Ratings based on 488 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just a room

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Price.
Cons: Needs a complete renovation.
Location: Easy to get to.
Outdated facility. Room chair casters were shot and would not spin or roll on the Pergo floor. Pergo floor planks moved (not well glued) freely. Shower was large - that was nice. Non-smoking room still smelled like smoke.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Nice , comfortable & clean . Breakfast was good too with lots of food. Close to Sf. We had a quick check in and check out as well. Will definitely go back and stay there when i go back to San francisco. Parking is plenty.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2016
The place was really crappy and I didn't like it. You get what you paid for.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel rude employee

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Overall was a good stay just at checkin the guy was a little rude like I was a bother but the guy at checkout was very much nicer
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice Renovations

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: It was quiet and clean.
Location: It is easy to miss, you have to be on the lookout for the property.
This hotel seemed to be recently renovated. We stayed in room 29 and everything was wonderful. The bathroom was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The parking lot was really small and a little difficult to maneuver, but it was manageable. We arrived at 9:30 p.m. We had not eaten, but the front desk gave us a menu for an Italian place that delivers. The food was excellent and arrived very quickly. The breakfast the next morning was pastries and fruit, and the coffee was very good. We had no issues with this hotel for a one night stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shanghai

Conveniently located near highway-92.

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Though the hotel bears Howard Johnson name, the Express brand has reduced quality to motel like but priced higher than motels. It's close to SFO but there are many better choices near the airport.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

we stayed in san mateo before

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Pros: It was close to half moon bay
Cons: It really needs to be upgraded
Location: The location is not good, it is too close to the freeway and business area.
We stayed at a hotel in san mateo near the hotel before and we thought that was the one we were staying in. This hotel is near the freeway and very load. It is not clean at all. The hotel staff was very nice. It seemed more like a motel six. The price was not a motel six price . It was close to the beach.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County

Had a nice recent remodeled room. Good value for $

Posted Jun 5, 2016
Pros: recent remodeled
Cons: No
Location: Close to everything
Stopped for an overnight stay on our way to SF. Nice room
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

Second time, not the charm.

Posted May 29, 2016
We've stayed here 3 years ago. So much has changed. Terrible condition and uncomfortable beds. We were moved twice because the first rooms had bloody toothpaste leftovers in the sink and lightbulbs were out.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: eveerything that a hotel is
hotel is a hole in the wall location not easy to get into or out of