Ratings based on 523 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small cozy room

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel parking is very tight but that is to be expected when you are in San Francisco. The room is small and next to a Fire Station so expect to hear the fire truck go by several times at night. Aside from that, the hotel is located is a relatively flat area so it is easy to drive to. They provide free pastry, tea, and coffee in the morning. Parking is $30 a night. The bed is kind of old and too soft so our backs were hurting the next day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017
DearTraveler, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay went. It is only through guest feedback that we can truly improve our product and service. The fire station you referred to is 4 blocks away and we are sorry it was a distraction. Regarding the rooms size we have 20% larger rooms than the average in San Francisco at 350sq. feet. Thank you for your comments and business. We do hope to see you again soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Monterey

Nice hotel until you look closer

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Double beds were extremely small, even my wifes feet hung over the end, shes only 5'-3". No coffee maker in our room. We were told that only "certain rooms" have coffee makers. Ridiculous. They should put that in their online listing, lots of other hotels in the area that offer basic items like this.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by JD, Hotel Management
Dear Dan, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay went. It is only through guest feedback that we can truly improve our product and service. I am sorry you did not take advantage of the 24 hour lobby coffee service. We do offer espresso machines and espresso in our kitchenette rooms. We do not list in room coffee as a amenity in our guest rooms. Thank you for your comments and we do hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2017
close to ucsf parnassas its great to catch the uc shuttle across the street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by JD, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay. We are glad you found the location suitable for your needs and that you enjoyed the recently renovated rooms and lobby.Thank you again for our business and we do hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great place

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Boutique hotel with very nicely remodeled rooms. Very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by JD, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Laurel Inn. We are glad to see that you enjoyed the full renovation of the lobby and guest rooms. Thank you again!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We do hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sonoma County

Hotel is aging but clean. Staff was helpful.

Posted Apr 9, 2017
This location is one of my favorites in SF and I've been coming here for decades! Really... I've stayed at the Laurel through previous owners. The current 'Joie de Vivre' name/play/group is ok and they seem to save 'older' and smaller hotels from disappearing. There's good walking in this neighborhood and the restaurant on the nearest corner (Osteria) is also VERY good. Make a reservation early or you won't get in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by JD, Hotel Management
Hello D, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Laurel Inn. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your loyalty and we do hope to see you again soon!
1 out of 5
by Arthur

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was under construction and the lobby was closed - entry was thru a garage. We were really disappointed
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017
Dear Arthur, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay went. It is only through guest feedback that we can truly improve our product and service. I am sorry that you did not know about the renovation. We hope to be completed by the end of March. To complete the lobby we had no option other than to close it. Thank you for your comments and business. We do hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

hotel in Pacific heights. Being totally remodeled

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Great stay. Remodel going on so we woke up early but we liked our room. We always stay there
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by JD, Hotel Management
Dear Jill. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay went. It is only through guest feedback that we can truly improve our product and service. We are glad you like the renovated rooms and we are sorry for the early wake up! Thank you for your comments and business. We do hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southwest Florida

Hidden gem after renovation is complete

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: The elevator
Was not notified that the hotel was in the middle of a major renovation. The renovated rooms are very nice. The construction noise prevented sleep after a partially overnight flight. The single elevator is quite dated a slow and I hope that is part of the renovation. Overall the location is great, the staff is very good and after the renovation this will be a great hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by JD, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay went. It is only through guest feedback that we can truly improve our product and service. We are sorry about the renovation and unfortunately while the elevator is getting a face lift on the interior the mechanics are not being changed. Thank you for your comments and business. We do hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near great shopping

Posted Feb 27, 2017
I'd like to stay again after the remodeling is finished.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by JD, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay went. It is only through guest feedback that we can truly improve our product and service. Thank you for your comments and business. We do hope to see you again soon!