Ratings based on 851 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Big Sur, Ca

Love this Hotel!

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Pros: The staff was fantastic - everyone from housekeeping to the front desk.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Union Square, cable cars, shopping, eating
We've been to San Fran many times & usually stay at the Powell but it's being remodeled & bought by another company.....thank goodness because I now have a new favorite hotel. This is one of the best, friendliness & wonderful hotels I've stayed at in a long time. The bed was great. Room nice - small, but hey, that's San Fran, it's a trade-off if you like ambiance & history. This hotel has lots of character. The happy hour was amazing! So was breakfast, even though it ''continental", there were many choices. You do have to pay for parking which isn't unusual in SF but we took BART in from Oakland. Easy walk from the station too. I can't wait to stay here again. Christmas in S.F. is wonderful & the hotel just added to the incredible experience. The location can't be beat. It's a pleasure to write a review on a place that I love so much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, Great Location !!!

Posted Dec 1, 2015
Clean Room, Friendly Staff, close to union Square, Trolley line etc. !!! I would stay here again !!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chandler, AZ

Very nice boutique hotel

Posted Nov 11, 2015
The staff could not have been more friendly. As a single woman staying there, I also felt very safe throughout my stay. The room was impeccably clean, with lots of extras such as daily newspaper, free Wi-Fi, bathrobes, and available umbrella.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mixed feelings

Posted Nov 9, 2015
On arrival at the hotel, we were delighted to find out our room had been upgraded to a suite. We had a lovely stay and the staff were all very pleasant. Unfortunately when we got back to Scotland we realised we had been charged again for the 6 night stay. When I phoned the hotel I was informed there had been a mistake, but for 3 days nobody contacted us, we were then told it would take 5 - 10 days for the payment to be refunded to our account. This was totally unacceptable, one the fact a payment was taken out of our account without our authorisation and two they weren't going to refund it for 5 - 10 days. When I told the person I was speaking to they some how managed to get the payment refunded within 10 minutes, which makes you wonder why they couldn't have done that in the first place. The manager finally got in contact with us by email 3 days later to explain what had happened and they did compensate us for the 'mistake'. It would make me very cautious about pre-paying for hotels in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Kortni

Highly recommend!

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
Friendly, clean, comfy. Great little social touches with the evening wine and breakfast on different floors :) I almost never post reviews but this place was so lovely that I'm taking the time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2015
Room was a little warm at night, but there was a ceiling fan as well as an additional fan, and the windows open, so the room cooled down after a while.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Almost a 5

Posted Oct 17, 2015 on Hotels
Vacation for our 25th Anniversary. When the staff found out they sent chocolate and champagne ti the room. Room was nice, however, no AC. There are ceiling fans in the rooms and the do supply portable fans but I would keep that in mind if you planing a trip during the warmer months.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tim

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Very nice hotel, steps to Union Square

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: Staff was very courteous & friendly. Evening appetizers & cookies were a nice treat. Location was good - close to all types of transit.
Cons: Breakfast was good & there was a lot of choice, but it would have been nice to have some hot food choices, such as bacon, sausages, or scrambled eggs.
San Francisco is a great city to visit, and our hotel was very nice. We bought a City Pass, and traveled several miles each day on every kind of transit - cable cars, street cars, and trolleys. We also walked many miles, getting the full experience of climbing and descending San Francisco's many hilly neighbourhoods. We arrived just in time for Fleet Week, and had beautiful, warm weather every day of our visit (in early October). We visited most of the well-known tourist attractions, plus much more. We really enjoyed our Alcatraz tour - remember to book in advance - and we were glad that we took the time to go to the Cable Car museum - small, but interesting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Filipe from Paris

Loved our stay!

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
The best hotel we stayed in our trip from SF to LA! Great room, nice and quiet. Perfectly located in the center of the city. Loved the free cookies :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2015 by Ramon, Hotel Management
Dear Filipe, Thank you very much for leaving us your thoughts on your stay! It was wonderful to have you with us and I am glad that you enjoyed our location and our cookies (which are indeed quite delicious!). Thank you again and we hope to have you back with us soon! Best regards, Ramon Serrano General Manager