Ratings based on 2,338 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from prior lake MN

Great location, if you don't mind walking some ste

Posted May 20, 2017
Great location, if you don't mind walking some steep streets. Classy hotel with great ambience and comfort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Intentional Lock Out?

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Professional first class staff worked hard to keep the lobby and food service running smooth. Location, location, locadtion...view, view view.
Cons: Fraud procedures should first assume guest is innocent and potentially hotel is wrong. Part of being in the hotel business to take some risk.
Location: Easy access to cable cars!!
After a long day of walking around town we returned hotel only to be locked out of room. Front desk staff / mgmt said credit card was not valid...DESPITE assuring this upon check in. Calling my bank and card services they said the Mark Hopkins DID NOT verify at all. I had used the card at airport as well as on the wharf no problem. Is the Mark Hopkins so broke / concerned with fraud that they have to resort to such evassive measures? Worse yet the very next day they made the VERY same mistake leaving us a nasty note under the door. We still tipped all the hard working staff very well..BUT I think this hotel has a mgmt incompetency problem.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Lovely on the outside, terrible inside

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Cons: Service levels, rooms need upgrading, the breakfast chairs were dirty and should be replaced - the entire hotel needs a revamp.
The hotel is run down, grubby, in desperate need of an overhaul. Even the staff are tired and disinterested. Only thing that has kept up with the times is the price. It was so bad we moved after one night of a 4 day stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from c

Was a seemingly nice place

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Very dated rooms and tiny bathrooms. Woke up to no power and no water pressure for showers. Hours of no power them had to walk down 9 flights to check out with no offer of refund or anything else. Not very happy, ended the rest of our trip
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose CA

Great stay for an overnight!

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Cons: Wait staff.
Booked this hotel for a Thursday night so we were not far from the Masonic where we were seeing a concert. It was for a birthday trip, and they upgraded our room because I called ahead. Check in was easy. I would recommend signing up for their customer rewards which is free and you get free wifi and late check out with it. Parking was $60 however worth it w in and out priv. Its literally on Nob Hill so you will be driving up a direct incline to get there! Recommend going to the Grace Cath across the street and googling the mansion's history as well. Top of the Mark - really great food, cocktails are standard and of course over priced but its great for a "we're on vacation!" The wait staff was not the best. Would have ordered another cocktail but he never came back after dropping out check. No reservations so first come first serve.. view was awesome. I highly recommend the bfast buffet. It was amazing!!! Wait staff again not so good but the food was really good!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Great location, nice hotel !!

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Valet Parking too expensive, hotel location is great, overall good experience !!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

history, luxury and location!

Posted Apr 22, 2017
The San Francisco landmark did not disappoint. It Is a great location, has fabulous views, nice amenities, friendly staff, it was clean and the Top of the Mark was perfect for predinner drinks and an amazing sunset. We hope to come back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Romantic hotel, great for a getaway. The room was great, lovely staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Elk Grove,CA.

Great experience

Posted Apr 19, 2017
We enjoyed the stay. Plus being able to head to top of Mark Hopkins for the entertainment and ambience was fun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place, great service!!!!

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Unfortunately we couldn't use the fridge. Just we could use as a bar and we got charged.