Ratings based on 1,870 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SG

Great location

Posted Jun 19, 2017
Pros: Located in the city centre, next to mall and train station. Easy to get around.
Location: Westfield mall is just next to the hotel. Great if you love shopping.
Close by to everything. You can walk to the Ferry building which takes about 10-15mins.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location!

Posted May 1, 2017
Large room. Very clean. Convenient to the BART. Would recommend!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Don't stay at the Hotel Zelos, book somewhere else

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: New management
Location: Kind of scuzzy neighborhood wit lots of homeless people sleeping on the streets at night and aggressively panhandling during the day.
I made the reservation at the Hotel Zelos on Expedia a month before our visit. When we checked in, the front desk person said I would have $100 per day "hold" placed on my credit card for every day we stayed there. This would have been a $600 hold placed on my credit card for our stay and they said it was for meal charges or minibar use - "just in case". This was not in the terms of the Expedia agreement that I showed them. I finally asked to talk to the manager who told me that it was common practice at all the hotels, and he would do me a favor by only placing a $100 hold on my credit card. While I was attempting to check in at the Hotel Zelos there were two other couples complaining about extra charges on their bills as they were checking out - not a good situation. Besides the front desk staff being unfriendly and rude, the situation smelled like some kind of scam, so we walked across the street to the Marriott Marquis, checked into a wonderful room for almost $200 cheaper than The Hotel Zelos for our 6 night stay. Besides that, there was no "hold" on my credit card, the hotel staff was fabulous and we had a great room. The Marriott Marquis in San Francisco was outstanding and a completely different experience than Hotel Zelos. We have stayed at the Hotel Zelos on multiple occasions in the past, but we will NEVER stay there again. Stay away!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gold Country

best hotel I have stayed at in SF to date

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: Staff, Bed, room size
Cons: Parking Fee
Location: No Idea, do not like the city very much, just go for appointments
Include the palace, hyatt, and hotel something ar rather. This room was nice and big, great bed, good shower, tv worked, staff was really great. Parking garage is nicer than my house. 200 bucks on expedia, not bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Nice hotel, very good location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF, CA

Not recommended for any family

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Mandatory valet parking. Room that we booked was not available. Not a good experience for my family
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spokane, Wash.

Small Boutique hotel in excellent location

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: I loved the hotel location and the size of our room was just right for two of us sharing a room. The front desk staff were helpful and knowledgeable.
Cons: If I had a complaint it would be that there is no ventilation in the bathroom. At least in our room 820.
Location: The Museum of Modern Art and and Jewish Museum are close . You can't beat the shopping and restaurants in a 6 block radius.
There's a lot to like about the Zelos Hotel. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The location near museums,great shopping and transportation can't be beat. We arrived quite early in the morning and because of health issues we asked and received an early check in . The front desk staff ( Justin ) are friendly, accommodating,and very knowledgeable. The work out room was small but very efficient with equipment that looked brand new. Coffee in the lobby in the morning was nice. I also appreciated the robes in the rooms. Our room on the 8 th floor was very quiet. I would stay here again and recommend to friends wanting to visit San Francisco. Bag the car-- walk, use convenient public transportation or Lyft or Uber when needing a ride.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Long Beach

Close to everything downtown. You will sleep well.

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: Accommodations and location
Cons: Roll parking into the cost of the hotel. Give a discount for the Dirty Habit - even if it's just one free drink. Get chromecasts for the TV
Location: Make sure to stop in at the Dirty Habit on the 5th floor - it's really good (but pretty pricey). The Hawthorne around the corner is great for HH
Make sure to account for parking - around 50 dollar a night is typical for this area. Hotel concierge is very helpful - will steer you in the right direction. Enjoy
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

refund policy is draconian.

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: nothing.
Cons: communication.
Location: actually get to enjoy your trip, instead of being charged for it without getting to take it.
had to cancel trip beforehand and was charged for the room, even though i tried to cancel two days beforehand. management suggested if i "know someone in the area, they can take the room," this was not helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orange county, CA

Great location

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Great location where you can walk to Convention center, Union Square and all shopping places. Trader Joe is next to the hotel and very convenient for family travelers as well.