Ratings based on 3,951 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

VERY small room.

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Central location. Staff was friendly. Accommodations were clean.
Cons: Room size!
This room was extremely small. I tolerated it for a one night stay. The window shades were broken. The bathroom was so small that they had to cut into the door to close it past the toilet! I would never stay in this room again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ocala, fl

Old classic

Posted Mar 16, 2017
The gorgeous Lobby and a great staff and an excellent location a little bit old and worn around the edges but clean and very functional rooms were little bit small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Great staff. Great location. Loved our stay at Sir Francis Drake. Would stay there again for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Humboldt County, CA

Great vibe in Union Square

Posted Mar 15, 2017
This hotel in the perfect location to Union Square shopping, dining, and night entertainment. Check in was a great experience, we were helped promptly with our luggage, and our luggage was delivered to our room promptly. The lobby is beautiful, and they have an hour in the evenings where you can get a free glass of wine. The top of the hotel is the Starlight Room, which has a beautiful view of the city and you can enjoy drinks and dancing. Scala's restaurant is right next door, and was a great choice for both breakfast and dinner. The only negative thing I have to say about the hotel was when we were checking out, we called the front desk to have someone come up and assist us with our bags, and after waiting 20 minutes no one came, so we carried them all down ourselves without one of those carts, and that was difficult. Once we got down to our car, the jester was busy talking to another group of visitors and left us standing there with our bags waiting for our key for a significant period of time. At one point, I couldn't hold all of my bags, and one actually fell and hit a poor older lady walking out of the hotel. Also, our bill was incorrect, and we were charged $99.00 for eating honor bar food, but once I notified the staff it was corrected. Had our check out gone smoothly, I would have rated this hotel 5 stars across the board.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historic hotel with great location

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Good location and staff
Cons: Bathroom was very small and the elevators extremely slow
Kimpton does a nice job of redeveloping hotels but this one has some physical problems
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by David , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, I really appreciate the feedback and I am truly sorry you did not have an amazing visit. I hope you can give us another chance to change your opinion of us!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a convenient location.

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Charming, good location.
Pretty lobby, courteous staff, charming interior. Easy access to trolley, Union Square, shopping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by David , Hotel Management
Thank you so much, we hope to welcome you back soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Centrally located

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Very centrally located, friendly and helpful staff, beautifully restored old hotel. I enjoyed the complimentary wine tasting in the lobby each evening. It was a fun way to meet and visit with other guests. The only down side is that the room was quite small and didn't have a refrigerator.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by David , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! Our wine hour is extra special because there is so much to see in our lobby, I'm happy you liked it! I hope you can join us again soon, we will make sure to get you a refrigerator!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice!

Posted Feb 27, 2017
My fiance and I stayed at this hotel for the first time, central hotel at Union Square, walking distance to everything! The staff was very welcoming and accommodating. Their Starlight Room (club) was fun. The only thing I'd reccomend is to have a dress code, there were a lot of people very casual, it's such a pretty place, jeans should not be an option. I will definately come back to stay again in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by David , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments and it's great to hear you enjoyed your visit! We hope to see you again very soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Dated hotel, great Union Sqare location.

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Hotel badly needs updating. Tiny bathrooms, $59 overnight parking, noisy. Great access to cable cars, Union Square and Chinatown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by David , Hotel Management
Thanks Milton, I'm sorry to hear you weren't happy with your visit! We hope you can give us another chance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from NORTHERN VIRGINIA

Classic early 20th Century Hotel

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Great location. Terrific bed.Friendly, professional staff.
Cons: Water pressure was minimal which I attribute to idiots who have been running California for the past 40 years.
Location: I was there for a conference, not sightseeing.
The staff was superb. The hotel is what I expected from an early 20th century establishment. The rooms aren't huge, in fact the bathroom was tight, but the bed was fantastic. Great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by David , Hotel Management
Thank you do much Steve, so sorry about the water pressure - we hope this doesn't keep you from visiting again soon!