Ratings based on 2,417 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Great location easy to walk to food transport cable cars too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Reservations Coordinator, Hotel Management
Thank you for you feedback! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel - don't get a room next to elevator

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Beautiful hotel - lots of history. Gave a 3 rating because they put me in a room next to a hotel with my Expedia rate and when the noise became quite loud asked to be moved and they charged us another $20 a night. Asked for reconsideration but Mgmt said that's the way it is.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Sophisticated Charm

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Beautiful and historic hotel atop Nob Hill. Breathtaking views of the city from Top of the Mark lounge.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

In a time-warp with this hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Breakfasts and location of our room
Cons: The hotel needs a facelift and updates everywhere. Although everything is clean, the carpet is worn and everything looks its age.
Location: Location is on Nob hill and so everything is located down the hills. The cable cars run right by the hotel, which is very convenient.
After climbing our way to Nob Hill, we looked forward to some old-fashioned courtesy and charm, but were greeted by no one, literally no one. Over the three days we stayed at the Intercontinental, we found that it was not unusual for the employees to watch us as we struggled through the revolving door or the two side doors with a purse or backpack while they chatted away. Not one employee asked if s/he could help us or welcome us to the hotel. On the second day of our stay after biking the Golden Gate and struggling through traffic, we reached the hotel and found that our key cards didn't work. We trudged back downstairs and were told that we should have called from upstairs rather than come downstairs (no apologies). With our new cards, we rode back upstairs and found that they didn't work. We called from the phone upstairs and the front desk sent up a security person, who proceeded to tell us that he couldn't let us in without our IDs. After showing him our IDs, he tried our cards and said, you need to go downstairs and get new cards! Ugh, at that point, I said, you go downstairs and get us new cards - we have already been there. Finally, some customer service kicked in and he said he would take care of the issue. Good parts of the stay - clean room, wonderful breakfasts and waiters, friendly, helpful maids Not so good parts of the stay - old fixtures such as the windows, where you hear everything including the cable cars as they grind by
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and location

Posted Jul 15, 2017
It was a nice hotel with a great location. The rooms were clean. They didn't have a pool or a small to-go food type thing. Only the restaraunt. The top of the mark was a very cool experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arcata, Ca

Nice hotel at the top of a hill

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Great location, very SF, plan on transportation most everywhere as it is on a VERY steep hill. Cable car intersection of two major lines is very close, which is great for a day or two, but not practical for a longer stay. Valet service is very good, but call ahead as it can get busy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AR

Nice, but for the price, I expected more

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Like the Location
Cons: More helpful staff
Location: Lots of things within walking distance
The hotel's front desk staff was not very helpful, especially the concierge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice hotel in quiet neighborhood.

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Close enough to the sights and transportation but set in quiet area of Nob Hill neighborhood.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2017
We have stayed at this hotel a couple of times now. The staff is great and very friendly. Good location and always enjoy visiting the Top of the Mark.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Nice accommodations. No lounge to kickback and relax.