Ratings based on 888 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over priced

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Cons: The bedding and coffee pot
Location: Adequate
It was clean and well appointed. The only coffee machine in the room only made espresso and I prefer regular coffee so we had to get dressed immediately after waking up to go out and get the morning cup. The pillows were hard and the bed was uncomfortable. The air conditioner didn't seem to be working and it was hot. The windows are paper thin. We were on the 8th floor overlooking the street and heard the traffic all night. A woman down below was arguing with someone at 5:30 am and we could hear the whole thing and couldn't sleep through it. We checked out early and were exhausted, not having slept all night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: room cleanness.
Location: did not like the location so many homeless on the streets.
Hotel was nice our room was remodeled and clean but the area was not pleasant so many homeless people around the neighborhood and streets weren't clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fresno, ca

Union square right around the corner

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Another great stay at this hotel, staff very friendly and helpful for restaurant choices gor dinner. I say forget aboyt room service and go explore the numerous local eatery spots in union square.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Abu Dhabi

Excellent location, friendly and efficient staff

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Location Facilities Staff
Cons: Ongoing renovation should take care of all due upgrades to facilities.
Location: Union square, shopping and dining
Excellent location Friendly staff Excellent dining and room service Newly renovated rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Well located and professionally managed. The lobby is a bit confusing but in general a good hotel for brief stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phoenix, az

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Flew in for a one night stay because of medical tests. Everyone was nice & helpful. The room was updated and clean. The bathroom was amazing!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

King size bed for family of four

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Makeover
I think the title of this post says it all. Booked a room for my wife and my two young kids for two nights. We usually get a room with two queen size beds and to my surprise the room only had one bed. I was not given any solution for the first night because "we are sold out". This hotel is old and in bad condition. The service is TERRIBLE. Not what I expect from a JW Marriott.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in the city!

Posted Jul 16, 2017
We had a wonderful experience at the JWMarriott on Union Square in SF. Great location! Our room was beautiful and very spacious. Wonderful amenities! Would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from t

JW Marriott, San Fran

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Could not fault the hotel. Lovely and clean. Was undergoing some refurb it didn't bother us at all. Used room service which was spot on too. Also used concierge to get Alcatraz tickets. Very helpful indeed. Loved the glass elevators 😀
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver canada

Excellent Hotel!

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Our first time staying at a JW Marriott hotel. Amazing service. Only thing we found woukd have made it perfect would have been free WIFI from our hotel room. It is free in the Lobby so we made it work.