Ratings based on 471 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice hotel in a quiet district.

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: Staff, breakfast, coffee, cookies and fruits all day.
Cons: The building needs renovation. Conditioners should be installed.
Location: Location is very good. We could visit City Hall, Opera House, Symphony Hall. A number of very nice restaurants are within walking in the Hayes Valley.
Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful, excellent breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Hotel in San Francisco!

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Wonderful staff throughout the hotel, always there to see that your stay at their hotel is the best it can be.
Cons: We were just so satisfied.. Did not notice any areas for improvement. We would recommend not renting a car.. City parking stressful and difficult.
Location: Centrally located in the city, with major attractions just a short drive or walk away.
My girlfriend and I visited San Francisco for the first time, and were so happy the we had selected to stay at Inn at the Opera. From the moment we arrived, the patient, caring and knowledgeable staff happily answered our first time visitor questions. The hotel is clean and has been updated perfectly, while still showcasing it's classic European charm. Our room was perfect, and probably the nicest and most accommodating room we have stayed in while visiting a major city. The surrounding area is clean and safe. Day trip tour buses, taxis, and driver services have easy access to meet you at the hotel's door steps. The free continental breakfast served daily provided a convenient way to start our busy fun days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Nice hotel, near cultural hub

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: location, breakfast
Cons: restaurant could have more variety
Location: opera, concert hall, ballet, jazz, museums, nice restaurants near by
Have stayed several times. Friendly staff, helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location for opera goers!

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Small, elegant, private; wonderful breakfast, apples, nice room amenities.
Cons: Too bad the bar wasn't open after the opera
Location: opera, restaurants, museums, shopping, cafes.
Right across the street from opera, close to restaurants, downtown, public transportation.
4 out of 5
by reed

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
we went to the symphony
3 out of 5
by Jane

Great location for the music lover!

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
I will stay here again even thought the room was tiny and worn out. Why? Because I love the location!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, nice staff, clean, bring earplugs.

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
Location is great if you're going to Davies or the Opera House or SF Jazz. Staff is very nice. Room was very clean and came with fridge, microwave, coffee pot, dishes and utensils. It was fine for a two day solo business trip while I was working at Davies. Would not want to stay there as a vacation hotel, and definitely not if I was sharing the room with someone else (although the newlyweds in the room next to me seemed to be ok sharing). Walls are thin, so bring some earplugs just in case your neighbor snores.
4 out of 5
by Barbara

Opera trip

Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
This is a nice hotel in a great location if you are going to the Opera or Symphony.
5 out of 5
by Richard

Location, location, location!

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
It was not the fault of The Inn, but our room was very noisy due to being in front of the building on the second floor, a large three day event taking place in the Civic Center and nighttime construction going on. Another time we might request a room towards the rear. We were actually there to go to the opera, two of them if fact. I cannot imagine a more convenient location! Super restaurants close by, and one can clap til the curtain closes and be in bed five minutes later! The staff are incredibly nice and helpful. I only wish they took pets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from desert

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Small, personal staff
Cons: Heating, air conditioning
Location: Opera & symphony
Very good location if going to the opera or symphony