Ratings based on 2,031 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gridley, CA

Great hotel and wonderful staff

Posted Jul 14, 2017
My husband was in the hospital recovering from surgery. The staff was so helpful and accommdoting understanding that I needed to book each day as I didn't know when he would be released. Couldn't ask for a more accommodating and helpful staff. Plan to stay on that hotel every chance I get. Also great neighborhood for food and safe. Good restaurants very near hotel. Everything one needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Great central location.

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Great central location. On or near bus lines. Excellent customer service. Fun atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Just a few minutes walk to Japan center. Nice, clean and relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

relaxed and cool hotel in really fun neighborhood

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Eight very nice blocks to California Street cable car. Great non-tourist / local neighborhood. Two blocks to wonderful Fillmore District with tons of good food and interesting shopping. Modern interiors with a warm minimalist flavor. Supper nice staff and great service. Perfect for us - we had a great time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Little amenities, nice staff, overpriced

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: The location, and the staff.
Cons: Bathroom doors that function and lock, two bedside tables for a king room. A chest of drawers under the tv so that there is a place for folded clothes
Location: Japantown is right across the street.
No storage for clothes to speak of. Only one bedside table for a king bed. Only two lamps, a desk lamp and a bedside lamp, no overhead lighting. Luggage rack in the bathroom. Bathroom door with no lock and the door didn't stay shut without fiddling. No restaurant, very little spaces for self-parking. I have stayed at Kimpton's in the past and this facility is not up to that standard in any way, however the price charged for the rooms is. For the price there are other hotels to stay at will have all the things mentioned. The staff is very nice, and the hotel is spotless.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

great location and service

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Location, facilities, staff, free happy hour.
Cons: Sink outside the bathroom.
Location: Food and shopping on Fillmore Street, walking beautiful Pacific Heights, Japantown fun and full of local color - and amazing sushi places.
Between Pacific Heights and the lovely restaurants on Fillmore St, and Japantown's great cheap food. Away from the dirt and tackiness of Union Square, Fisherman's Wharf etc. Interior courtyard, great place to chill, and nice free wine and mixed drinks everyday at 5:00. Right by the bus. We had a lot of requests, and the staff was unfailingly helpful and cheerful. Room was spacious (we were 4 adults) and clean. I would take a city-view over a courtyard room with it's own patio - the patios were part of the courtyard, not that private. I would definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great and staff. Nice rooms. Good location.

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Staff are very helpful and friendly. Comp happy hour 5pm-6pm.
Cons: The bathroom door is really annoying. It swing both directions and block the room access or sways into you at the sink. Nice idea, bad design.
Location: Shopping - eating - lovely homes to see
The have a friendly low-key café in the building. Free Wi-Fi. Good location in Japan town close-walkable to Pacific Heights shopping, restaurants and easy taxi to downtown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Superb stay

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Pros: Nice and Clean
Location: Great Location
EXCELLENT STAFF Hotel on good Bus routes Good clean rooms
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Emily G, Hotel Management
Well, Peter, "Superb" is exciting to hear! Thank you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF Bay area

Boutique hotel in a convenient location

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: The room was cozy and clean. We were able to park in the self parking garage which is on the lower floor of the hotel. I enjoyed the decor.
Location: The hotel is in a residential area with some commercial mixed in. The neighborhood is quiet. We found several good places nearby to eat.
We wanted a hotel near the Fillmore and near restaurants. The hotel is in a very convenient location. The hotel is small but has a nice feel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff!

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: The room. Very clean and very spacious!
I only stayed there for one night. The beds are absolutely comfortable! I just wish they had more parking, and cheaper parking. I had already paid for my stay and on top I paid almost 40 dollars for my car to stay in the hotel's parking overnight. Overall, it's a nice place with very friendly staff members.