Ratings based on 2,111 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reno NV

Great location

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything I mentioned above.
Location: It is within walking distance to Union Square and there is a wonderful steakhouse restaurant nearby called The Big 4.
While this was a great location I would probably not stay here again. The bed was one of the worst hotel beds I have slept in in a long time. There was no coffeemaker. The layout of the bathroom was awful with no countertop space whatsoever. The water pressure in the shower made for a very long shower to get the shampoo and conditioner out of my hair.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York City

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Late Night room service food
Location: One of several hotels just one block away from the Masonic.
Location-wise, this was perfect for anyone coming into San Francisco for a concert at the Masonic, which is just a block away. The staff were great. The hotel feels a little old, as it is in an old former mansion and cultural center. But it is fancy. The late night room service was incredibly overpriced and subpar, awful burrito. The doormen, concierge and front desk staff were awesome.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Aug 23, 2016
A hotel with an excellent location to explore the city. Satisfactory services and care
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: Location, History,
Location: Everything is a cable car away
Can take the cable cars in all directions. Staff was very accommodating. Top of Mark was the best
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from austin, texas

Posted Aug 5, 2016
The hotel is beautiful and we had a wonderful time dinning in the restaurant and dancing all night at Top Of The Mark!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Rosa,CA

Nice hotel with a lot of history

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: On the top of the Mark you have nice entertainment with beautiful views of the city
Cons: I think they should have kept breakfast on the Top of the Mark
Location: It's convenient to everything shopping , good restaurants and entertainment
It's close to Union Sqare and it's easy to get to all the touristy places. The bathroom was way too small the sink was out in the room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vista, CA

old San Francisco charm

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: close to shopping and 24 hour room service and, of course, Top of the Mark!
Cons: longer times for town car service
Location: Union Square, Fisherman's Wharf, shopping, Chinatown
Stayed at this hotel for a family vacation. It's in a great location close to Union Square, Chinatown and more. The hotel offers a complimentary town car service within a mile and 24 hour room service. The rooms were great and we had a fantastic time! Staff was exceptional from concierge to check in staff to doormen. Make sure to go to the Top of the Mark for great views and drinks!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Hotel staff don't anticipate or offer help but you still need to ask them.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Loved my stay at the Mark Hopkins. The staff was courteous and knowledgeable. Everyone was very helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Easy walking distance to the city and sights. Great views from my room.
I only stayed at the hotel one night. It was close to China Town and downtown. Located at the top of a hill provided good exercise when exploring the area.