Ratings based on 854 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Near union Square

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Small rooms though! Very clean, wouldn't recommend it if you're visit SF for the first time. It's a very very busy area! Great hotel overall!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

The hotel was close to everything

Posted Jun 3, 2017
We really enjoy our stay people were so nice, hotel always clean and beautiful and walking distance to everything was the best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from simi valley, california

Centrally located in Union Square

Posted May 22, 2017
Staff was amazing. Hotel is dated but all rooms are currently being renovated. Two issues I did not like, 1. Windows in room not soundproof, noise on the street was too loud and kept me awake for many nights. 2. Shower was too small, couldn't move around, took forever to warm up and had no handheld shower head for those hard to reach places! Also no exhaust fan in the bathroom. I loved the room service, the hotel bar, the mini mart and the cell phone charging station. I enjoyed my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Five star hotel. Great location in union square.

Posted May 16, 2017
Walking distance to shopping p, great restaurants, financial district and Chinatown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wales

A beautiful central hotel.

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: The quick helpfulness of your very friendly and knowledgeable staff. The sumptuous decoration.. The central location
Cons: Nothing
Location: The hotel is at an excellent central location for all amenities.
We found this Marriott an excellent hotel. It's in an ideal,central location, the staff were very friendly and professional and both the public areas and our room were beautifully decorated. I recommend this as a top class hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m

lost power

Posted Apr 23, 2017
When they lost power there was no backup to get people down to the ground floor. Thank goodness we weren't in the elevator. Shouldn't they have back up power??
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redwood City

One night birthday celebration

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Once the confusing check-in was solved had an excellent stay here. Gorgeous hotel, beautiful, clean modern room on 14th floor. Amazing city views. Free coffee in the morning. Loved the valet and concierge at 3am, kind, hardworking and friendly! Super close to BART, leave the car at home. Wished it was a longer stay. Good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mangham

hotel is center of multiple attractions

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: close proximity to all the areas in san Francisco , the food at level 3 ordered for room service was about the best we had through out the city .
Cons: I have nothing bad to recommend changing , however better windows to lock out the street noise would make it perfect !
Location: shopping , and dinning out were all in walking distance . if you had to taxi , it was not far to travel
had a great stay , we were able to use hotel concierge to find the best places to visit . rooms were cleaned every day and were spotless ! we can say that if we had to choose again , it would be the JW Marriott . it was a bit noisy , but it was in the heart of the city which can be expected . I recommend that if looking for a upper class room and service for a fair price , stay there .
5 out of 5
by melissa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto, ontario canada

Luxurious hotel that will exceed expectations!

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Just spent four days at the JW Marriott and it was stellar. Very luxurious, most definitely a 5 star hotel. The rooms are large and spacious. And the bathrooms are HUGE. Extremely nice staff and accommodating. They helped us out with all tours and activities and booked everything for us. It is a must stay. Best hotel in union square.