Ratings based on 1,782 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fernie, B.C.,

Will come back to this hotel.

Posted Dec 16, 2017
Our first time in San Francisco. We booked this hotel based on location and guest reviews and we weren't disappointed. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the room was comfy and clean. The housekeeping did an outstanding job with the daily clean. The (free) happy hour is such a nice touch. We met some very nice people !!! The location is great. Off the beaten path but close enough to walk everywhere. We definitely recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from berkeley

Ok hotel better in pictures

Posted Dec 12, 2017
I honestly was expecting more. The staff was very nice and friendly, so i can’t complain. When we got there their car garage was full but luckily i found parking right across the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles CA

So accommodating!

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Love this hotel! They are very accommodating!! ........
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california.

Nice hotel in a quiet area.

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Good little hotel. Has parking attached to the hotel ( it’s San Fran so not free!) which is nice and Is in a quiet location. Rooms were clean and comfortable and apart from trying to balance to hot/cold water from the shower I have no complaints. Friendly and helpful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2017 by Emily G, Hotel Management
Hi, Mustard, and happy holidays. Thanks for visiting us and posting your praises for our team to enjoy. If you have not already reported your room to the desk folks for maintenance to diagnose, please drop me a line and we'll send someone up right away!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Looks good on paper

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Saw good reviews and photos online but once you check in, you start to see that it's not the best quality and the staff was too busy on their phones and computers to answer any questions about the area. Rooms were less than what I'd prefer, but we slept. Until 3 am when they started unloading several dumpsters right outside ouur window for a solid 45 minutes. I'm sure we were not the only ones disappointed by this. All in all, I'm giving it a 2 but that's only because I'm feeling generous. I'd recommend against staying here until things change.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by Emily G, Hotel Management
Oh my goodness, M/M Anonymous! Thank you for writing. The trash pick up isn't supposed to happen till at least five hours later than that. I have never heard of a 3am pick-up, that is bizarre! Maybe the holiday made things wonky with San Francisco Recology. We'll make sure to get to the bottom of it. It seems our team also came up short over the holiday by being so busy. I'm sorry you didn't get the kind of Kimpton Buchanan experience that makes us proud. Please contact me about this situation when you have a moment. Thank you so much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Lovely hotel in great location

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Very comfortable hotel with large, clean, quiet rooms with Japanese touches in a safe and friendly area away from the crowds of tourists. Service is excellent. Great location in Japantown with lots of Japanese restaurants just across the road, a 15 minute walk to the restaurants in Hayes Valley and less than 5 minutes walk to Fillmore st restaurants and fun shopping area. If needed a supermarket and laundromat are just a couple of blocks away. Buses to Union Square leave frequently from just across the road from the hotel (15 min trip outside peak times) and others from around the corner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2017 by Emily G, Hotel Management
Thanks for the five stars and high praise, vm! I see that you are dialed in to many of the great neighborhoods at and around our hotel location. This is definitely a great spot for folks who want to feel "local" and like they are getting a true San Francisco boutique experience. Thanks for honing in on that! And, in terms of grocery stores, I'd love to plug my favorite salad bar @ Molly Stones and the amazing Japanese flavors available @ Nijiya market. Check them out next time if you didn't get a chance this time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Favorite place to stay in SF!

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Epic location, perfect decor & design, brilliant staff and a general hip / cool / easy & professional vibe. I'd love here if I could. LOVE THE KIMPTON!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Nice hotel near Japantown and Fillmore Street

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Pros: We loved the room, did not feel cramped. The bed was comfortable and the staff was great.
Location: It is located right across from the entrance to Japantown and one of the best ramen restaurants. Its also very close to Fillmore Street.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Buchanan. The staff was friendly and helpful, our room was spacious, and the bed was very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by Emily G, Hotel Management
Oh, ramen! Food in general is a great reason to stay here, and the thing we probably most love to chat about with guests. For ramen specifically, the team is often jousting about which is the ultimate best... luckily, they are all close by so you all can decide for yourselves: Yamadaya; Hinodeya; Waraku. Anyhow, so glad the team wowed you and the room was spacious and comfy. Hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ottawa

Well thought out.

Posted Oct 31, 2017
This hotel understands that it's all in the details. I was greeted with a glass of wine. Plugs are placed next to the bed on both sides. Beautiful hand paInted art. Bikes are provided. These guys understand what creating an experience is all about. My only minor complaint is that the restaurant was closed for construction and no room service was available and mini bar was empty. Good for my diet, bad for my cravings :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017 by Emily G, Hotel Management
Ha, thanks for this review, Adrian! If you want to break your diet before the end of November (while Mums is closed for a total re-design), we can definitely hook you up with the new healthy(ish) vending machine in the parking area, a Torn Ranch snack box (or 'smores kit...) at the front desk, or a members-only "Raid the Bar" totebag if you join Kimpton Karma Rewards. Something to keep in mind, and we do hope to see you again. Glad you loved all the details and the experience overall here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from clovis ca

Great character, great location, just great

Posted Oct 24, 2017
If you’re looking to be in Union Square or the Wharf.. this isn’t it. This hotel is in the middle of Japantown which is relatively quiet and somewhat residential. There are AMAZING Japanese and Thai restaurants around from take away to fancy sit down. I stayed here to be walking distance to the Fillmore, and was so pleased, I’ll ataybhere again, even when I am not in the city for a concert at the Fillmore. What a gem this place is. Oh and the balcony overlooked Japantown center and the rest of the city. Wow!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2017 by Emily G, Hotel Management
Wonderful! Thanks, Amanda. I'm so glad to see your "wow!" remarks in print, and to know that you feel you've found a gem that will be your go-to (whether heading to the Fillmore for a show or otherwise)! Appreciate you taking the time, and that's a neat picture, too. Thanks.