Ratings based on 1,580 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Anaheim, California

La Luna Inn

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Hotel was clean upon first impression. The GM helped us check into our room...very quickly, friendly front desk. $100 hold on your account and was credited back upon check out. Room was clean...bathroom seemed to recently be updated with new tiling. Towels were plenty and clean, beds were comfortable and no bed bugs. Room was a bit scuffed up (hole in lamp shade on table in between beds, wear and tear on bathroom door, and some black markings on the wall near the door as if someone scraped something on there (luggage maybe?). Anyway overall stay was decent, only real complaint was just the noise of Lombard street. The hotel sits at the bottom of the entry and exit of the highway that runs cross the Golden Gate Bridge so you get traffic coming into the city at all times of the day and night. Was tolerable after first night
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norddeutschland

Gut gelegen in San Francisco

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Prima Hotel in SF, alles schnell erreichbar, Parkplätze gratis, sauber, zweckmäßig,günstig und barrierefrei. Frühstück brauchbar, Schallschutz US-Standart.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2016
Cons: Breakfast
They say you get breakfast with room. Not so true. Toast and dry package of oatmeal isn't a breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m

To noisy

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Since is that street where all the cars pass by it's to noisy
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Good Location & Free Parking!

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Yes, good location and free parking but not much else... pretty simple room and basic amenities. Would recommend if you aren't planning on spending much time in your room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful position

Posted Apr 5, 2016
It was a good experience overall, needs some improvement on the heater/ac
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Corona, CA

Great Vacation!

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Pros: Quiet, comfortable, and close to Wharf area.
Cons: Breakfast choices
Location: Easy access to buses. Visited Ghiardelli Square, Fisherman's Wharf, and Pier 39.
Very comfortable beds/pillows. Our room was on back side of property, so it was nice and quiet. Continental breakfast was dull. Would have liked more fruit choices and pastries. Everyone at front desk was very helpful with planning excursions around the city.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location + Rate - Noise = Choose Wisely

Posted Mar 24, 2016
Pros: Location! Staff too.
Cons: Insulation from noise, street and other rooms. Maintain and upgrade the furnishings, bedding, etc.
Location: Not more than a 20, 30 minute bus ride to any part of the city. Close to Palace of Fine Art, Fshermans Wharf, Presidio and Golden Gate Bridge.
First let me start with the cons. NOISE! It's an old building with inadequate insulation and you're on a busy street. If you are sensitive to noise or a light sleeper I suggest you look elsewhere. You will hear noise from the street and other rooms. This place looks like it was remodeled and updated somewhat recently but is already showing signs of age, wear and use. Some rooms more than others. But they have a really good staff that is friendly and accommodating. I was not happy with my first room and they switched me the next night. Also it is in a great location. Walking distance to Palace of Fine Arts, Crissy Field, Presidio, etc. Easy access to some of the main bus routes that will get you to whatever part of the city you want to go to. Good neighborhood, safe and and you don't have to worry about stepping on someone's doodoo or getting a impromptu lesson on how to smoke crack.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what it once was

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Sad what happened to this hotel. Stayed years ago and decided to stay here again. Bad move. I ended up Leaving after checking in. Windows wouldn't lock, walls have chips and chunks dug into them, bed "mattress" doesn't even have a box spring and overall, very dark and dank. Space under door letting lots of cold air in. Very disappointing. We left after 5 minutes and checked in at the Hampton Inn South SF. Way better Deal.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from langley bc canada

Close to downtown , walk to cable cars ride

Posted Mar 18, 2016
Small room, noisy, washroom is working so well, sink is too slow