Ratings based on 2,049 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's about the location

Posted May 19, 2016
The valet staffs are very polite. Every one is professional. The room I got (standard) is not very special but ok.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2016
Very rude staff and old hotel. I would never stay here again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver CO

Excellent location for Sanfrancisco sight-seeing.

Posted May 12, 2016
Great location, walking distance to North Beach (20 minutes), China Town (10 minutes), the Wharf (30 minutes), and Union Square (10 minutrs). Staff is friendly, professional and helpful. Bed and linens are wonderful. Top of the Mark is great to visit for food or a drink.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted May 10, 2016
The location is great with beautiful views of the city from the Top of the Mark.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2016
Beautiful hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Amazing views.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 6, 2016
Great room. Beautiful view. I like being up on Nob Hill out of the crowds but walking distance to Union Square.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from T

Posted May 3, 2016
The staff was excellent. We enjoyed the ambiance of the hotel. Accomidations were eccellent
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

A First Class hotel in a great location.

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: Location, of course. The Top of the Mark is just an elevator ride away. Great service, and nice amenities.
Cons: My only quibble is that the fan in the bathroom didn't seem to work. No bid deal.
Location: Top of Nob Hill! A cable car ride from Fisherman's Wharf, Market Street, Union Square, Chinatown is just a few blocks. The Tonga room is across the st
Just one night, but very nice indeed. I rarely stay in first class hotels, but wanted to splurge in San Francisco. Check in was quick and easy, as was parking. The beds were very comfortable, and the room was very quiet. Service was excellent. Cable cars passing by out the window. Room service for breakfast was quick and the food (and coffee) were great. All of it a bit pricey, but that's what I expected. This was the fifth day of a seven day trip, with lots of road time and stops in various motels, so a bit of luxury was a nice break. A very nice experience overall.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san jose

Sleeping next to the elevator

Posted May 2, 2016
Hi, Not sure by where to start. Went to this hotel 10 years ago in one of the suite. I remember as being class, warm, upscale. It's over. We arrived around 7pm. I forgot my driving license and from there we were treated poorly. I had " I need to call my manager". I paid the hotel in advance, showed him 5 credit cards with my name on it. My friend had driving licenses, still it was a big deal. They asked me to see the reference in my emails. I had to pull my iPhone and search for the email. Clearly we didn't feel welcomed. At all. We were 3, they put us in a 2 bed rooms. We imaging they would be queen beds, but no... Full beds. So we called and they changed us to a king bed and a rolling single bed... Next to the elevator.... Disaster. clearly the hotel wasn't full, why on earth put us next to an elevator??? In the morning we called, we just wanted an extra pod for the coffee machine kreurig, because they were 2 and we were ...3. I called the housekeeping and she replied, that it was a room service item and then I will be charged, the coffee pod never arrived... Of course, we had only 2 towels in the room, they never thought about adding one. The top of the mark was beautiful for the view, but super noisy inside, people in jean and baseball cap, while we were wearing cocktail dresses. Very rough. No table cloth, no class whatsoever. It killed my memories of my first arrive in San Francisco 10 years ago, very sad. :(
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room and hotel dirty and in poor condition

Posted May 2, 2016
Front desk manager was nice and upgraded our room after we asked him to come and see the condition of the room we were given. This was like it has not been cleaned for months! The upgraded room had a wonderful view on the city but cleanliness was average.