Ratings based on 2,191 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham, CA

Centrally Located

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Pros: Location. Price is right.
Cons: Softer beds, better pillows. Rooms were small.
Location: All kinds of places to eat near. Close to bars.
Friendly staff. Great location. Small rooms. Good deal.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wellington, New Zealand

Good location. Stylish little hotel.

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Pros: As above, especially great location near Union Square. Very nice staff.
Cons: One absolutely terrible feature: on Monday we were not permitted to sit at all in the lobby, even while waiting for a pick up. See above.
Location: Union Square. Blues and Biscuits club. Shops and diners. very good location.
Very nice staff. Pleasant rooms - very small, but well decorated; different from the norm with the King George theme. Huge drawback was the lobby seating. On the Monday we were not permitted to sit down at all, even while waiting for a pick up or while having a coffee at the bar. We were told that all lobby seats were for rent! We were on holiday; other guests were in San Fran on business. All of us were horrified at this ridiculous policy. Simply unacceptable when you are a guest in the hotel and we have not experienced this anywhere else around the world.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york city

Great location

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Pros: Location; intimate feel
Hotel is conveniently located near Union Square. Rooms are cozy, clean and comfortable. Totally happy with my stay there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant enough

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Very good central location, handy to union square and great eateries. You can hear through the walls relatively easily... Basic, comfortable and clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2018
This was a nice hotel. Nothing outstanding and not bad for a San Francisco hotel. Due to the age of the building, the rooms are very small. There is one small elevator for the entire hotel and the stairs are very small and winding. I would assume that the building is a historic building because the stairs were definitely not up to code. The hotel was clean and the staff was nice. The only real complaint is that our rooms shower had no pressure at all, but it was a one night stay so we didn't worry about it too much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Christchurch, New Zealand

Great location

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Pros: Location!
Location: Close to Union Square, Market St and a number of eateries.
Great location, right by Union Square. Good amenities, clean and tidy, though in-room WiFi was awful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 24, 2017
Great hotel with great staff who truly care about their guests. The location can cause it to get a little loud outside which can be heard from your room, but if you’re in San Francisco then that should be expected anyways. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and were very impressed with the service!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Posted Dec 23, 2017
Pros: Location
Room & bathroom too small, lobby under construction, old building with poor maintenance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2017 by Candice cancino , Hotel Management
Dear Brigitte, Thank you for sharing your recent stay. We do hope you can give us a second chance now that our lobby renovation is complete.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia, Newcastle

Nice hotel in a great location

Posted Dec 22, 2017
Room was really small but very clean and comfortable. The hotel was in a great location. My only complaint was the building work that stated next door at 0700 every morning
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2017 by Candice Cancino, Hotel Management
Dear Toni, Thanks for your kind words! I've been working with the Construction Management next door to minimise the noise impact. Hopefully this will deter you from staying with us again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast

Deceptive Front-desk Staff

Posted Dec 21, 2017
Cons: Front desk staff need to be more transparent. If things aren't working in the hotel, tell us BEFORE we check in.
What a horrible experience. We had three reserved rooms at this hotel. Check in was nice and easy but when we got to our rooms (after a 14 hour flight) there was no hot water!!!!!! I spoke to the front desk staff who then told me that their hot water was no longer working and that there would be NO WATER the following day. I understand that these things happen, but it would've been nice for them to tell us this before we checked in. I complained about this and about the dishonestly of the check-in staff and they said that they would refund our stay but were in no help in finding us alternative accomodation. Further to this, any stay in the city was five times the price. It was a horrible experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2017 by Candice cancino , Hotel Management
Dear Luke, Our sincere apologies that your stay was severely impacted during the time we had our boiler malfunction. We did however swiftly replace the boiler with a brand new system. We hope that you can forgive us for the isolated situation and give us the opportunity to wow you especially now that our lobby renovation is complete. I look forward to discussing further with you.