Ratings based on 2,247 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Overall great stay . Although could use a update .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Expensive, not quite up to par

Posted Feb 15, 2017
So many things great about this hotel, the location, the building, the entrance, the amazing old pieces that Grace the hotel in the lobby, the view from the top of the mark...but the hotel is dated. My room was very large, it was clean and nice, but not up to the high price of the room cost. I never managed to get WiFi, which I needed, after three trips to the lobby. Felt it was wrong of the restaurant top of the mark, to tell me I needed to go to the bar for dinner because I was by myself (was not allowed to eat in the restaurant) then when I went to sit down at a small table, was told the tables were for two, I needed to sit at the bar. It was embarrassing. I know it is that way, but $22.00 for a pot of tea...nothing else? And why do they have a coffee maker in the room with no coffee, no tea bags , etc. A beautiful old hotel, but not for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 25, 2017
I am a SF native and always struggle to find a comfortable, convenient hotel when I visit from LA. After this stay, I will not even consider staying at any competitors- only the Mark Hopkins!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Historical hotel. Charming.

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pre-booked/pre-paid and it wasn't cheap! Was disappointed when front desk informed that they "don't have a room", only on the lower floors and they don't recommend as it can be noisy. We were shattered from the trip and perhaps it was a good opportunity for them to sell us an upgrade for $20. Hotel did give us a complimentary wifi though so it sort of paid off the "upgrade".
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Monica

Nice place overall

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Check in staff is not courteous. Had an issue but manager stepped in and everything was handled great from there on.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Great location old hotel but lots of charm

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Unexpected surprise iconic "Top of the mark" bar in the hotel. Staff very helpful and friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, pa

Nice hotel in excellent location

Posted Dec 31, 2016
This is an old luxury hotel with just a few mantainance blemishes but still luxurious. Located at the top of the nob Hill a very safe location with spectacular view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel at top of Hill.

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Overall good. 2 issues: unfriendly check in and water temperature is either scalding or cold.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from santa cruz ca

Holiday party

Posted Dec 6, 2016
It was very clean and elegant we had a fun Christmas party at the hotel.. we loved the bed and pillows. Very happy with our stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

San Francisco Classic

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: Great location.
Location: In the heart of the city, easy to get anywhere in the city via public transit or taxi cab.
Great hotel, outstanding views of the city, very friendly and helpful staff.