Ratings based on 543 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburg

Nice, affordable and very convenient hotel.

Posted Jun 25, 2017
I like this hotel because its close to everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet night

Posted May 26, 2017
Older motel that has had updating. Room needed a little touch up paint to be in best condition. Surprisingly quiet for urban location and large number of construction workers there. Had a good and comfortable night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Andres Reyes, Hotel Management
Dear Guest : we appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we doing and we are working on the things you have mentioned. thank you very much for writing a review
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirtiest place I've stayed.

Posted May 11, 2017
Don't go there, your health could be at risk. I have a photo of the floor filth that would make you sick.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Washington

Close to Freeways/Hiways

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: Cleaning staff very efficient. Shower nice, not one of those water conservative heads that rip you to pieces. Bed and pillows were perfect.
Cons: I think it was dish television which only a users of dish can love. Foil packaged cream cheese were stabbed into ice leaving top melted. Lay it Flat.
Location: 92 and 101 literally minutes away to get to your destination fast in the Bay Area.
Check-in a breeze, internet access and speed fast. The Starch breakfast could be better. Didn't get the molded bread like another patron review did. Fruit could use a little variety (small red apples and ripe black yellow bananas). Orange juice good, Milk good.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by Andres Reyes, Hotel Management
thank you very much for taking the time to let us know how we doing, we appreciate your feedback and we are working on delivering a better service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MB Canada

good value for area if you just need an overnight

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Good place for an overnight.
Cons: The beds and sheets a little tired.
Beds could be upgraded. Staff friendly. Breakfast ok.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by Andres Reyes, Hotel Management
Dear guest thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your experience here at Howard Johnson San Mateo and we are also working on your suggestions we really want to deliver the best service
4 out of 5
by anthony Lori

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belmont ca

Peaceful. And close to shopping

Posted Mar 23, 2017
I would have given a higher rating until breakfast the English muffins AND the bagels had mold all over them and that really spoiled my meal and make me lose my appetite. I can't really complain too much since it was free but definitely inspect before eating if you stay there. Other than that I would have given a higher rating since it was beautiful comfortable and quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by Andres Reyes, Hotel Management
Dear guest : thank you very much for your feedback and for letting us know about our services we ensure you that we are working and supervising this never happen again, we apologize and hope you can be back soon
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
Staffs are nice. Facilities are ok but heating makes a huge noise, so when I had another customer next door I couldn't sleep because of the heating sound coming and going. Pool is not heated so I couldn't use it in early march. The room was in good condition and had a nice wifi and TV. Hillsdale shopping center is nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017
Dear Guest : we really appreciate your business and also your feed back . thank you for pointing the things we need to work on it so we can make sure this is taken care of and provide you with the best service. sincerely : Howard Johnson San Mateo CA
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

San Mateo

Posted Mar 11, 2017 on Hotels
Bugs in the bathroom
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017
Dear guest ; We are very sorry about your bad experience , we are working with a pest control company to make sure that never happen again, we really appreciate your feedback and taking the time to let us know how we doing
3 out of 5
by Christopher

Last minute

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
In a pinch last minute room within walking distance to event center. Simple no frills but nice staff - reasonable free continental breakfast. The area a little run down but the Chinese restaurants are very local and good
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017
Dear guest : thank you for your feedback and for sharing your experience here at the Howard Johnson San Mateo CA we really appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we doing.