Ratings based on 3,182 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Interruptions all day for the hefty price

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: The location was in the Financisl District. The room was clean.
Cons: We were interrupted 3 times on our checkout morning by the staff. After the 3rd interruption they even left the door open. They knew it was our annive
Location: Good location, went to a fun comedy club across the street
Started off great, nice room, we were excited about anniversary. 7 am next morning room service knocks, a"surprise anniversary breakfast." I mean common sense, call or at least come at 8 am. We are tired parents and wanted to relax in room. People came to room twice to check on things, asked when we were checking out. We weren't running late they just were "checking on things." For the price, this is unacceptable let us relax! On a side note I inquired about the price for parking $62/day the receptionist replied "st your discounted price there is NO discount on parking." Unwelcoming vibe, we've stayed at posh hotels all over and this felt very stuffy and interruptive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2016 by Randy LSF, Hotel Management
Thank you for writing and staying with us during your anniversary. Congratulations! We are sorry that we interrupted your relaxing time and will review our procedures for checking on rooms. We do suggest a “Do Not Disturb” sign but this is no reason for us to wake you at 7am with the good intentions of a gift. I agree that we should have called prior. We are really pleased that you had fun at the Comedy Club and that you enjoyed the location. Thank you again for writing and happy anniversary.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Nice place, but lacks personality

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Lovely rooms.
Le Meridien is a lovely hotel, but lacks any real personality or uniqueness. On arrival there was an incredibly loud protest at the front entrance (those wanting the hotel staff to unionize). They were very aggressive and loud, which started the visit on a tough note. Our room was lovely. No complaints there. The challenge is with the location - on one hand super close to Ferry Building/Embarcadero, and Union Square, but somewhat in a no-mans-land of the Financial District, so few restaurants, stores closed on weekend, dark blocks. Which leaves no one on the streets but homeless people which is a little unsettling for tourists.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Abbotsford, B.C. Canada

Nice Hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Extremely friendly and helpful concierge staff.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Short walk to the Embarcadero Centre and Saturday morning market. Comfortable walking distance to North Beach for restaurants.
A nice hotel, close to the Embarcadero, transit and comfortable walking distance to many restaurants, etc. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room quiet, comfortable and clean.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and rooms

Posted Sep 19, 2016
The rooms were nice and spacious, clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Comfortable bed. Spacious room. Large TV.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Spacious room with comfortable bed. A very large TV.
Cons: Water splashing onto bathroom floor, probably because this was a handicap friendly room, thus there was no kerb to contain the water during showering.
Location: Walking distance to most attraction with downtown San Francisco.
Spacious room with comfortable bed. A very large TV.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gurgaon

A great hotel in the financial district.

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Rooms, cleanliness, nearby to our place of work.
Cons: Breakfast service and manners of people who serve food.
Location: Near market street and embarcadero so lots of places around. Starbucks on the opposite side of the road so easy to get breakfast.
The hotel staff was great. They were full but on my insistence that I get claustrophobic in small rooms, i got a suite. Great check in and lovely room. Just disappointed at the lady in the breakfast place as she kept talking about the price of everything we were ordering and it was rude as we had come with office mates. Just rude service.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location. Walk BART, Chinatown.

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Nice hotel. Especially if you like neatby Chinatown. Friendly staff. Three block walk BART to/fr airport. Busy area. Plenty coffee. Quiet weekends.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Wonderful stay!

Posted Sep 12, 2016
We had a pleasant experience. The staff was able to make special accommodations for us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Bed and towels

Posted Sep 12, 2016
For an expensive hotel would expect very comfortable bed and nice fluffy towels, in our room both require change
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Great Financial District Hotel!

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Large, comfortable room. Good amenities and comfy bathrobe. Impeccable housekeeping. friendly staff. Good gym. Fun bar.
Cons: Do not charge me for in-room Internet access! COME ON!
We're former San Franciscans who wanted to stay in the Financial District/downtown area. We'll definitely be back to Le Meridien! The room was spacious and spotless, the bar always had a good crowd, ands the front desk and doormen went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The location is great for walking, shopping, dining, and people watching. Highly recommended.