Ratings based on 2,034 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from T

Posted May 3, 2016
The staff was excellent. We enjoyed the ambiance of the hotel. Accomidations were eccellent
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

A First Class hotel in a great location.

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: Location, of course. The Top of the Mark is just an elevator ride away. Great service, and nice amenities.
Cons: My only quibble is that the fan in the bathroom didn't seem to work. No bid deal.
Location: Top of Nob Hill! A cable car ride from Fisherman's Wharf, Market Street, Union Square, Chinatown is just a few blocks. The Tonga room is across the st
Just one night, but very nice indeed. I rarely stay in first class hotels, but wanted to splurge in San Francisco. Check in was quick and easy, as was parking. The beds were very comfortable, and the room was very quiet. Service was excellent. Cable cars passing by out the window. Room service for breakfast was quick and the food (and coffee) were great. All of it a bit pricey, but that's what I expected. This was the fifth day of a seven day trip, with lots of road time and stops in various motels, so a bit of luxury was a nice break. A very nice experience overall.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san jose

Sleeping next to the elevator

Posted May 2, 2016
Hi, Not sure by where to start. Went to this hotel 10 years ago in one of the suite. I remember as being class, warm, upscale. It's over. We arrived around 7pm. I forgot my driving license and from there we were treated poorly. I had " I need to call my manager". I paid the hotel in advance, showed him 5 credit cards with my name on it. My friend had driving licenses, still it was a big deal. They asked me to see the reference in my emails. I had to pull my iPhone and search for the email. Clearly we didn't feel welcomed. At all. We were 3, they put us in a 2 bed rooms. We imaging they would be queen beds, but no... Full beds. So we called and they changed us to a king bed and a rolling single bed... Next to the elevator.... Disaster. clearly the hotel wasn't full, why on earth put us next to an elevator??? In the morning we called, we just wanted an extra pod for the coffee machine kreurig, because they were 2 and we were ...3. I called the housekeeping and she replied, that it was a room service item and then I will be charged, the coffee pod never arrived... Of course, we had only 2 towels in the room, they never thought about adding one. The top of the mark was beautiful for the view, but super noisy inside, people in jean and baseball cap, while we were wearing cocktail dresses. Very rough. No table cloth, no class whatsoever. It killed my memories of my first arrive in San Francisco 10 years ago, very sad. :(
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room and hotel dirty and in poor condition

Posted May 2, 2016
Front desk manager was nice and upgraded our room after we asked him to come and see the condition of the room we were given. This was like it has not been cleaned for months! The upgraded room had a wonderful view on the city but cleanliness was average.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Had a good experience but the hotel is a bit shabby, needs painting and a redecorated lobby
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mark

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Pros: Location!
Cons: Everything! Everything is outdated! Not woth the money!
Location: Shoping! Museums, stores and food near by!
Awfull food!! Dirty carpets! Noisy a/c in room! There really isnt anything in this hotel that is up to par!! Location is good!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, comfortable, good service.

Posted Apr 11, 2016
I was in town for a meeting and spent little time in hotel. Did use room service- which was excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Great stay, friendly and welcoming staff. Fantastic breakfast buffet!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from salzburg

Hotel aus 1926 in der Nähe des Zentrums

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Pros: Zentrumsnähe
Cons: Die Fenster
Die Zimmer haben uralte Fenster ohne irgendeinen Lärmschutz.Direkt neben dem Hotel führt die cablecar vorbei,die so wie alte Straßenbahnen sehr viel Lärm verursacht.Im Zimmer hat man das Gefühl,an der Straße zu stehen.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tolles Hotel in bester Lage auf den Nob Hill

Posted Apr 8, 2016
Großartiges, schönes Hotel auf dem Nob Hill mit gepflegten Zimmern in einem sehenswerten Gebäude und dazu noch die legändere Bar "Top of the Mark" mit Rundumblick über die Stadt. Bei uns gab es eine Fehlbuchung, statt drei Betten waren nur zwei gebucht, die Hotelmanagerin löste das Problem schnell und unkompliziert und gab uns zudem noch ein Upgrade, großartig. Wir haben uns sehr wohlgefühlt und kommen gerne wieder. Ein toller Aufenthalt in San Francisco.