Ratings based on 2,111 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nevada

Top notch from beginning to end

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Cable car connection convenient.
Booked this hotel for a major wedding anniversary. From my very first call they took this event as extremely important; not only for my mental comfort, but for my wife's physical comfort too. Everything about this experience was top notch. Lobby, room, everything was beautiful. Yes, it's true the hike up the hill can be challenging but it's worth it the climb. After all it's the San Francisco experience. Mark Hopkins hotel you got it right. Keep up the good work.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Nice hotel, great staff, not the best bed

Posted Jul 6, 2016
The hotel is beautiful and the staff very helpful and professional. The concierge was awesome! The only down side was the bed and pillows. The mattress wasn't the quality you would expect in a 4 star hotel. They put a cushioned mattress cover (could have been down but I'm not sure) but it slides around as you sleep and starts to come off the mattress. Their pillows are awful... Thin with not much cushion to them. They need to upgrade to nicer pillows. Also, they charge $7 for a bottle of water. I thought that was kind of ridiculous
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oman

Close to the cerntre and transportation

Posted Jun 30, 2016
In general we enjoyed our stay. The staff were freindly enough especially the door men, who were very freindly. The concierge were extremity accommodating and professional. The hotel is at the top of the hill and it's quite an exercise to climb up and down when going to union square area, but then you can always use the cable care, which costs about 7 dollars one way or 21 one day pass multiple trips. They also have weekly passes at a rate of 50 dollers. The Asian reception staff could probably could be a litter bit more cheerful and remember that they are working in the hotel business where welcoming people and understanding their needs is esential.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location but bathroom was too small.

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Pros: Its location and its elegance.
Cons: Again, the bathroom facilities are too small.
Location: You have the greatest views to San Francisco, you can dine or brunch at the Top of the Mark (its penthouse) and watch it all.
I stayed at the Inter Continental Mark Hopkins for more than a week and had the greatest of times. The Hotel location and beautiful facilities are its greatest assets. However, the bathroom - although clean and well equipped - was too small. It did not have a counter or vanity in which to place the toiletries, etc. This proved rather inconvenient.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mahopac NY

Dated Hotel

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Old dated hotel no room to put away clothing bathroom sink would not drain.dreary. Exorbitant fee for parking . Would not go back there again
3 out of 5
by Tamara from Sunnyvale

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Bathroom was tiny and water pressure in the shower was weak. Bed was comfortable. Radio did not have charger for latest iPhone - should update that. Need more outlets by bed - all used by radio and light. Checkout was slow because there was only one person and 2 people in line but the person at the front was complaining about a charge Top of the Mark was really nice. Great menu with drink options for everyone. Very classy and comfortable vibe.
4 out of 5
by Bruce

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Another Meeting

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: walk to food, etc.
I send a lot of time in San Fran and this is one of my fav's when there for biz.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London England

Due the renovation that is planned

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: How high up in the city it is
Cons: Refurb on the rooms and furniture. Very small fitness room.
Location: Easy walk down the hill to downtown, but a bit separate from everything else. Very close to the cathedral and next to The Fairmont, that's about it.
Lovely hotel, with fantastic views of the city, if you get a room on level 10+. Impressive rooms but very much due a renovation just because they were very old and musty. The location is a bit out of downtown, but that's only because I am used to staying in Union Square.
5 out of 5
by Jessica from Chico

Great location

Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
Friends getaway, pretty familiar with SF and wanted to stay in a nicer area. This was definitely it.