Ratings based on 2,073 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun hotel in Japantown

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Clean, convenient, excellent staff
Location: We went across the street to the shops and further up one street to the two malls. We also went up a few blocks to get ice cream at Salt and Straw.
We'd never stayed in Japantown before so this was super convenient for us. We were just there for a 3 day weekend to relax since we've visited SF several times before. Location is convenient to walk around. We parked our car in the garage for the nightly fee and never had trouble finding a spot. There is free wine in the lobby every night 5-6 pm! The walls were a bit thin with our neighbors but we only had an issue with that 1 of the nights we stayed there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Nice hotel in a nice neighborhood.

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Loved being outside of downtown and away from heavy tourist areas. Staff was great. Room was spacious, clean and bed was extremely comfortable. Spent 4 nights there and totally enjoyed. Would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Nice Hotel , Great loaction

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: Great Location, Friendly staff
Location: Fillmore, Great restaurants
Walked to Fillmore for food and fun, Easy to get to downtown from here, Japantown was a great time. Staff was helpful with food and fun directions. Be sure to give cab drive address location will create less confusion (Golden gate park is too vague and can get you to many different entrances).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, great staff!

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Staff was amazingly courteous and friendly throughout our entire stay. Would stay there again without question.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

STAY HERE!

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Perfect location, incredible staff, no crappy bathroom products, great art on the walls. I'd live here if I could.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2017
I spent one night here after ending a tour. I did not spend much time in this hotel as I had to leave early the next morning. The people at the front desk were very helpful and polite. The room was so clean and comfortable. My room opened up onto an outside area with seating and an open fire. I recommend staying at this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Great hotel, bar closes to early!!! The review field wants more, that's silly,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york,ny

Great location!

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Perfect location, great staff, happy hour a nice touch, no complaints about this hotel at all.
4 out of 5
by Michelle

Great!

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
Love the Buchanan...they truly took care of all the mistakes made with a prior booking at another hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
Good location. Nice staff. Elevators need to be replaced, old and very slow. Not in keeping with $360 per nite hotel. Bathrooms like Holiday Inn with Art. Poor lighting in the rooms. Smell musty. Need major makeover. Done on the cheap.