Ratings based on 2,004 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Great hotel and location

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Clean rooms and friendly staff
Location: Very close to Union Square. We also walked down to Fisherman's Wharf from the hotel, but we're used to walking a lot so it wasn't too far for us.
This was our first time in San Fran and the hotel was in a great location, close to everything we wanted to do or close to transportation. The staff was very friendly and helpful with directions or food recommendations. The water temp fluctuated a bit in the shower but nothing too bad. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Nice staff and location

Posted Jun 8, 2017
We had 2 separate rooms on the top floor, the views from both were average to poor. The rooms were a little smaller than I expected however we had double queens reducing remaining floor space. Picked the hotel for location and some unique features but once in the region discovered there were a lot of boutique hotels around. This one was quite expensive for what we got. I would possibly stay here again but I would shop around a bit more first to see if I could find a similar but cheaper one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel.

Posted May 23, 2017
Stayed there in May. Friendly staff comfortable rooms. Awesome restaurant next door and coffee shops all around. Will stay again
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Kawika, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments! Look forward to hosting you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice

Posted May 19, 2017
close to union square,easy to find food,nice position.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manila, Philippines

Hotel with fantastic location

Posted May 12, 2017
For a hotel situated right beside Union Square, the price was affordable. Location was fantastic! It was close to all the shops, restaurants, transport, and a Walgreens right around the corner. Staff were professional, friendly, and accommodating. The hotel is very old, but it's not so bad. Elevators worked well, rooms were clean, wifi was stable, and the amenities were more or less complete. The beds were very comfortable! I saw reviews about the street noise, but from the 10th floor, it wasn't a problem. One thing though, is that for three people with three luggages, the royal room with two double beds (which can accommodate up to four people) was pretty tight. Overall, it was still a fantastic stay. I would recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bellevue WA

Not a 4 star hotel

Posted May 4, 2017
The location was great. Right by union square and close to everything. The room didn't have AC, one of two elevators never worked and the overall the hotel was very old and run down.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

wonderful hotel beautiful views

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: nice staff
Cons: cheaper valet parking
Location: union square,chinatown and nob hill. close to practically any and every kind of shopping
if you were as lucky as we were to be on the 9th floor we had an amazing view of nob hill. this hotel is 1 block away from union square. easy to walk to anywhere from this hotel and the staff was amazing with every question or request we had. the restaurant next door has an amazing happy hour and great drinks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Location, but not lux

Posted May 1, 2017
For the money one can't complain about how it is dated. Staff were mostly friendly and helpful. If you want to be in a great location and do not plan to spend much time at your hotel then this a great option. San Francisco can be very expensive, so by that measure this place is very affordable and provides a good location...just don't expect "the finer things..."
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Perfect location!

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Excellent experience!! Would absolutely return. Lovely hotel with great staff eager to help. Perfect location - half a block from union square and the cable car without the noise or sketchy people around. Cannot stress this enough! Some spots near Union Square are very sketchy, but this street was great, always felt very safe. Room was comfortable, clean. Felt very lucky to have found this gem and for a very reasonable price!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Old hotel but ok if you get a good rate. No restaurant.