Ratings based on 720 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not so good

Posted Dec 29, 2015
This hotel looks ok but there are a few things amiss. For instance, no coffe in the rooms. There is an espresso maker that will drop a 4 ounce espresso, however, ours did not work. The showers are tiny, there is no extra space in the mini fridge for your own items (and charges are automatically applied to your bill based on weight), you have to order ice (so you need to tip), the concierge booked us dinner reservations without any questions about preferences (likes, price range, etc), and breakfast for $30 means waiting in a 20-45 minute line to be seated for a buffet. Oh, they took our towels but didn't replace them, and I noticed once I got out of the shower. Overall not a great experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't book!

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Overpriced dissappointing hotel. Check in takes about 30 mins, room not ready at the time promised, that adds another 30 mins to check in
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice stay

Posted Dec 14, 2015
It was a good stay! Ill be coming back soon for sure! Thanks!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location.....air conditioning system noisy

Posted Dec 4, 2015
Pros: Nice gym
They charged me 2 bucks for a banana which is stupid
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great hotel located close to Union Square.

Posted Dec 1, 2015
Pros: food, service, room size
This is our second time staying at the JW Marriot. We are a family of 4. Rooms are nice size and stylishly decorated. Bathrooms have a huge tub and separate shower. There is a nice gym that my husband used during our stay. There is free coffee in the lobby every morning. The food is on the pricey side. The only meal we ate was the breakfast buffet which is really good and worth the money. The staff are really friendly and helpful. The guest service desk is really helpful with providing a map of the city and giving us suggestions on where to eat, visit, etc. I plan to stay there again the next time we are in San Francisco.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel next to union square

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Very nice as you would expect a Marriott to be. Close to lots of shops and restaurants. Very nice. Highly recommend this to Hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bryan TX

Posted Nov 23, 2015
The staff is very service oriented. Impressive accommodations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Great stay, great location. Our room was very comfy. Bed, bath, and shower was great. We were on the 8th floor but elevator worked just fine, not slow. My only complaint I don't think is Marriott fault, just San Francisco in general. Noisy streets all day and night. And valet parking was stupid expensive. Knowing what I know now, I still recommend this hotel for the overall experience. I would uber everywhere and not have a car til I leave the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Patricia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and accessible hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel was situated right at Union Square, which was very accessible to Fisherman's Wharf, Piers 33 and 39. Also, shopping and various cuisines were right at the doorstep. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The only downside was there was no free WiFi.