Ratings based on 2,145 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

great hotel beautiful few of the city

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Top of the mark excellent place for afternoon cocktails best city view in town
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice, but disappointed with Top of the Mark

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: When we couldn't get a drink at our own hotel bar, we went across the street to the gorgeous Fairmont and had drinks at their Laurel Court & Tonga Rm
Our room was very nice, and the staff was very friendly. But the only reason I chose this one over another I was looking at was for the Top of the Mark. I really wanted to get drinks there before dinner for the view (not eat there as I'd read reviews that it's expensive for okay food). When we got there, there was a wait. We asked if we could just stand at the bar and we're told no, we had to wait in line with those waiting to eat. So disappointing!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location with old-school style

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Location: Cable car, walk to downtown.
Beautiful room, great location. Check with staff regarding website information. Staff was very courteous.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from reno, nv

Absolutely perfect...

Posted Oct 12, 2016
We purchased a night here on a whim because we were taking our son to Stanford the next morning. They treated our son like royalty and gave him a teddy bear upon arrival and upgraded our room without us having to ask. The room was spacious and clean. Loved the decor and it was quiet in the hotel at night. Complimentary coffee and tea cart was placed by the elevators in the lobby in the morning. The staff was super nice and loved the valet, Sal. One of the best stays we have had in San Fran.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Elegant hotel and good location.

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Location: Central to dining and shops just a few minutes away. Top of the Mark is breathtaking.
Fabulous staff and historic building. Room was clean and had nice extra little conviences. We would stay again, but the noise within the floors at night when trying to sleep is disturbing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orem, UT

Great hotel ... older but kept in good condition

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: Full mini fridge with no room to chill personal items
Location: Great food and shopping near by, but serious hills in every direction.
Room was nice, staff was great! Super helpful. Mini fridge was packed full of super expensive items to the point that nothing else fit. We did not ask them to clear it, which they may have done if asked. Bottled water was $6 each. Cool restaurants and stores close by, but be prepared to hike up serious hills ... and I mean serious.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, shame about breakfast

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Good hotel, with friendly helpful staff. Short walk down to downtown shopping area. About a half hour walk down to Fisherman's Wharf. NB "down" being the operative word! Going back the other way is a little more taxing. Only downside is that the breakfast was hugely over-priced for what you got and the quality was lacking as well.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Excellent location

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Very pleasant hotel, amazing views. Rooms good size very clean and comfortable. Would stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from edinburgh

Good location. Great views

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Very good. Concierges very helpful No more!!!' Poppoopoppoooopooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooppopppooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A reliably pleasant experience.

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: Finishes. Staff.
Cons: More dining options.
Location: Buy a pass and ride the cable cars!
One of my favorite hotels on the west coast. Beautifully furnished, gracious and pleasant staff. Limited dining options but 24 hour room service.