Ratings based on 519 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great quiet location

Posted Apr 23, 2018
Check in was easy. Its a timeshare, so they try...but they werent too pushy. No ac so room was warm, but it was a great spot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!

Posted Apr 18, 2018
Super! Tasty breakfast, perfect location, so clean!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Springs,CA

Very nice and close to Civic Center

Posted Apr 11, 2018
Cons: Just from a personal standpoint, the Swedish style dinner menu didn't really appeal to me; so I didn't try it. Maybe next time. There are many good
Location: The location is right behind the Opera House, which is why I chose it. Unfortunately, Even here, the sight of homeless people, though, was sad to wi
Heard about this hotel for years, and wanted to see for myself. Very charming old school atmosphere, very well maintained. Staff was excellent, and free continental breakfast was exceptional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2018
It was a short stay got in late had to be somewhere early. We’re able to enjoy the breakfast. Staff was very pleasant and accommodating. Their valet garage closed at 11, we got there later but they were willing to park our vehicle anyway. That was greatly appreciated. I’d stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Apr 6, 2018
My wife and I stayed here after a performance at Davies Symphony Hall. It is very centrally located to great restaurants as well as entertainment, and it's a fun neighborhood to walk around in. The only downside was a minor amount of street noise during later part of the evening, but no worse than most other hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best (free) continental breakfast

Posted Apr 2, 2018
Cons: The bed wasn't the most comfortable, but it did the trick.
Location: Right in Hayes valley. Gorgeous area, cute shops, and great restaurants. Also really walkable to so many great parts of SF.
The most epic free continental breakfast I've ever had at a hotel. Fresh fruit, cottage cheese, hard boiled eggs, etc etc. Also a waffle bar and smoked salmon on Sundays. Yas queen!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange, CA

Quaint little inn.

Posted Mar 26, 2018
The rooms are clean. They also resemble a tiny studio if you are checking in with 4 people. Our room consisted of a little room with a queen size bed, and outside of the door is where the couch pullout is. The price is about the same for other well known hotels such as Hyatt, Parc 55, Etc. However not as accommodated. Water heat is not as hot as it should be which is important for cold mornings. The customer service was relatively quick as well as polite and attentive. There is complimentary continental breakfast in the morning too. The area is also not too bad. However if you want to eat somewhere within walking distance it’s all very pricy, even for a tourist area. Valet parking is your only option and it’s 40 dollars a night however you do get in and out privileges until 11 pm. Over all, the stay was not bad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Feel like staying at the friend's house

Posted Mar 25, 2018
Cons: If they install the facility the air-conditioning which each room can control the room temperature and air flow.
Location: To see SF Ballet.
Building is old and charming. Yet very clean. Staff are very warm and friendly. I like it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

overall good experience

Posted Mar 19, 2018
front desk ppl are really helpful. I arrived early in San Francisco. They allowed us to check in before 3pm which was really helpful. One of the highlight here is that they serve hot water or hot coffee in the public area. The only downside of this hotel is that there was no heat in March, which made the room quite cold. The blanket in the closet helped.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Perfect hotel for the ballet

Posted Feb 19, 2018
Small but elegant room, clean and new bathroom. Just right across the street from the ballet.