Ratings based on 2,196 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from santa cruz ca

Holiday party

Posted Dec 6, 2016
It was very clean and elegant we had a fun Christmas party at the hotel.. we loved the bed and pillows. Very happy with our stay!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

San Francisco Classic

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: Great location.
Location: In the heart of the city, easy to get anywhere in the city via public transit or taxi cab.
Great hotel, outstanding views of the city, very friendly and helpful staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Cons: Provide free coffee
Location: location good.
Everything over priced. Had to pay for coffee - what a shame. No vents in bathroom - awfu
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Muy caro

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Muy caro para lo que es. No vale la pena. Está muy viejo
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful, historic hotel. Great location.

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: Grand decor. Location. The view of the city.
Cons: The restaurants in the hotel had odd hours and high prices.
Location: The concierge is helpful to book tours of the city and surrounding areas and to advise about restaurants.
I wanted to stay here because I have heard about it as being exemplary since I was a child. It met my expectations. The view is amazing and walking distance to China Town. The staff is very pleasant and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TOLUCA LAKE, United States of America

IN LOVE WITH NOB HILL & MARK HOPKINS TEAM

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: They had everything we needed......helped us with everything, offered to take pictures for us, it was raining and they offered car service for us
Cons: N/A
Location: So much to do! Everything was close....Nob Hill, Chinatown, Pier 39, the mall, great restaurants and the Bay.
This was my very first trip to San Fran and boy did us girls have a BALL!!!! Mark Hopkins crew was the BOMB!!! They had everything we needed......helped us with everything, offered to take pictures for us, it was raining and they offered car service for us, greeted us EVERY time they saw us, even the housekeepers were so pleasant! We will definitely be back for the next stay! Restaurants were great at the hotel, fun atmosphere and everything!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice vintage hotel

Posted Nov 19, 2016
I unfortunately was at the wrong hotel. I was supposed to be at the intercontinental hotel near the mascone center. I wish there was a better distinction of the two hotels.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great Location

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Hotel is a bit old. The best thing about this property is its location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Cons: We spent a lot on our meal, no microwave in room, only hotel I've stayed at that didn't have one
Location: Good location, easy to get around
Very nice hotel, recommend eating out, don't bring back leftovers
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: Exterior is nice
Cons: Update
Old and outdated furniture in rooms and at Top of Mark