Ratings based on 453 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: staff; location; cleanliness
really helpful staff clean and bright small hotel easy location nd really convenient
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, NM

Close to cultural attractions

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Cozy, great location, superior breakfast, nice staff
Hotel was very convenient to the symphony and ballet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Quirky hotel convenient for downtown.

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Smallish but well equipped room with comfortable bed, microwave, fridge & utensils. Excellent complimentary breakfast with fruit & cereals, eggs & cold meats + something hot (varies, but eggs benedict at weekend excellent). Friendly and helpful staff and quiet location overnight.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for music, restaurants, art

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Reasonably priced, but the room was way too small for two people; queen bed and night tables, dining room chair, nuke and bar fridge, narrow closet. Period. Barely enough room to navigate around the bed. They probably shouldn't really be offering it. Full breakfast was included, which was pretty good considering the absence of a steam table (i.e., everything cold but the waffles): fresh fruit bowl, bagels and cream cheese, cereal, coffe, tea, etc. Staff was friendly and hugely helpful when we needed it. Hotel is becoming a timeshare, part of the Wyndham chain, which involved a couple of promotional encounters, but nothing too intrusive. Free coffee and cookies available all day in the lobby. The best thing about this hotel is its location. If you're going to musical events -- ballet, symphony, opera -- they're all a short walk away. Two blocks down, all the different kinds of restaurants you could ask for, lots of California cuisine, which is quite fine. SF MOMA $10 away by cab, Asian Art Centre a block away. If we could get a better room for nearly the same price, we'd stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N

This hotel is in the perfect spot!

Posted Mar 16, 2017
I loved my stay here because it was right in the city and there was so much to do right near by. Hayes street was a few blocks away which was perfect for shopping. We didn't spend much time in the room so it was perfect for us. If you are looking for a big room with lots of space, chances are this isn't the place for you, but it's perfect if you're just looking for a comfortable place to crash after your long day. The staff in the breakfast area and restaurant are so nice, especially Mark, make sure to ask him to give you a little run down of where you should go in the city because he knows EVERYTHING! Also the cookies in the afternoon were so good!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los Angeles

Okay visit

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Matt is horrible! He has a very sarcastic under tone and it's not appropriate for the quality of guest you have staying with you! your staff needs to be trained at least to fake being polite and like they actually care! Mark is terrific!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los Angeles

Okay visit

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Matt is horrible! He has a very sarcastic under tone and it's not appropriate for the quality of guest you have staying with you! I worked in hotel management at 5 star properties and this is not one and received excellent service your staff needs to be trained at least to fake being polite and like they actually care! Mark is terrific!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: the location was great. Cozy atmosphere. Attentive staff.
Cons: Noise isolation. you can hear everything from above, from the sides and mainly from the street.
Location: Near the Opera, City hall, Civic Center, 4 blocks from Bart. In a not so busy street.
I was there for a convention. the hotel was on a great location, very close by, with lots of options to eat and transportation. On my next tourist trip to San Francisco, I'll opt for this area and hotel instead of the overcrowded Fisherman's Wharf.
4 out of 5
by Douglas

Posted Feb 5, 2017 on Hotels
Wonder, wonderful staff. Extraordinary breakfast. Room was a little cold, but they provide a nice oil heater which warmed the room up nicely. I was disappointed because I thought there was an exercise room. I was given a pass to use at a sister hotel a mile away. The only negative ( and a small one at that) was the "welcome package" scam. It was just a heavy-handed sales pitch for Wyndam hotels condo/ time-shares.
5 out of 5
by Peter

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Hotels
A great hotel: good service; excellent restaurant (Plaj); lots of good restaurants in the neigborhood