Ratings based on 2,519 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Nice hotel good location

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Great location , great breakfast, parking too expensive
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Iconic Hotel

Posted Nov 18, 2017
From Sal meeting you at the door when you enter to the classic architecture and details. This hotel is fantastic head to toe!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2017
hotel is outdated and furniture is visibly warn. chair in hotel room had cigarette burns. staff was attentive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Corona del Mar

Love the location, and the late check out time

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: History and location
Cons: I enjoy the hotel
Location: close to everything as I walked all over the city
Will come back and stay there everytime I come to SF. I have been staying there for 50 years as a child with my grandparents as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Lovely and wonderful stay! I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

San Francisco

Posted Oct 24, 2017
We got to the Mark Hopkins and they had no record of the Expedia transaction. Fortunately they had a room for us, great counter help and manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stockton, CA

Memories of my Parents

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: It was so close to the concert at Grace Cathedral and that made for an easy walk. I also loved the Top of the Mark, and enjoyed the atmosphere.
My WWII parents stayed at the Mark Hopkins in 1947 when my war bride mother arrived from Sydney, Australia. I had always wished to see for myself the inside of this hotel. It was charming, and the staff very helpful. George, the concierge, was especially helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

nob hill

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: see above
Location: everything
room could use some updating ... my room 's bathroom was the smallest bathroom I have ever stayed in .And the windows in the room were original issue when the building was first built ... Location of the hotel is very nice and the hotel staff were fine .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, good location.

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Nice hotel that could be great with some updating(.ie lamps, bed cover, carpet ) Rooms facing the front have very nice views. Breakfast is just ok, a bit pricey for what they offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Great location, beautiful setting and view, amazing staff and lots of amenities at an affordable price. Thank you for a great home away from home. Also restaurant was awesome the food was great quality cooked and served with perfection.