Ratings based on 576 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Historical hotel. Charming.

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pre-booked/pre-paid and it wasn't cheap! Was disappointed when front desk informed that they "don't have a room", only on the lower floors and they don't recommend as it can be noisy. We were shattered from the trip and perhaps it was a good opportunity for them to sell us an upgrade for $20. Hotel did give us a complimentary wifi though so it sort of paid off the "upgrade".
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Monica

Nice place overall

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Check in staff is not courteous. Had an issue but manager stepped in and everything was handled great from there on.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Great location old hotel but lots of charm

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Unexpected surprise iconic "Top of the mark" bar in the hotel. Staff very helpful and friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, pa

Nice hotel in excellent location

Posted Dec 31, 2016
This is an old luxury hotel with just a few mantainance blemishes but still luxurious. Located at the top of the nob Hill a very safe location with spectacular view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel at top of Hill.

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Overall good. 2 issues: unfriendly check in and water temperature is either scalding or cold.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from santa cruz ca

Holiday party

Posted Dec 6, 2016
It was very clean and elegant we had a fun Christmas party at the hotel.. we loved the bed and pillows. Very happy with our stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

San Francisco Classic

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: Great location.
Location: In the heart of the city, easy to get anywhere in the city via public transit or taxi cab.
Great hotel, outstanding views of the city, very friendly and helpful staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Cons: Provide free coffee
Location: location good.
Everything over priced. Had to pay for coffee - what a shame. No vents in bathroom - awfu
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful, historic hotel. Great location.

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: Grand decor. Location. The view of the city.
Cons: The restaurants in the hotel had odd hours and high prices.
Location: The concierge is helpful to book tours of the city and surrounding areas and to advise about restaurants.
I wanted to stay here because I have heard about it as being exemplary since I was a child. It met my expectations. The view is amazing and walking distance to China Town. The staff is very pleasant and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TOLUCA LAKE, United States of America

IN LOVE WITH NOB HILL & MARK HOPKINS TEAM

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: They had everything we needed......helped us with everything, offered to take pictures for us, it was raining and they offered car service for us
Cons: N/A
Location: So much to do! Everything was close....Nob Hill, Chinatown, Pier 39, the mall, great restaurants and the Bay.
This was my very first trip to San Fran and boy did us girls have a BALL!!!! Mark Hopkins crew was the BOMB!!! They had everything we needed......helped us with everything, offered to take pictures for us, it was raining and they offered car service for us, greeted us EVERY time they saw us, even the housekeepers were so pleasant! We will definitely be back for the next stay! Restaurants were great at the hotel, fun atmosphere and everything!