front desk person said that by law they had to stop at 10pm. I called again at 10:15 and told them they if they didn't stop in 5 mins I would call the cops. I did call the cops at 10:20, and at 10:30 pm we began the process of moving out of the hotel. The hotel manager Denis told Expedia that there is no way that we could have heard the music on the second floor. So not only was it really poor customer service, and unlawful operations, but the manager was a liar (a very poor one). So if you go to this hotel, know that you are dealing with liars, and you will be paying to *not* get any sleep.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2017
lobby was darker than what was portrayed in the pictures on line & could have been cleaner but the central location was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grand Hotel of the early 20th Century

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: interior architechure
Location: In centre of the town - easy walk to Cablecars to China town to Union Sq and City Hall is a block away
We enjoyed our stay. The interior architechure of the hotel is stunning. Staff very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Historic splendor in Historic San Francisco

Posted Apr 23, 2017
The staff could not be more pleasant and Our accommodations were perfect and It is centrally located and We would definately return
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quirky Historic Hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Location: Theaters, Union Square, Civic Center, Asian Art museums
We have stayed at the Whicomb a couple of times and it is a great value if you want to stay in downtown San Francisco. The rooms are quirky and sometimes oddly shaped, and small, but comfortable, reasonably clean and safe. We love the easy valet parking, beautiful historic features, good restaurant and coffee shop in the lobby.