Ratings based on 198 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los Angeles

Okay visit

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Matt is horrible! He has a very sarcastic under tone and it's not appropriate for the quality of guest you have staying with you! your staff needs to be trained at least to fake being polite and like they actually care! Mark is terrific!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: the location was great. Cozy atmosphere. Attentive staff.
Cons: Noise isolation. you can hear everything from above, from the sides and mainly from the street.
Location: Near the Opera, City hall, Civic Center, 4 blocks from Bart. In a not so busy street.
I was there for a convention. the hotel was on a great location, very close by, with lots of options to eat and transportation. On my next tourist trip to San Francisco, I'll opt for this area and hotel instead of the overcrowded Fisherman's Wharf.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bellngham WA

My Christmas Stay

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: Convenience and quietness
Cons: Bacon or sausage at breakfast.
I Stayed at the Inn for 5 nights. Most of the days were spent at my Daughter's house on Bernal Heights. But the inn provided a restful night and a convenient breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel that was close to the Opera.

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: Location and breakfast.
Cons: Shelf space in the room and in the bathroom is needed. The shower water plan was a good one with a shutoff while soaping up. It then was cold.
Location: It was a perfect location for us when going to the opera. There were also several restaurants nearby and was a pleasant area to walk.
We were checked in promptly with the car being taken away by the valet service. The hallways were narrow and the room small, but quite adequate. We particularly enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. It was a great spread and staff was very helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Unexpected Greeting

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: The location is wonderful.
Cons: Service. Told we'd get a complimentary bottle of champagne: then got a call saying no champagne or red wine would we settle for white?! Odd.
Location: RIGHT near the opera house and Davies hall. Perfect for the concert goer if you can dodge the concierge!
When we checked in things were a bit odd: the person helping me suddenly went to the back room without saying she'd be back, and I didn't know if our car was being taken care of. Eventually she came back and finished things up. We went up to our room for a bit and came back down. THEN the horror began: we were greeted by the concierge and she handed us a bag of "goodies" (chapstick, one piece of chocolate for the two of us, a razor and a few other things). After that she said, "now I"m going to take off that hat and put on my other hat" and proceeded to go into a long speech about some sort of timeshare they have with this hotel chain. It was very awkward and we felt accosted. I'm not sure if we'll return, although we absolutely love the location. Perhaps we'd just make it clear we didn't want a sales pitch!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

Nice hotel near Civic Center Plaza

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: The hotel was able to hold our luggage before our check in and after our check out (due to our airline schedule). Enjoyed decor and breakfast.
Cons: We stayed for two nights and slept great in the beds (there was outside noise like garbage trucks, sirens, construction: to be expected in a city!)
Location: Great location near Civic Center/Union Square. Easy access to popular venues, along with wonderful local bars and restaurants within walking distance.
The Inn at the Opera Hotel offered us a fantastic experience! Great location near Civic Center/Union Square. Easy access to popular venues, along with wonderful local bars and restaurants nearby within walking distance. The Inn at the Opera is also convenient to use San Francisco's public transit systems MUNI & Bart. The hotel was able to hold our luggage before our check in and after our check out (due to our airline schedule). The staff was amazing and friendly. We enjoyed the continental breakfast that was offered. The decor at the Inn was very nice. We stayed for two nights and slept really good in the beds (there was outside noise like garbage trucks, sirens, construction, but I'd expect that in the city). Overall we had a great experience at the Inn at the Opera Hotel in San Francisco and would recommend this for an affordable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad, United States of America

Perfect location for music and art.

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: SF Opera Symphony and museums. Easy bus ride to Union Square and shopping.
Easy to find, park and sleep. Quiet, lovely with great staff. Very nice room and amenities, food, bar. Lovely over all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice people, tiny room

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Very nice staff but the room we stayed in was a closet. The hotel has no place to pick up snacks, drinks or sundries. If you arrive by car, there is a single spot along the street to park before the valet can get it -- if someone is there you're out of luck. Even if they had room service, which they don't, the room is too small to eat in.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Conveniently located

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Proximity ti cultural venues
Cons: Room service
Location: Centrally located and with access to cultural sites.
The hotel is a cozy old building that has seen its best years and now lacks adequate facilities, as everything in it is small, including its elevator, its rooms, its services and its services. The advantage is its central location and next to SF's cultural venues and its generous breakfast consisting of fresh fruit and boiled eggs. Overall, my experience was of an OK hotel limited in services due to its old age.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Nice hotel, very clean, staff was great, only issue was some street noise.