Ratings based on 389 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from SF Bay Area

Aptly Named Hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2016
Pros: European vibe, very clean and well cared for, friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Rooms are small but adequate for a short stay. Parking is expensive, but in our case worth it.
Location: This is the Hayes Valley neighborhood just off Van Ness Avenue. This area has been improving over the years and is quite trendy. Near city hall too.
Chose this hotel for a one night stay because we were attending a musical event at the Herbst Theater one block away and a good French restaurant was two blocks away. Gave our car to the hotel valet and walked to each place. Location, location, location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tempe, AZ

Inn by the Opera, Symphony and City Hall

Posted Dec 22, 2015
Pros: I really liked the staff.
Cons: The hotel could use new carpeting. It was very worn throughout the building.
Location: Inn at the Opera is located centrally in San Francisco. It is very close to City Hall, the Symphony, Museums and other attractions.
The hotel was very quaint and had a European feel to it. The hotel staff were friendly, helpful, accommodating and always cheerful. Our room was very clean but small. The kitchenette and the bathroom also were very clean. I would gladly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to San Francisco.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Poor Choice

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Pros: The tea they served at the breakfast bar was good.
Cons: The amenities, the service, the food.
Location: It is in a very pretty but dangerous neighborhood of San Francisco - in the tenderloin area, known for its violence. Be cautious walking around.
I had booked a week at this hotel for a business trip, during winter. It was cold and the central heater in the room did not work. I had an electric heater that did not work either. I asked maintenance to replace it and over the following two nights, I experimented with a couple other heaters that did not work. When they found one that did, it used up all the electric power available to my room and the electricity went out when I flipped a light switch. I told the front desk of this problem in the morning as I left the hotel and they did not fix it by the time I got back 12 hours later. I had food in the room mini-fridge that spoiled and got thrown out. Also I have a lot of allergies and could not partake in any of the continental breakfast they provided. The servers there said they could customize something for me then changed their minds. It was weird. I was attending a very large conference in San Francisco and there were no other rooms available in other hotels I checked, otherwise I would have switched to another location. If you find yourself with no other choice than to book here, try to schedule it for the longer summer days. In my experience, you can have wither electricity or heat, but not both.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent location for opera.

Posted Nov 20, 2015
Pros: location, price
Cons: for the price it is just right.
Location: opera, symphony, asian art. museum
good location for public transportation. very friendly staff. good breakfast included. quiet, clean, reasonably priced, a european type pensione. excellent location for opera and symphony. easy bus transportation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Santo

Overall, good hotel

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
Overall, good hotel with a wonderful breakfast buffet included. Only negative was the cleaning staff. They did not clean the bathroom as I repeated found soap scum and hair shavings left in the sink.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 29, 2015
You need to pick your walks carefully as this hotel is right on the edge of a section that is charming, and another that has many aggressive homeless people. Ask the staff, and they are very helpful and will suggest which ways to walk, and which ways to cab. The staff is awesome!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Downtown Experience

Posted Oct 25, 2015
Nice little boutique hotel very close to cultural area. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was very tiny, but not unexpected for the location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2015
clean, nice hotel, friendly staff. Overall great value.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by William from New Jersey

Nice, friendly, aging hotel near opera, City Hall

Posted Oct 18, 2015 on Hotels
Pleasant staff; nice breakfast; interesting location, near city hall, opera, symphony, ballet. Easy walk downtown, Hayes valley, Fillmore. Room was musty, somewhat antiquated, but clean. Fridge, microwave. Wireless OK, a bit slow.