Ratings based on 2,590 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good hotels hideous decor

Posted May 2, 2016
I like the Hyatt chain except the decor is so hideous I can barely stand to go in there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Location - Wasted Space

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Make use of the large empty areas with great views - add couches and chairs so people can sit and enjoy the views. Rearrange and add sofas to rooms.
Location: Lots of transportation and access to rest of the city. Get to Golden Gate bride, zoo, ferries via convenient MUNI and shuttles.
W stayed in a King room with a bay view. This hotel had a great location in terms of access to public transportation. You are only steps from BART, MUNI bus, MUNI subway, free Presidio shuttles and ferries. The hotel has a lot of wasted space and opportunities. For starters there are great places with great views of the bay - everyone of the 14 "regular" floors has a large open space with floor to ceiling windows facing the bay - however without chairs or sofas they are not much good for anything but the occasional gaze. The walkways leading to the rooms are single file as the oddly angled rooms jut out ever 20 feet or so. Inside our king room there is a large (rather useless) entryway with a table which results in a claustrophobic shower & toilet area. The room has a single sitting chair and a desk chair, so plan to watch TV from the Bed if there are more then one of you. Even as a single person you will be moving furniture around to get a view of the TV. While our "Bay view" room had a partial view of the bay, there is again no way to enjoy it while sitting down as unnecessary store architectural accents on the outside of the floor to ceiling windows blocks your view. All of these leading to the idea that this is intended for a single person on a business trip, not a vacation. Finally, I would suggest skipping the limited, overpriced hotel food in lieu of better, cheaper local restaurants. Just be careful to check their hours as on weekends some places are closed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new jersey

overbooked and no room!

Posted Apr 27, 2016
I had booked this hotel over one month ago for an overnight between flights from Hawaii to the east coast. When we arrived, we were told the hotel was overbooked, there was one room left which the housekeeping staff had informed the front desk smelled strongly of smoke. We were told we could be relocated to another hotel, the grand, handed $20 dollars for the cab fare and dismissed. I feel this was disgraceful....why book a room at all if it will not be available when you arrive? I was told my original reservation fee would be refunded and we would not be charged for moving to the other hotel; but, I felt very inconvenienced and the hotel had no concern about their inability to accommodate us. I will never book with them again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2016
They have recently stopped doing full room service. Only a limited menu now and nothing simple that works for someone trying to avoid gluten and dairy. I used to get a beautiful breakfast there. Prices overall have gotten exorbitant. I travel for work but I think we will seek a different hotel next time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel just off the Bay

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Location: Absolutely visit the waterfront market just across the street from the hotel - so much great local food!
I got there too early to check in, but the hotel staff was super helpful in helping me store my luggage and assisting me with places to get some lunch while I waited for my room to be ready. The wait time was less than an hour! Amy at the reception desk was particularly notable - she was very welcoming.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2016 by Tiffany, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and compliment! Glad you enjoyed your stay and I'll make sure to share your kind words with Amy at the desk!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2016
The only bad review I can give is it took 30 minutes to get our car out of valet. When you spend $67 to park I think that is unacceptable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2016
This was an huge terrible waste of my birthday. The hotel was a nightmare and we spent our time accomadating their problems. Moving rooms at midnight was humiliating,disrespectful and just plain bad. They have plumbing problems and made us and our stay an unforgettable mess. I never have been so misled,and taken advantage of.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great choice!

Posted Apr 11, 2016
The Hotel was in a great location for our traveling purposes. Close to public transportation. The rooms were comfortable and quiet. The hotel staff were all friendly and accommodating. The hotel lobby had a great open feel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne

great location

Posted Apr 10, 2016
great location for checking out shopping district and ferry terminal food market highly recommend ferry terminal if you are coeliac (as I am) - there is a fantastic gf bakery/sandwich bar located inside - hotel has terrible gf options
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Business Trip

Posted Apr 9, 2016
Room was clean and comfortable. King bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows. Located close to numerous restaurants. I would stay again.