Ratings based on 2,488 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stockton, CA

Memories of my Parents

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: It was so close to the concert at Grace Cathedral and that made for an easy walk. I also loved the Top of the Mark, and enjoyed the atmosphere.
My WWII parents stayed at the Mark Hopkins in 1947 when my war bride mother arrived from Sydney, Australia. I had always wished to see for myself the inside of this hotel. It was charming, and the staff very helpful. George, the concierge, was especially helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

nob hill

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: see above
Location: everything
room could use some updating ... my room 's bathroom was the smallest bathroom I have ever stayed in .And the windows in the room were original issue when the building was first built ... Location of the hotel is very nice and the hotel staff were fine .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, good location.

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Nice hotel that could be great with some updating(.ie lamps, bed cover, carpet ) Rooms facing the front have very nice views. Breakfast is just ok, a bit pricey for what they offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Great location, beautiful setting and view, amazing staff and lots of amenities at an affordable price. Thank you for a great home away from home. Also restaurant was awesome the food was great quality cooked and served with perfection.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This hotel is set in a very convenient location

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Cons: breakfast
Although we didn't have the pleasure of taking the cable car, the stop is right by the hotel. Getting transportation in and out of the hotel was very expedient and with multiple choices. The views from the hotel were fantastic and the area seemed completely safe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel. Great staff.

Posted Sep 26, 2017
This is a beautiful space, has a great bar, and lovely rooms a short walk from the city. I'd absolutely recommend it to friends in San Francisco.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Greatly stay highly recommend !

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Asked for a higher floor to get a marvellous view of the ocean or the cityline!
Cons: An older hotel, there are some run-down area in the hallway, door frames, wall paper coming off etc. But overall acceptable.
Location: Walking proximity to Union and other major tourist sites. 15 mins to bart but is all downhill !
Arrived in my car rental, was given 15 mins guest courtesy parking outside the hotel's roundabout while I checked-in for a room. Had an excellent 2 nights. Room was spacious for two, room was clean and comfortable! Walking proximity to Union and other major tourist sites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2017
My only complaint is the lack of complimentary coffee in the morning!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Quality of on=site amenities
Location: Chinatown - trolley access
There are no amenities inside the hotel - like a place to purchase water, etc. On-site breakfast was extremely overpriced $40 - for quality - food was cold, undercooked, bread was stale, etc. Just not up to par with other hotels that charge similar rates.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Nice Hotel location.

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Beautiful Hotel. Some nice views. The bar was neat with good music in the evening.