Ratings based on 2,461 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mission Viejo, Ca.

Lessons learned

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: Staff was friendly. Room was clean. Once we were able to get to the hotel, it is close to all methods of transport throughout the city.
Cons: Would not have stayed at this hotel do to things listed above on this visit.
First lesson: When you plan a trip, check and see what local events may be happening during your stay that may effect not only your arrival to the hotel, but every thing you have planned. We arrived on a Saturday to find not only the main street to our hotel blocked due to preparations for the Super Bowl, but also a protest. Every access to the hotel was blocked or closed all together. We ended up driving to the other end of the city and parking where my daughter was staying in corporate housing and taking the Muni back as close as we could to the hotel, with luggage in tow. Second lesson;: In your stay includes a Sunday, make sure that there are restaurants that are open that you can get to. There was nothing open that we could find, even a chain coffee shop. Third lesson: They hotel was in the process of remodeling inside which meant noise in the early morning. We had no idea. They also had no restaurant in the hotel. We ended up eating crackers and sharing a sandwich in the temporary bar while they set up for a conference the next day in the center of the lobby. Summary: Do your homework before you choice a hotel. Check what is happening in the area durning your stay in addition to remodeling inside the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Turlock, CA

One night stay.

Posted Jan 21, 2016
Pros: Location and Design
Cons: Free Parking
Despite the Restaurant Remodel and the Road Construction, we were very impressed with this Hotel. The Staff was welcoming and helpful. As we were checking out, I had left my Coat hanging in the closet and a Member of the Staff RAN from our room to catch us at the Elevator to return my coat. We were at the opposite end of the Hotel from the Elevators!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: good pice at this season
Cons: more thoughtful frontdesk representative, i had to go down 12 floors again to reactive my old key in order to pick up my unpacked laggage
Location: financial district
near to my office, good price for early january season.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Clara, CA

Very uniquely designed hotel close to everything

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: The inside is beautiful with the color changing lights. The rooms are nice as well and are definitely 4 star quality.
Cons: Elevators on the opposite side of the atrium would be nice but it is too late for that now. The architecture doesn't allow it due to the slope.
The hotel is very pretty on the inside and the rooms were very nice also. This is San Francisco so expect to pay more for parking and the food here is fairly pricey as well. We had very little interaction with the staff but they seemed friendly enough. All of the elevators are on one side of the complex and the middle is a giant atrium. If you get a room on the opposite side of the atrium you have to walk all the way around the complex to get to the elevators. Also if you are going up or down during normal meal times or check-in/check-out times, expect the elevator to stop on every single floor which means it could take a while to get down. The hotel is close to many things in San Francisco including the financial district and the Exploratorium so it is a good place to stay as a staging point for your visit in the city. I would definitely recommend it to others looking for a nice hotel in SF.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Great location near Embarcadero

Posted Jan 16, 2016
We enjoyed a spacious bedroom with a Nice view of the San Francisco Bay. Close to union square & Fishermans wharf. The breakfast had a good variety.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for a girls weekend!

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Pros: close to a lot of nice restaurants. Close to Bart and the trolley as well.
Cons: pillows were hard.
Location: the market at the pier was nice, we rode the trolley up to Chinatown, had dinner at Pier 39.
The hotel was very nice and the staff was great. We loved being so close to the pier. Note: the pillows in the rooms are not very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from middletown.ca

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Great room Amazing shower Great location Only downfall was expensive parking
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Habitación grande, cómoda, con vistas. Bastante espectacular el atrio interior del hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel, well located.

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Large clean rooms and very nice staff. The concierge and the front desk were very helpful. I had called earlier to ask for the rooms to be next door and hopefully with a view. I was told by someone on the phone that they didn't have two king rooms together in the hotel and a view was chancy, however, they would put down the request. I was pleasantly surprised that they did have the rooms next to each other and we got a really nice view from the 11th floor. whosoever was on the phone did't know much about this property. Internet was available through out our stay of 7 days, and it was pretty good. Overall, a very good experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2016
Cons: complete remodel
Location: Semi slum area
Old tired hotel...desperately needs remodeling...unsightly...dated and depressing