Ratings based on 1,833 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice for the price, near marina, shopping.

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: price, location
Cons: cleaning staff was talking very loudly in the hallways at 7am.
Location: marina district walk to restaurants on chestnut, not far from the ocean and golden gate bridge.
For the lower price compared to other hotels it was fine. Clean comfortable beds. basics. Walgreens across the street if you forget anything. Traffic is sometimes load near the road, and parking is tight. Cleaning staff was loud in the am, but other than that hot shower nice tv etc.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

"Free parking" not accurate

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: Clean, good cleaning staff
Cons: Breakfast was pretty meager compared to every hotel breakfast I have had
Location: Conveniently located down the street from a Walgreen's. Other good places to eat nearby.
The hotel was accurately depicted in the ads except for the LIMITED free parking. There is only enough to accommodate 50% of guests. The late night assistant was very helpful on this but this is just not an accurate description "Some free parking" would clear this up. Then you wouldn't expect it onsite.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

rooms ok but noisy

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: price
Cons: noise!
Location: walking distance to restaurants on Chesnut
Room was fine, but so noisy. I did expect noise from Lombard traffic, but whatever was making a loud noise at night kept me awake a good portion of the night. AC from another room, central heating unit, elevator etc. Not sure what it was
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria,Australia

Nice Hotel

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Great location.
Location: You are within walking distance of the Golden Gate bridge(about half an hour). There is a quaint little cinema about 5 minutes away.
While this is not the fanciest of places to stay it is in a great location close to public transport and the staff were really helpful. The rooms were clean and and there are a couple of nice cafes close by.All we really cared about was a bed to sleep on and not being to far removed from everything.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from las vegas, nv

needs a REAL review, here it is.

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: oh my, some new pillows, sheets & amenities. and new management.
Location: ice cream, and a supermarket. the new york barbque a block away is convenient, but the chicken was a bit tough.
no doubt about it, the location is fabulous. at checkin, we asked about close restaurants, and were told that if we drove to one, there may not be a parking space when we get back. i noted that 'free parking' was advertised, but the clerk said there weren't enough spaces for guests. and since there was no available street parking, he couldn't say what we should do with the car if we went out and all was full upon our return. HUH?? we could walk to a few restaurants, but we were hoping for seafood - it is san francisco after all - but there are none within walking distance. then we got to the room. evidently management is only concerned with filling the rooms, not necessarily updating. the rug actually had several iron marks in it, the bathroom mirror was very dusty, as was the bed tables & lamps; and i cringed a bit at the sheets. the water barely dribbled out of the shower, and the surrounding rooms did not have much in the way of soundproofing, especially when the toilet was flushed or someone took a shower. and $3.00 for a bottle of water? there is a walgreens half a block away that has a bigger bottle for $1.19. even the elevator had the picture on the wall ripped.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One night stay

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Offered parking.
The room was adequate. The actual room requires upgrading. The rug was burnt. Water bottles in the room for $3.00. No immediate electrical outlet to make coffee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Good accomodations with great locations

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Great Location and Reasonable Price
Cons: I only thing that didn't meet my basic expectations were the mattresses. Older, softer and a bit uneven. Swap those out and I'd have no complaints.
Location: Walking to great restaurants, near Golden Gate, near Marina district, Near Presidio, quick driving via US101 to anywhere else.Felt safe & comfortable
I stayed here 7 years ago for simple accommodations at a reasonable price. SF is a great city with a lot to do, so I'm not usually interested in paying a lot for hotel features I won't need or use. La Luna is a classic motel building updated to feel contemporary. The site and rooms are simple but comfortable. Our recent room had the usual flat screen tv, refrigerator (I think, didn't use it), coffee maker, nice lighting and an attractive bathroom. Parking is free on a first-come-first-serve basis. I love the location. On this trip, we explored the western coast of SF and by the end of the day we were 5 minutes from La Luna. We left the car after check-in and walked to dinner nearby with plenty of choices and felt safe. Sleeping was good, but the beds were a bit old and a little less comfortable than I'd like. Not bad, just less comfortable. The next day it was easy for us to get to other parts of the city for more fun. Consider La Luna if you're looking for basic, motel accommodations in a great location that let you save money and enjoy the city. If you're coming for business or an important event and expect to spend more time in your room relaxing, pay more for a traditional hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Good location. Nerby the Goldeb Gate and in the route of de Big Bus. But the breakfast is too poor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to cbd

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Only stayed one night every thing seemed go, had no trouble
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF

Ok hotel but shower unable to manipulate

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Shower was terrible-I'm 5'7" & still too short! Never felt truest clean.