Ratings based on 6,711 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cape Coral

Beautiful old hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: Character
Cons: Speed of elevators
Location: Not a great area
We very much enjoyed our stay. The staff was friendly and the hotel was beautiful
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel is nice inside, neighborhood not so much

Posted Jul 28, 2016
I would not recommend this hotel to families mainly because of the area outside of the hotel. A lot of homeless people, some very vocal. The hotel inside is beautiful though, very historic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2016 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valued opion. Kevin V
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty

Posted Jul 26, 2016
No space. Bathroom was dirty. Uncomfortable beds. I wouldn't recommend it. I would not stay there ever again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Parking is just ridiculous, and u pay alot for it. Very expensive over $300 a night is what we paid and got a tiny room. Worked out fine but wouldn't go here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel whitcomb

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Only two of the four elevators worked had to wait 5 to 10 minutes to board an elevator
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only two elevators were working and were very slow

Posted Jul 25, 2016
They never mention you have to pay a flat valet parking fee. It would be nice if this was disclosed at time of reservation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, historical hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Room was very small. Only 2 of 4 elevators were working. Parking was expensive.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

It's an old place.....

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Location was convenient.
Cons: Elevators hardly worked the entire week we were there.
Location: Location was good....but bring ear plugs if you need a good nights rest!
Rooms were extremely small. If you ask for a handicap room, which they gave us at same rate, it works out much better. When you look on line the rooms are old, mattresses may be new but you cannot turn around in the bathrooms. Interesting atmosphere inside the hotel lobby....ate in the bar restaurant off lobby and will admit the food was very good. Try Sam's Diner across the street for best breakfast/brunch around! Good location in the town, but noisy at night. Once done, no return!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and right near Bill Graham for shows

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Great time and loved the proximity to BG Civic Center, cool new bars and the Twitter building
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Juan, PR

Historic hotel, poorly maintained!

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: The old architecture
Cons: Size of rooms and bathrooms, shower water temp, noise reduction windows, elevators, more towels, new carpets and drapes.
Location: The Market in the Twitter building, Basil Thai Restaurant nearby.
Location is not great except for the nearby new Twitter building where you have a convenient market. Overall, the building needs serious remodeling. It was depressing at times. The size of the rooms and especially the bathroom was ridiculously small. The shower was horrible. The water temperature kept shifting from either burning hot to ice cold. At night, it was very noisy. Out of four elevators, only two were working, and they were always full. Only two bath sized towels per room. Cleanliness was also an issue. Although, the sheets and towels were clean, the carpets and drapes looked very dusty.