Ratings based on 1,820 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orange county, CA

Great location

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Great location where you can walk to Convention center, Union Square and all shopping places. Trader Joe is next to the hotel and very convenient for family travelers as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Better than average swanky

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Staff was friendly and helpful with exception of initial front desk person upon check-in. Must have not fit the normal stereotype of guests they are accustomed to, whatever that is. Swanky and contemporary hotel right in middle of downtown with accessibility to everything you could want or need. Trader Joe's is beneath the hotel in the retail space so that was a plus. However there was no mini fridge in the room to keep any food stuffs for extended period of time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

City Treat

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: location, location, location! staff were also extremely friendly
Cons: our room was right next to where the housekeeping were stationed...made for a loud morning
great place for a short stay with lots of sight seeing, drinks on the rooftop bar, and short walking to shopping!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Near SOMA are of SF

Posted Mar 2, 2017
It's good but I would probably try another place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles,CA

Near downtown

Posted Feb 21, 2017
I could enjoy a comfortable place and It's good design hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2017
The pictures and prices does not match its reality. The beds were smaller and squeaky. The pillows were sooooo soft that I had a hard time sleeping on it. The shower curtains had a smell and honestly, nothing impresses me except for its location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Nice location, disappointed in service

Posted Feb 3, 2017
I used to stay at this hotel when it was a Kimpton. Every year I visit for seven to nine days for business. This year was my first stay after it turned into Hotel Zelos and I definitely noticed a difference in service. The staff is friendly but not very attentive. The restaurant food is good but a very small menu which can be tiresome if you stay for several days. The kitchen is not open all day. While I understand conserving water, my room wasn't really cleaned. Items in the bathroom were maybe rearranged but the tub was definitely not rinsed even though I would reuse my towels a few times, when I would ball them up for laundry, they ended up hanging on the rack again. Overall the hotel is decent, especially if you are only staying for a couple nights. The location is great. But it is a sad departure from when it was under the kimpton group.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Front desk staff was very sympathetic and helpful when I thought I had lost my purse.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Better than average hotel in excellent location

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Location, cleanliness, spacious room
Location: Excellent Union Square-adjacent location. Many restaurants, museums, activities very close. Bart station was right there, easy to/from airport.
Wonderful long wknd in SF. Great food, sights, culture.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from TYO

Nice locaton to stay in SF

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Location, Hotel Staff.
Cons: Availability to ask for early check in and selection of room having city view or not.
Location: In the center of the city, therefore convenient for shopping, tourism or meetings. It is just near by Moscone Center.
Nice location hotel in SF and the room is clean and nice overall. Busy hotel. I was expecting to do early check in, but it was not possible. One of hotel I may utilize in SF from now on as well.