Ratings based on 1,961 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Beautiful historic hotel at crest of Nob Hill SF

Posted Feb 6, 2016
A room with a view at this historic hotel will make every visit special, and the staff and service are excellent. I hope to return again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Always wonderful

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Always a wonderful time at the Mark Hopkins! We loved drinks at the Top of the Mark
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs revamping

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Room service options.
Location: Amazing walking to union square
This used to be a beautiful hotel, as is obvious from the entrance. And it's a great location. But the rooms are shabby, service is unimpressive (doormen never bothered to open doors for me), and room service menu is so old school that there is nothing remotely healthy on it. No amenities - a motel I stayed in the night before in Palo Alto had way better amenities. At least there was coffee and tea in the room.... but the Expedia price was fair for San Fran.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs to be renovated

Posted Jan 26, 2016
I have stayed at Mark Hopkins in the past and it used to be a good hotel and had really enjoyed my stay. But recently I returned back to Mark Hopkins after a few years only to be disappointed. The wooden doors were so old and chipped and the furniture completely outdated. There were no electric outlets next to the bed, which would make cell phone charging very inconvinient since I would set my alarm in my phone. There was no clock on the bed side table. Even the lamps on the bed side didn't have an electric outlet. The rooms seemed so ancient, inconvenient, and completely worn out. Will not be coming back to this one!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Great value for a Nob Hill Experience.

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: The Top of the Mark is a fun place. My son and I went up there for a nightcap after our dinner at North Beach. A live band was playing Motown hits.
Location: Great location. Central to all areas of the city. Beautiful views. Above the noise.
This is my second stay at the Mark Hopkins Hotel. My son and I were in the city for a mother/son adventure. We found the staff to be polite, friendly and professional. The atmosphere of the hotel is quiet, stately and elegant. Nothing snobby about this place. Great location for access to any part of the city. Nob Hill graciously sits above the noise and congestion of Union Square.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Hotel was satisfactory. The room and bathroom were a bit small but clean. Location was good and easily got taxi and/or uber cars. The hotel staff was OK, but I found the staff in the restaurant to be a little less hospitable than I'd expect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Great views

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Pros: Views
Cons: The prices for room service and/or breakfast are too high, to the point where there is a price/value issue.
Location: Convenient location as a basis for sightseeing.
I booked the upgrade to a deluxe room which guarantees a higher floor. Mine was on the 11th floor and had very nice views across the city. The room was spacious and well appointed. Bathroom was functional and nice looking, but on the smaller side.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Lovely, elegant hotel

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Pros: It's beautiful and tasteful.
Cons: Restaurant on lobby level.
Location: Close enough to Union Square to be convenient and far enough away to be quiet.
The hotel itself is lovely, as are the staff members. The lobby-level restaurant has awful food, although the wait-staff is top-notch. My 4am requested wake-up call never arrived, so I'm glad that I also set my Iphone alarm, or I would've missed my flight.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Mark Hopkins stay was very disappointing

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Needs new management to update condition, replace staff, and change attitude.
Location: Top of Nob Hill. Various fine hotels, theaters and churches nearby.
Not up to usual Intercontinental standards. Room was quite small. Front desk manager was rude. Condition was deteriorating - one step from tatty. Amenities were sparse. Bar upstairs not recommended, in spite of the view. I would not stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C.A

New years eve

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Wonderful stay for NewYears eve ! Room was awesome with a wonderful view. What more do i need to say.